Customer Reviews for

Windcatcher

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2000

    A Waterfun-Filled Story

    A great, fun filled story!! Avi makes you feel right on the spot. I recomend this book for all people who like water.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    I loved this book so much. It has a lot of suspense and mystery. Great for ages 9-12. Read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    book review

    Windcatrcher is a very well written book that is very entertaining and the book has an adventurous story line. This book starts to take a setting in Connecticut in the 1990¿s with a boy called Tony Souza. He is convinced himself and his parents that he should buy a sail boat for three hundred dollars that is called the ¿Sharky.¿ When he bought his boat, his parents said he would have to follow some rules and if he wanted to sail he would have to go stay with his grandmother. She lived in Swallows Bay, which is in between New Heaven and New London. When he begged his grandma to let him go sailing, she told him he would have to have an instructor to teach him how to sail. He didn¿t care, he was just excited to get his boat out to sail. He met his instructor and her name was Chris. She was about his age and they got along well. She told him the basics of the boat and then let him explore thee experience of sailing. After a while, after Tony made a few first time sailor mistakes such as ¿capsizing,¿ he started to begin to love sailing and was getting better at it little by little. In the mists of learning how to sail, he started learning about the town and its history. He starts to learn that the town is known for an old shipwreck that occurred two hundred years ago and was never found. He starts to research the information and learns a lot about the wreck. The boat is known as a British ship, which Tony believes, is called the ¿swallows.¿ The reason for the wreck was the ship was said to be sailing during a hurricane and hit rock and sank, which left no survivors. After discovering all this information, Tony is off on an adventurous treasure hunt and runs into a couple that is very suspicious and not very friendly. He finds himself troubled by the couple and he gets suspicious that maybe they¿re looking for treasure also. Throughout the story, he shows his love for sailing like his grandma says, ¿Espero que vece aleance ventro dos seus desejos.¿ Which means he has a love or passion for sailing. In the story he finds himself getting into trouble but exciting adventures and thrills. I recommend this book to all adventurous readers. The story is full of excitement and unexpected twist and turns. This book makes you feel like you are Tony Souza. This book makes you want to go out and sail or go on an adventure and go looking for old wrecked ships and old treasure. This book comes alive when you read it. This is a must read and I wish I could read another book that is just as good or as similar to this book. All I have to say is go to your local library and read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    The Wind Catcher was an outstanding book. I love how Avi always keeps you in suspence. I really enjoy her mystery books. I highly recomend this great book to kids anywhere from 9-12.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2006

    Great!

    I thought it was a great book, infact Ive never read a book with such an interesting and creative plot to it. It was trully an exellent and intertaining book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2004

    Great Book For You!!!

    I recommend this to others who just love reading.I think it is a great book.I think so and you might too!! Have fun reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2002

    This is an extraordinary book

    This book was great even though i hardly ever read books it was one of the very few that i have accually gotten past the first few chapters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2000

    Water-fun filled book!!

    If you like riding around in boats, you'll like Windcatcher by Avi. Much water fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2000

    Great Book For Water-Lovers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Avi is such a great writer-he makes reading so much fun. You feel like you are right there on the spot. I recomend all this book for water-lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1