Customer Reviews for

A Wind in the Door (Time Quintet Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 210 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(121)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Another excellent book by Madeline L'engle

Madeline L'engle keeps you spellbound with this fantastic sequel to A Wrinkle in Time. Many new characters are introduced, and discoveries are made about the already familiar ones. This is one of the best books that I have ever read, and I have immensely enjoyed reading...
Madeline L'engle keeps you spellbound with this fantastic sequel to A Wrinkle in Time. Many new characters are introduced, and discoveries are made about the already familiar ones. This is one of the best books that I have ever read, and I have immensely enjoyed reading this book time and time again.

posted by Anonymous on June 14, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Book Review

There were several positives things and several negatives things I had come

across in my reading. Some of the positives are that the book was not at all predictable.

For example I had no idea that the farandoal would try to kill what made them. Also the

book...
There were several positives things and several negatives things I had come

across in my reading. Some of the positives are that the book was not at all predictable.

For example I had no idea that the farandoal would try to kill what made them. Also the

book was very interesting. I know this because I was reading about 60 pages a night and I

usual only read about 20. Plus the book was very deep, this is because I had to reread

some things to under stand them. A few of the negatives were that the book was very

complicate ,like when they were explaining the scene where Mr.Jenkins turns into an

echtroi I did not know what was going on. It is also all over the place, first they were in

one place then in a line they were in another. Plus it was a bit unclear, fore when I was

reading I did not know what I was reading.

The writing style of the author was a very interesting one. She used long and

complex sentences. Like ''Why two strange men should wish to impersonate me, I have

no idea.'' From page 103.The reading. The author uses figurative language too. In the

story I could picture everywhere Blajeny took the group. Plus she uses very hard

vocabulary. For example mitochondria.

I would definitely recommend this novel to anybody who likes a good book. It is

very thought provoking, Also the it was very exciting. So much so that I found myself

bitting my nails and breathing heavily while reading. Some similar books were the other

books in the series, A Wrinkle in Time, A Swiftly Tilting Planet, and An Expectable

Time. Some other books I would recommend are, The Tale of Despereaux, Hatchet, and

Weedflower.

posted by 2786337 on January 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2000

    Another excellent book by Madeline L'engle

    Madeline L'engle keeps you spellbound with this fantastic sequel to A Wrinkle in Time. Many new characters are introduced, and discoveries are made about the already familiar ones. This is one of the best books that I have ever read, and I have immensely enjoyed reading this book time and time again.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    Feeling like a kid again

    I first read A Wrinkle in Time when I was in 5th grade and loved it. At the time I don’t think I knew it was the first in a series. Now in my mid-thirties I am finally reading the rest.
    L’Engle weaves another fantastic tale with imagination and science. The balance of the universe is at state, stars are disappearing, and something is wrong with Charles Wallace’s farandolae.
    I feel like a kid again, getting sucked into L’Engle’s fabricated worlds and found it hard to put down.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 1999

    It's Thomas again !(I'm 12 years old)

    If you want my opinion(I guess it doesn't matter does it?)I actually liked THIS book A LOT better than A Wrinkle in time!I'm SURE that L'Engle was at her absolute,and foremost most creative point in her writing carrer,it's a book about fantasy worlds beneath the skin,where pharandalae and mitochondria,along with the help of meg,calvin,and surprisingly Mr.Jenkins(meg's princapal)work together to save Charles Wallace ,but will it work?find out for yourself when you read this epic story!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Great reading for young teenagers.

    Appropriate for young girls to read.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    A Wrinkle in Time

    This is an exciting book that is action packed and has twists and turns. When I started it I couldn't put it down because its so fantastic!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Wow

    This is truly a rich book filled with a spell binding tale and an excellent end it defenetly is something I would recomend to all and is appropriet for all ages it will keep you entertained and even though I'm 11 I'm sudgesting to eneyone to read this or any other book in the wrinkle of time series I truly love the science fiction that wraps around this wonderful book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    Average Book

    A Wind in the door is a rather average book overall, but the story line is far from average, very few books combine sickness, incredible creatures, and an adventure unlike any other.To say the least, Charles Wallace is a quite unordinary six year old. If his discovery of dragons isn't peculiar enough, the illness that follows will nearly kill him. Join Meg, Charles's older sister, Calvin, Meg's friend, Proginoskes, the cherubim, and Blajeny, their teacher as they risk their lives to save Charles, the stars, and the universe from an attack of the Echthroi. Meg will learn a great lesson about the importance of love and sacrifice.The book, based on the lexile measure should have been excessively easy to read, but the vocabulary and imagination required to understand the book is almost overwhelming. Ignore your frustration and you will enjoy the book. This is a pretty good book, it isn't my favorite, but I have to give Madeleine L'Engle credit, she does know how to make you think.Science fiction goo rues will love this adventures book of love, friendship and a sister's ability to tend to her brother's needs.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Anonymous

    These days my mother has been telling me to read more so my vocabulary would expand. Hence, I started to read many classics, but when I came to A Wrinkle in Time series I could not help but just do nothing but read. Some sectiins can be slightly confusing and I did have to look up many words but overall the story was fantastic! It is so amazing how a sister like Meg shows so much love and compassion for her brother Charles Wallace.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    A Wind in the Door is an amazing book. It¿s

