Customer Reviews for

Wings (Laurel Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 893 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(511)

4 Star

(235)

3 Star

(85)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

A Debut to Behold...and Read!

Aprilynne Pike has made an outstanding debut with her Novel, 'Wings'. It's a story about fairies, but not in the typical sense that, if a person hated fairies and fairy folk,they would definetly love this story. A complete reinvention of what the world has known about ...
Aprilynne Pike has made an outstanding debut with her Novel, 'Wings'. It's a story about fairies, but not in the typical sense that, if a person hated fairies and fairy folk,they would definetly love this story. A complete reinvention of what the world has known about fairies and the like and made it an exciting, modern, and magical tale. Making her own world of fairies seem so entirely real and believable that you can't help but wonder that maybe your theories about your best friend- you know the insanley goregous, talented, graceful,and sweet friend of yours-being a fairy might actually be true.
I found myself liking Laurel as a best friend, falling for sweet and caring David, and wanting more of charasmatic and mysterious Tamani.I could not get enough of the mythology of fairies and fairy-folk she created in her world and I am left with wanting more!
Her writing style is wonderfully vivid and real that it transports your right from your couch, into the pages and onto the cool, beautiful breezy California coast. Her voice is charming, soft,and it pulls you in deeper into the crisp pages of the story, making it difficult NOT to keep turning the pages until your eyes are bleary and unfocused with sleep. With a bit of humor, wit, and sass thrown - oh!so cleverly- in at the right moments it's a story not to miss!
I truly loved reading this book. Getting into the mythology of what Aprilynne created for her fairies and seeing such defined, likeable, and well rounded characters, and a unique story kept me turning the pages well into the early morining hours. I cannot wait to read the next installments of this lovely story and see what the future hold for her. She defenitley has a long career ahead of her. Yay for us Idaho girls!!

posted by WinterReign on July 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

good concept, slow start, future potential.

Aprillynne Pike is a fun new voice in the realm of modern day faery tales. Maybe that's the ultimate thing to remember - the "fun" part. If you're looking for a quick read fluent in escapism, WINGS is a good way to spend a rainy Saturday. I think it will serve particula...
Aprillynne Pike is a fun new voice in the realm of modern day faery tales. Maybe that's the ultimate thing to remember - the "fun" part. If you're looking for a quick read fluent in escapism, WINGS is a good way to spend a rainy Saturday. I think it will serve particularly well as a clean summer read for middle school girls who want to slip away into a faery fantasy. However, I can't imagine this book will hook older readers. In fact, I'm a bit surprised it was already on a bestseller list. Despite an engaging concept, WINGS never took off. The writing style is a bit grating after awhile: slow start, lots of backstory dumped in awkward places, back to back chapters full of nothing but dialogue, and zero chemistry (so far) between the love interests. The book was free of purple prose, which is nice, but it was also free of most any prose at all which made for a tedious read. I also found the main character, Laurel, a bit too self-posessed. She frequently talks about how beautiful she is (blonde and fair, of course), how beautiful the faery Tamani is, how beautiful, beautiful, beautiful the world is. Even if Stephenie Meyer hadn't offered an endorsement for this book, I would have assumed Pike was a Meyer fan. Unlike Meyer's books, I didn't feel any attachment to Pike's world, or her characters, after the story ended. I see some definite potential though and I'm excited to see how Aprilynne Pike grows as a writer. If you're a younger reader, I would definitely suggest you give WINGS a try. Faery Rebels (or Knife in the UK) by RJ Anderson might be a better alternative. (Also, I've seen discussion about how Pike's WINGS compares to ED Baker's WINGS. I've read both and I don't think they don't have a whole lot in common other than title, similar character names, and the fact that both girls have some form of "wings". If you like one book though, you might enjoy the other.)

posted by hopelikefeathers on May 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 894 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 45
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    good concept, slow start, future potential.

