Customer Reviews for

The Wimpy Kid Do-It-Yourself Book

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Awesome book

This is an awesome book! i love it and so does alot of other people i know~Highly recommended if u like diary of a wimpy kid

posted by lauren9 on December 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

activity book for kids who like the Wimpy Kid books

This is not a book just to sit down and read through but an activity book or a journal. However, the very first page says, "Whatever you do, just make sure you don't write down your 'feelings' in here. Because one thing's for sure: This is NOT a diary." There are all...
This is not a book just to sit down and read through but an activity book or a journal. However, the very first page says, "Whatever you do, just make sure you don't write down your 'feelings' in here. Because one thing's for sure: This is NOT a diary." There are all kinds of activities in which the readers can make lists, answer questions about various topics, make their own comics, draw pictures, and such like. Plus, the end contains 46 blank, lined pages with the instructions, "Use the rest of this book to keep a daily journal, write a novel, draw comic strips, or tell your life story."

When The Diary of a Wimpy Kid, which tells the story of Greg Heffley, his family, and his friends, first came out, I heard about it but did not read it because it didn't sound as if it would appeal to me. Later, I was sent a copy of one of the sequels (#5, The Ugly Truth) to review, and my reading of it confirmed my earlier opinion that this kind of book is just not my cup of tea. However, the books are immensely popular with many children, so youngsters who do like "The Diary of a Wimpy Kid" series might well enjoy the activities in this book. The Wimpy Kid Do-It-Yourself Book was first published in 2008, but the updated edition is expanded with more than sixty new pages, and has 32 pages of full-color comics, including sixteen brand-new. It is designed to inspire creative expression and encourage reluctant readers.

posted by HomeSchoolBookReview on June 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    Awesome book

    This is an awesome book! i love it and so does alot of other people i know~Highly recommended if u like diary of a wimpy kid

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Bought a couple of books for my kids this past week for weekend reads, and this book was one of them. would recommend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    activity book for kids who like the Wimpy Kid books

    This is not a book just to sit down and read through but an activity book or a journal. However, the very first page says, "Whatever you do, just make sure you don't write down your 'feelings' in here. Because one thing's for sure: This is NOT a diary." There are all kinds of activities in which the readers can make lists, answer questions about various topics, make their own comics, draw pictures, and such like. Plus, the end contains 46 blank, lined pages with the instructions, "Use the rest of this book to keep a daily journal, write a novel, draw comic strips, or tell your life story."

    When The Diary of a Wimpy Kid, which tells the story of Greg Heffley, his family, and his friends, first came out, I heard about it but did not read it because it didn't sound as if it would appeal to me. Later, I was sent a copy of one of the sequels (#5, The Ugly Truth) to review, and my reading of it confirmed my earlier opinion that this kind of book is just not my cup of tea. However, the books are immensely popular with many children, so youngsters who do like "The Diary of a Wimpy Kid" series might well enjoy the activities in this book. The Wimpy Kid Do-It-Yourself Book was first published in 2008, but the updated edition is expanded with more than sixty new pages, and has 32 pages of full-color comics, including sixteen brand-new. It is designed to inspire creative expression and encourage reluctant readers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    This book is awesome

    very cool with comics in the back

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    looks cool

    looks awesomer than a pickle.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    My eight year old Daryn Wolcott, dreaded to read every night for 30 minutes. I bought him the series Diary Of A Wimpy Kid, and he read two books in one week. Now He asks if he can read all day long. He reads out loud and is proud of it. When Daryn reads now he will read for hours, and its wonderful as a parent to see him enjoy himself doing it. Jeff Kinney helped my son get through the tough dreaded times of nightly reading, (mind you, Daryn already had a library in his room) The Do- It-Yourself Book, Is funny and lets him interact by writting in it, and amazingly when I looked inside of it, Daryn had his best hand writing! I am so proud of Daryn, And Thank you Jeff Kenney for helpping my son Daryn love to read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2014

    Excellent book for reading/mentoring students

    Working with 16 boys a week, 7-11, grades 2-5, requires a constant search for suitable reading/writing materials that challenge them and provide them a safe way to express themselves. This book has been a gold mind for me to use with some of my most reluctant readers and writers. They tend to be a challenge to their teachers, too! This book allows them to share themselves in writing and with imagination. All of them seem to enjoy it and give them an opportunity to expand themselves. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    I thought this was VERY, VERY, VERY nice. the "Design-Your

    I thought this was VERY, VERY, VERY nice. the "Design-Your-Own-Tour-Bus" part I thought was RRRRRRRREEEEEEAAAAALLLLLLLLYYYYY cool:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Great Value for well made book!!!

    Bought this for a Christmas gift and was really shocked with durability of book! Kid I gave this to is in elementary of course and has a bad habit as must boys to just throw stuff in his backpack and go. So far after pulling it out pages are thick and not to easy to rip out. Hardcover front has some scratches however the binding is great and did not break in front or back if that makes any sense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Highly recommended by one ll year old; eagerly requested by another 11 year old. Wish I could have read it before sending it to my friend.

    Did not have time to read before sending it to my friend. Rating is based on their assessment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    grandson is so happy...

    He loves the "Wimpy Kid" books and his been wanting this "do-it-yourself" one. He was beyond thrilled when we gave it to him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Bought this book for my 9 year old grandson "it was actually pretty funny" in his own words

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    my son loves this book

    Highly recommend this book, it is a workbook type journal that your child will need to write in. My nine year old son loves it and it allows him to be an author and also write all about him. It was interesting as a parent to see what he wrote in it as well, one part has a brain and you draw "what is in your brain" what your thoughts are or your interests. very nicely done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    great kid's book

    My granddaughter is 9 and loves this series of books. I continue to buy them and she continues to read them and look forward to the next one. This is a good way to incourage reading for the kids. I reccommend this series highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    I want it so bad

    cool book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2