Customer Reviews for

Windmills of the Gods

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Political yet Fun

    I have always been a fan of his books since i first read "if tomorrow comes" and he never ceaze to amaze me. At 13 it may b difficult to underdtand the political sense in this book,but the overall story is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    A little slow out the gate...

    This one took a bit to get going and once it did, it was written in true Sheldon style. Although not my fave of his, I would still recommend it. Far better than the new stuff that's out there these days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It was what the doctor order: superficial, mindless but additively fun.

    The newly elected president decides he wants to develop a better relationship with countries of the old cold war, Romania especially. Instead of a trained person for the ambassador job, he picks a teacher from a Kansas school, who specializes in that area in her studies. He read an article she had written and since what she had written was also his views, he asks her to take the job. At first she declines because of her family and her husband's commitments to his patients (he is a doctor), but after he dies in a mysterious car accident, she decides to take the job.
    There are many who don't like the idea of Romania and the U.S. getting buddy buddy and a secret group from around the world, including those in the U.S., work to sabotage the presidents efforts. They hire an assassin, who has never been defeated to take out several key people.

    Mary Ashley, the ambassador, is turning out to be quite successful at her job, and is the target of an assassination. She doesn't know who to trust.

    This was the first Sydney Sheldon book I ever read. I had my appendix removed at age 33 and my colleagues from work gave me a book to pass time. It was what the doctor order: superficial, mindless but additively fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2003

    Outstanding in the fullest sense of the word

    I read this book when I was about 13. I didn't understand most of it, especially the politics, how everything fit together. Nonetheless, it was exciting, and I enjoyed reading it. Now I am 16 and a few weeks ago, I found my tattered copy and reread it. And now I understand that the book I read three years ago and three weeks ago were two completely different works in terms of how I perceived it. Simply put, it was a thousand times better the second time around. I fully understood even the most insignificant details and storylines, was touched by most of them and came to admire the intricacy. Sheldon leaves no loose ends hanging, and with simple, yet understandable, characters the story truly comes alive. Not having any particular respect for the thriller genre, I can honestly call this book a notable and admirable exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2002

    So far so good...

    I'm reading this book for English 12. I think it's pretty good and I'm only 1/2 way through. At first, it was boring and now I want to know if Ashley is going to be killed. Hopefully I'll like it and will understand it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2000

    Pretty good

    It was an okay book compared to his other books. It was a little more predictable and not as exciting. But i guess it was better than a lot of other books out there. Sheldon is the best author ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2000

    Most awesome book!!!!!

    I read this book roughly when I was about 15 or 16, I am now 25 and I have been looking for this book to add to my library. I must say this story is both exciting and suspenseful. I reccomend this book for people who like to be entertained by books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2