    Aprillynne Pike is a fun new voice in the realm of modern day faery tales. Maybe that's the ultimate thing to remember - the "fun" part. If you're looking for a quick read fluent in escapism, WINGS is a good way to spend a rainy Saturday. I think it will serve particularly well as a clean summer read for middle school girls who want to slip away into a faery fantasy. However, I can't imagine this book will hook older readers. In fact, I'm a bit surprised it was already on a bestseller list. Despite an engaging concept, WINGS never took off. The writing style is a bit grating after awhile: slow start, lots of backstory dumped in awkward places, back to back chapters full of nothing but dialogue, and zero chemistry (so far) between the love interests. The book was free of purple prose, which is nice, but it was also free of most any prose at all which made for a tedious read. I also found the main character, Laurel, a bit too self-posessed. She frequently talks about how beautiful she is (blonde and fair, of course), how beautiful the faery Tamani is, how beautiful, beautiful, beautiful the world is. Even if Stephenie Meyer hadn't offered an endorsement for this book, I would have assumed Pike was a Meyer fan. Unlike Meyer's books, I didn't feel any attachment to Pike's world, or her characters, after the story ended. I see some definite potential though and I'm excited to see how Aprilynne Pike grows as a writer. If you're a younger reader, I would definitely suggest you give WINGS a try. Faery Rebels (or Knife in the UK) by RJ Anderson might be a better alternative. (Also, I've seen discussion about how Pike's WINGS compares to ED Baker's WINGS. I've read both and I don't think they don't have a whole lot in common other than title, similar character names, and the fact that both girls have some form of "wings". If you like one book though, you might enjoy the other.)

    28 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Debut to Behold...and Read!

    Aprilynne Pike has made an outstanding debut with her Novel, 'Wings'. It's a story about fairies, but not in the typical sense that, if a person hated fairies and fairy folk,they would definetly love this story. A complete reinvention of what the world has known about fairies and the like and made it an exciting, modern, and magical tale. Making her own world of fairies seem so entirely real and believable that you can't help but wonder that maybe your theories about your best friend- you know the insanley goregous, talented, graceful,and sweet friend of yours-being a fairy might actually be true.
    I found myself liking Laurel as a best friend, falling for sweet and caring David, and wanting more of charasmatic and mysterious Tamani.I could not get enough of the mythology of fairies and fairy-folk she created in her world and I am left with wanting more!
    Her writing style is wonderfully vivid and real that it transports your right from your couch, into the pages and onto the cool, beautiful breezy California coast. Her voice is charming, soft,and it pulls you in deeper into the crisp pages of the story, making it difficult NOT to keep turning the pages until your eyes are bleary and unfocused with sleep. With a bit of humor, wit, and sass thrown - oh!so cleverly- in at the right moments it's a story not to miss!
    I truly loved reading this book. Getting into the mythology of what Aprilynne created for her fairies and seeing such defined, likeable, and well rounded characters, and a unique story kept me turning the pages well into the early morining hours. I cannot wait to read the next installments of this lovely story and see what the future hold for her. She defenitley has a long career ahead of her. Yay for us Idaho girls!!

    24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If you love fairy books, this one's for you!

    This book is great! I started reading it today and can't put it down. The story sucks you in and doesn't let go! It is beautiful! A must read for anyone who loves fairytales. Twilight fans will love it too!

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Marta Morrison for TeensReadToo.com

    What happens when you find out that you are different. Not just a little different but really DIFFERENT?!

    Laurel finds herself in public school for the first time when she is a sophomore. She has been homeschooled in a small cabin in the forest. Her parents moved to Crescent City, in Northern California, about an hour away from her cabin to open a bookstore.

    At her high school Laurel meets David, and he invites her to join his group of friends. He also becomes her best friend.

    As she is getting settled into her new life, she gets a bump on her back - which grows bigger and bigger until she sprouts a pretty blue blossom. This blossom makes her look like she has wings.

    She manages to hide it from her family and the people at school, but she and David begin to investigate. He looks at cells of her blossom and her cheeks and comes to the conclusion that she is made of plant cells.

    Laurel goes back to her cabin home in search of answers. There she meets Tamani, a gorgeous young man who tells her that she is a fairy. She has been helping the fairies guard a secret that is by her cabin home.

    Later, her dad takes ill and Laurel and David risk their lives fighting trolls, who are trying to acquire Laurel's forest home. These trolls are scary! They are big, strong, and the main one is smart.