    A Wind in the Door is an amazing book. It’s got these twists and suspension that leaves you wanting to never stop reading it. It takes you on a journey through time but always stays in one constant location. The author gives you hints and clues to make you want to assume an ending. A detail in the book I loved is how you watched the name of Madoc grow gradually to Maddox and link to Mad dog.
    Something I liked about the way this book was set up was who the author chose to be her narrator and made the story so it was Meg (the narrator) seeing everything that would happen as if she went on the journey herself. I believe the author did a very good job on keeping the whole book out of first person when the action was with Charles Wallace. I know if I were to be the author I would have made Charles Wallace be the narrator because that’s who most of the book’s action was with. It was a wise decision to make Meg the narrator and the “star” because then it could tie the action between the present and past together.
    In the book it does talk about the act of kything, which is basically communicating through the mind. In this specific book it doesn’t go too far into definition but if you ever get the chance to read the set you’ll find out it does go deeper in definition in an earlier book.
    This is an awesome book and I do highly recommend it to everyone but maybe more along the lines of sixth grade and up.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2008

    A Outstanding Book

    ¿There are dragons in the twin¿s vegetable garden.¿ A Wind in the Door, written by Madeline L¿Engle, is the second book in the Time series quintet. Meg Murry¿s youngest brother Charles Wallaces believes he has found a drive of dragons in his older brothers¿ vegetable garden, but the truth is bigger than he could imagine. There is a threat closing in on Charles Wallaces. New enemies whose goal is to completely erase everything from existence. Charles Walles near death, now Meg Murry, her best friend Calvin, her old school teacher, and her now found cherubim friend must save him and his fondolia. This book is great for all ages and is perfect for sci-fi lovers. Madeline L¿Engle focused this book for children but is good for any one of any age. This book contains many unrealistic things and can often get confusing because they say there is no word for what they are talking about in the human language, though this doesn¿t take away from the overall understanding of the book. The author puts a lot off voice and emotions into the characters. Because of this it is easy to tell where they stand in the matter at hand, and how they are feeling. Many of the characters in this book aren¿t human making this book all the more interesting. This book will change your out look on unrealistic concepts such as life on other worlds, changing your self into other things, and time travel. This book has a strong moral to it. Anyone will find this book to be a good read and to be very unique. If you are looking for a good book, A Wind in the Door is a great. All the books in this series are A Wrinkle in Time, A Wind in the Door, A Swiftly Tilting Planet, Many Waters, and A Acceptable Time.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Very good book

    This was a good book. I think it could have had a bit more detail and it ciuld have been longer. Overall, I think it was an awesome book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    Book Review

    There were several positives things and several negatives things I had come

    across in my reading. Some of the positives are that the book was not at all predictable.

    For example I had no idea that the farandoal would try to kill what made them. Also the

    book was very interesting. I know this because I was reading about 60 pages a night and I

    usual only read about 20. Plus the book was very deep, this is because I had to reread

    some things to under stand them. A few of the negatives were that the book was very

    complicate ,like when they were explaining the scene where Mr.Jenkins turns into an

    echtroi I did not know what was going on. It is also all over the place, first they were in

    one place then in a line they were in another. Plus it was a bit unclear, fore when I was

    reading I did not know what I was reading.

    The writing style of the author was a very interesting one. She used long and

    complex sentences. Like ''Why two strange men should wish to impersonate me, I have

    no idea.'' From page 103.The reading. The author uses figurative language too. In the

    story I could picture everywhere Blajeny took the group. Plus she uses very hard

    vocabulary. For example mitochondria.

    I would definitely recommend this novel to anybody who likes a good book. It is

    very thought provoking, Also the it was very exciting. So much so that I found myself

    bitting my nails and breathing heavily while reading. Some similar books were the other

    books in the series, A Wrinkle in Time, A Swiftly Tilting Planet, and An Expectable

    Time. Some other books I would recommend are, The Tale of Despereaux, Hatchet, and

    Weedflower.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    Made no sense at all. It is a required reading at my school and

    Made no sense at all. It is a required reading at my school and I have no idea what their talking about and NOTHING REALLY HAPPENS! Intil the last chapter the go into Charles Wallace body MAGIC SCHOOL BUS DID IT BETTER!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    BESt SERIES EVER

    I can' t even explain how good this book is. I would definetly recommend it. But remember, this is my opinion so you will have to read it for yourself to see if you like it. BUT I TOTALLY LOOOVED IIIIT!!! Though the kything is a little confusing and the Ecthroi are a liitle scary so i would recommend it for grades six and up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Excellent, one of my favorites

    I have read Madeleine L'Engle's Wrinkle in Time Series many times over-- my favorite is 'A Wind in the Door.' The characters are easy to fall in love with for different reasons, the plots are a believable balance of science, fantasy, imagination and reality, and L'Engle does a superb job of commenting on some of the largest themes in our world today-- power, love, evil, family, and learning-- in a compelling, enjoyable read. Great for youth and adults... I highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Pretty Good

    It was like I was reading the regular book. Great.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    A wrincle in time

    I read a wrincle in time i loved it!!!!!!! So i cant waitnto read this one!!!!!!!! But when i watched the movie a wrincle in time it ruinedbthe story! If u havnt read the book and you just watched the movie you eould be so lost ad never wnt to read the book. I cant wat to readb this and explore Megs next edventure!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    Mmmmmmmm.......

    Not the best but wrinkle in time was better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    love it

    I loved it so muxh

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    how AWESOME it is

    im in love with this book

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11