Customer Reviews for

Windhaven

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Haunting

I read Windhaven 20 years ago. At the time I thought the book started out a little slow and at first I had to push myself to continue reading it. But 20 years has shown the quality of the book. There are 100's of books I've read that I can not remember anything about, b...
I read Windhaven 20 years ago. At the time I thought the book started out a little slow and at first I had to push myself to continue reading it. But 20 years has shown the quality of the book. There are 100's of books I've read that I can not remember anything about, but I still remember Windhaven. The young heroine and her struggle for what would only seem right and fair to someone who has grown up in a democratic society has remained with me all these years. Read it, you will not be disappointed.

posted by Anonymous on July 3, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Do Not Be Fooled

I admit that I fell for it. I am going nuts waiting for A Dance With Dragons, from Martin. I have not heard of Lisa Tuttle. This book was a total let down. The story line spans decades by simply ending a chapter, and telling you that you are beginnig Part two, or three...
I admit that I fell for it. I am going nuts waiting for A Dance With Dragons, from Martin. I have not heard of Lisa Tuttle. This book was a total let down. The story line spans decades by simply ending a chapter, and telling you that you are beginnig Part two, or three. The main character spends her time feeling sorry for herself, and standing on a soapbox. There was no payoff at the end. The book should have been called The Days in the Life of People Who Fly Around Some Islands. I normally get tired of songs in books. They are rarely more than tiresome. In this story, however, singers are supposedly MAJOR figures in the whole society. Is ONE song written? Is there ONE example of the singers performing, where the supposedly essential folklore, news. protests, etc. are laid out? NO! I feel cheated. Apparently, Bantam books had an old loser. One of the authors is a big hit now, so they dragged Windhaven out of the basement. Put it Back! Put it Back!!

posted by Anonymous on June 4, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2001

    Do Not Be Fooled

    I admit that I fell for it. I am going nuts waiting for A Dance With Dragons, from Martin. I have not heard of Lisa Tuttle. This book was a total let down. The story line spans decades by simply ending a chapter, and telling you that you are beginnig Part two, or three. The main character spends her time feeling sorry for herself, and standing on a soapbox. There was no payoff at the end. The book should have been called The Days in the Life of People Who Fly Around Some Islands. I normally get tired of songs in books. They are rarely more than tiresome. In this story, however, singers are supposedly MAJOR figures in the whole society. Is ONE song written? Is there ONE example of the singers performing, where the supposedly essential folklore, news. protests, etc. are laid out? NO! I feel cheated. Apparently, Bantam books had an old loser. One of the authors is a big hit now, so they dragged Windhaven out of the basement. Put it Back! Put it Back!!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2001

    Haunting

    I read Windhaven 20 years ago. At the time I thought the book started out a little slow and at first I had to push myself to continue reading it. But 20 years has shown the quality of the book. There are 100's of books I've read that I can not remember anything about, but I still remember Windhaven. The young heroine and her struggle for what would only seem right and fair to someone who has grown up in a democratic society has remained with me all these years. Read it, you will not be disappointed.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable SF

    The planet WINDHAVEN has no large land continents. Instead it consists of a series of islands with some grouped in clusters. When the colonists landed there, they built homes on the more habitable isles and soon a low-level technology formed that adapted to the geography. Flyers also appeared as the settlers compensated for the planet¿s environment by allowing some individuals to have silver tip wings to fly from island to island with messages. <P>Over time the landsmen came to revere the flyer as the wings pass from parent to oldest child in a primogeniture manner. This system apparently works well and is accepted by all until a flyer adopts a girl, Maris. When he could no longer use his silver tip wings, he gives them to his beloved Maris. However, when her stepfather sires a son with her adopted mother, Maris is supposed to return the wings, but she refuses. Instead she demands a flyer council convene so that she can make her case to keep her wings and in doing so changes the social structure of her world. <P> WINDHAVEN was first published two decades ago, but like any well-written novel, it passes the test of time and remains fresh as if it is a brand new book. The Anne McCaffrey crowd will find the tale reminiscent of the Pern books. The planet seems real and the technology evolves as form adapts to the reality of the world. Science fiction and fantasy readers will want to soar with the flyers through this enjoyable tale. <P>Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    Not up to Martin's standards

    Doesn't everyone want to fly? I thought this would be fun fluff reading but it didn't deliver. There was no imagination here, and appeared a bit disconnected. I'd suggest you pass on this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Good read.

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    Imagine

    Lovely imagery, i would love to be flying with them all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Read it!!!!!

    This book is such a good read!!!! I finished it in a day and had to read it over again. Seriously get this book!! I love this book and it is now my favorite book of all time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Tbdbnjx

    Ifjy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    Highly recommend this book.

    This was a wonderful story, very well told. A great read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    Thoroughly enjoyed. Finished in one day.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2