    WINGS is the first of four books, and it leaves us with Laurel living two different lives. Should she go back to her fairy life with Tamani, or stay and guard her adoptive parents and be with David, who Laurel also has feelings for?

    I really loved this book. It had everything: love, chases, close escapes, dramatic choices, and lots of magic. The writing was very good, and at some points I had to put down the book just because I was so nervous for the characters, which for me means that I was totally involved in the story.

    Laurel is someone who I would want to be my best friend. David is also fantastic. He is what I would love to meet and have in my life. He is accepting, brave, and extremely helpful. Tamani is strong, intense, and sexy! What a choice!

    I highly recommend this series. It is fun and very believable. Go now and buy your copy of WINGS!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read!

    I picked this up on a whim and I'm so glad I did. Laurel is a wonderful character. Where was David when I was in high school? This is an amazing story and I look forward to my daughters reading it. This is a fresh take on Faerie story telling. I look forward to Ms.Pike's next book.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    Enchanting Debut

    Beautifully written debut novel.
    Aimed at tweens rather than YA but it still contains some adult sexual themes.
    An unusual and creative take on a faerie story. Lovely nature imagery which worked wonders with my technicolour imagination.
    Clever use of science to reinforce the plot - it might even encourage tweens to study science ;)
    Ingenious linking of Shakespearean characters with mythological characters added an extra dimension to the storyline.
    A heart wrenching ending that lingers in your imagination long after closing the book. A truly enchanting story.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    ugh.

    When I picked up this book I was like "Oh this looks good" I read through this and found myself rolling my eyes at almost EVEYTHING Lauren did.
    She is the living embodiment of the term "Mary-Sue"
    Ooh Lauren is so beautiful, she has these really pretty eyes and this hair and shes so thin and light. And she never gets hungry, and shes a vegan!! And ofcourse all the guys are tripping over themselves for her. And even though she grows wings (they smell reaaally good) the guy hardly thinks its strange and mostly thinks its beautiful and then he finds out shes a PLANT but he still likes her. And ofcourse theres some weird guy with green hair who she also loves and then she doesnt know who to choose!! And then my gosh shes a fairy!! And she the second most powerful type! And ohmygosh did i mention she was beautiful????? And she can breathe under water... wowie.

    So if you like a book full of Mary-Sues, Gary-Stus and predictability then wings is for you!!! I dont even know why its CALLED wings. She cant fly with them. They're flowers growing out of her back, ah its so magnificent!!

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Really Recomended

    Wings was such a romantic book. It was exciting! I couldn't put it down, i finished it the same night i bought it!!! The chemistry between the characters is unbelievable!! I los my self in this book!!!! I felt like i was in the book!!! I recomend it to Everyone that loves romance as much as i do!!!! (If you like twilight, u might like this book)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    perfect.

    this book is probally one of the best books ive ever read.
    i couldnt get away from this book. when i read it, it felt like i was in there watchin what was happeing.
    this is a reat book for anyone. and im not a little kid but this book brought back my imaganation :)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    wings

    loved it. new look at fairies. greatly written. wonderful love story. laurel,david,and tamani are amazing characters. can't wait to next. loved the wing idea.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing!

    I read Wings a few weeks ago and feel in love with it immediately. After doing some research I found out that the sequeal-Spells will be released in May and can't wait to read it! Also Wings in being made into a Disney movie. I'm so excited for this new series. Wings has definitely become one of my fav books!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Laurel's fairy tale story is nothing like the ones you read in other books.

    I have always had a passion or fairy tales and young adult books that make life so magical. I was first introduced to Wings by Aprilynne Pike six months ago and immediately started to read the novel. I soon found myself immersed in the fairy tale. The story is about a teenage girl who was adopted at a very young age. Not knowing about her families past medical history, her parents don't think twice about her unusual eating habits, striking physical appearance and her love for the outdoors. Her body is changing rapidly but not in the way a normal teenage girl should mature. One day Laurel notices a small bump in the middle of her shoulder blades. She immediately accuses it of being a "first pimple" but by the time it grows to the size of a softball, she excused the "pimple" idea. Through the help of her friend, Daniel, Laurel realizes that she is someone very special and she is not alone. Throughout Laurels journey you are introduced to more people like her and those who to try to destroy them. It is up to Laurel to ensure the safety of her friends by continuing to keep the gateway a secret from the outside world. This book is exciting, enchanting, and magical. I read this book in two days; it's a very easy and fun read. This young adult book is great for all ages and will pull you into Laurels world. I can't wait to read the next book!
    Shanae Farmer

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unexpectly good.

    My friend told me about this book wayy back in the summer so i made sure to buy it so i could check it out but i didn't open until this Monday at school during my sister's basketball game of all places. Its funny because its very fluidly written so its not hard to read at all and surprisingly engaging. It was an hour long game buti finished a third of the book before we left and i just was so mesmerized that this book was just so good! So the next day i had absolutely no time to read it butthen wednesday i had plenty of time and just had to know what happened.. it was literally eating away at me and i didnt know why cuz its just a book you know so i started reading it about 9ish and I JUST COULD NOT PUT THIS BOOK DOWN FOR THE LIFE OF ME it was so bizarre but i couldn't stop i just couldn't. So i finished it at like midnight exactly and let me tell you It was sooo Worth it!!! :) the characters are just great and they don't bore you then the whole concept: unexpectedly good just like WOW ahhHH! and then the book as a whole: great GREat GREATTT.
    i recommend this book if you like sci-fy, love, new kid at school, or just want something new to read.
    Aprilynne Pike did not disapoint on this book for her debut that is for certain. Great job Aprilynne and keep them coming i definately cannot wait XD

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Finally, A Fantasically Written Refresher

    I can't tell you how long I've been searching for a quality fantasy that doesn't involve brooding vampires. Now don't get me wrong, who doesn't love Twilight? However if you're searching for a touching, original, spine tingler, Wings definitely fits the bill and more. Meyer herself comments on the book as being "a remarkable debut" and here I agree full heartedly. :D Wings is sure to have you flipping through and devouring each page and word, surely leaving you desiring for more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fab-u-lous!

    Wings was one of the most amazing books i have ever read! I normally don't read faerie books, but I couldn't seem to not buy this. I was hooked from page 1, to the end. Aprilynne Pike creates an edgy, romantic, and gripping debut to her new series. I reccommend this book to everyone who likes fantasy.
    It is a must-have.
    Two thumbs up!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    I really liked wings.

    I really liked wings, I finished it really fast and then immediatly read it over again. I had trouble putting it down. My friends all love fantasy so Im going to lend it to them. 4 Stars!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book,hope there is a sequal

    Once i started reading this book I couldnt put it down. Laurel is a compelling main charecter on a mission to find out what she is and who she loves.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Will be reading again and again and again!

    This book had me from the first sentence... The characters wrapped around me and haven't left yet! Miss Pike has created such a world within this world that will not be forgotten! The story of Laurel has captivated me! I will recommend this to every customer I can at the B&N I work at!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing

    I found this book to be really good. A. Pike really captures your feelings toward the characters and gives you great visuals so that you feel like you are there in the story. Her imagination is remarkable and it really makes you see faeries in a different way. Though the action was not extreme, there were still parts that left you on your seat hoping for the best outcome. The love triangle is great. I cannot WAIT to start Spells!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wings by Aprilynne Pike - What if the stuff of fairy tales was real?

    Laurel's teenage existence is normal in extreme, until her family moves, she is forced to learn to make friends, and an odd bit of acne turns into an enormous growth which ultimately blooms on her back into something resembling wings. Thus begins an Alice-down-the-rabbit-hole adventure involving trolls, faeries, and a gate in a forest behind Laurel's childhood home which was once guarded by Arthur of Camelot.
    Pike builds a world at once familiar with bicycles and cell phones and other worldly, with asymmetrical-faced trolls and green-rooted faeries in a magical forest. As Laurel is pulled into this world, she learns more about the mystery of why she was left as a foundling on her parents' doorstep and why she never gets sick, loves the sun, and dislikes swimming in salt water. The enchantments continue in this world as Laurel makes her first friends and has her first romance, all the while struggling to remember something just beyond her memory.
    This is categorized as young adult fantasy but has much to offer the adult reader as well. Looking forward to more from this writer, and hopefully on this subject.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 894 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 45