Customer Reviews for

Wings (Laurel Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 893 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(511)

4 Star

(235)

3 Star

(85)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

A Debut to Behold...and Read!

Aprilynne Pike has made an outstanding debut with her Novel, 'Wings'. It's a story about fairies, but not in the typical sense that, if a person hated fairies and fairy folk,they would definetly love this story. A complete reinvention of what the world has known about ...
Aprilynne Pike has made an outstanding debut with her Novel, 'Wings'. It's a story about fairies, but not in the typical sense that, if a person hated fairies and fairy folk,they would definetly love this story. A complete reinvention of what the world has known about fairies and the like and made it an exciting, modern, and magical tale. Making her own world of fairies seem so entirely real and believable that you can't help but wonder that maybe your theories about your best friend- you know the insanley goregous, talented, graceful,and sweet friend of yours-being a fairy might actually be true.
I found myself liking Laurel as a best friend, falling for sweet and caring David, and wanting more of charasmatic and mysterious Tamani.I could not get enough of the mythology of fairies and fairy-folk she created in her world and I am left with wanting more!
Her writing style is wonderfully vivid and real that it transports your right from your couch, into the pages and onto the cool, beautiful breezy California coast. Her voice is charming, soft,and it pulls you in deeper into the crisp pages of the story, making it difficult NOT to keep turning the pages until your eyes are bleary and unfocused with sleep. With a bit of humor, wit, and sass thrown - oh!so cleverly- in at the right moments it's a story not to miss!
I truly loved reading this book. Getting into the mythology of what Aprilynne created for her fairies and seeing such defined, likeable, and well rounded characters, and a unique story kept me turning the pages well into the early morining hours. I cannot wait to read the next installments of this lovely story and see what the future hold for her. She defenitley has a long career ahead of her. Yay for us Idaho girls!!

posted by WinterReign on July 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

good concept, slow start, future potential.

Aprillynne Pike is a fun new voice in the realm of modern day faery tales. Maybe that's the ultimate thing to remember - the "fun" part. If you're looking for a quick read fluent in escapism, WINGS is a good way to spend a rainy Saturday. I think it will serve particula...
Aprillynne Pike is a fun new voice in the realm of modern day faery tales. Maybe that's the ultimate thing to remember - the "fun" part. If you're looking for a quick read fluent in escapism, WINGS is a good way to spend a rainy Saturday. I think it will serve particularly well as a clean summer read for middle school girls who want to slip away into a faery fantasy. However, I can't imagine this book will hook older readers. In fact, I'm a bit surprised it was already on a bestseller list. Despite an engaging concept, WINGS never took off. The writing style is a bit grating after awhile: slow start, lots of backstory dumped in awkward places, back to back chapters full of nothing but dialogue, and zero chemistry (so far) between the love interests. The book was free of purple prose, which is nice, but it was also free of most any prose at all which made for a tedious read. I also found the main character, Laurel, a bit too self-posessed. She frequently talks about how beautiful she is (blonde and fair, of course), how beautiful the faery Tamani is, how beautiful, beautiful, beautiful the world is. Even if Stephenie Meyer hadn't offered an endorsement for this book, I would have assumed Pike was a Meyer fan. Unlike Meyer's books, I didn't feel any attachment to Pike's world, or her characters, after the story ended. I see some definite potential though and I'm excited to see how Aprilynne Pike grows as a writer. If you're a younger reader, I would definitely suggest you give WINGS a try. Faery Rebels (or Knife in the UK) by RJ Anderson might be a better alternative. (Also, I've seen discussion about how Pike's WINGS compares to ED Baker's WINGS. I've read both and I don't think they don't have a whole lot in common other than title, similar character names, and the fact that both girls have some form of "wings". If you like one book though, you might enjoy the other.)

posted by hopelikefeathers on May 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    ugh.

    When I picked up this book I was like "Oh this looks good" I read through this and found myself rolling my eyes at almost EVEYTHING Lauren did.
    She is the living embodiment of the term "Mary-Sue"
    Ooh Lauren is so beautiful, she has these really pretty eyes and this hair and shes so thin and light. And she never gets hungry, and shes a vegan!! And ofcourse all the guys are tripping over themselves for her. And even though she grows wings (they smell reaaally good) the guy hardly thinks its strange and mostly thinks its beautiful and then he finds out shes a PLANT but he still likes her. And ofcourse theres some weird guy with green hair who she also loves and then she doesnt know who to choose!! And then my gosh shes a fairy!! And she the second most powerful type! And ohmygosh did i mention she was beautiful????? And she can breathe under water... wowie.

    So if you like a book full of Mary-Sues, Gary-Stus and predictability then wings is for you!!! I dont even know why its CALLED wings. She cant fly with them. They're flowers growing out of her back, ah its so magnificent!!

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    Can we say Twilight

    This books follows the Twilight series just a little too much. Not to bad in the storyline department, but reminded me soooo much of Twilight I had to keep checking to make sure I wasn't reading Twilight all over again. If you loved Twilight and like the Not so normal Romances than this is for you. Worth a try I guess - I only got it as it was on the Friday Freebies, but others have really enjoyed it. Don't really want to say it is horrible - but definently not one the best I have read recently

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    horrible

    it was so stupid worse then the twilight saga. but i couldnt put it down

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    trainwreck

    this is actually worse than the Twilight series. But, but like Twilight I can't stop; I'm just waiting to see how much worse it can possibly get.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    Not very good

    I wish I had some good things to say about this book, but nothing comes to mind. The main character Laurel is why I didn't like it. The plot really did have potential. The characters are just awful and it ruined the book. Laurel is so self absorbed and the author isn't afraid to drag on about how beautiful she is. Also Laurel has a weak personality and when her second love interest comes into the book then she just gets more annoying. I wouldn't recommended this book because of the poor character development and the lack of action, as well as romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm sorry I wasted my time and money on this book!

    SPOILER ALERT!
    This is the only book that I've read where I felt that I wanted not only my money back but also the time it took out of my life to read it. This book had the shallowest characters I've ever come across in any book that I've ever read. Period. The female lead character has several odd "flaws" about her that make her suspect that she is not human except instead of coming across as freighting it just proves that she is more perfect than anyone else. She doesn't even have to shampoo her hair. She just uses body wash instead. She's so perfect she doesn't have to spend any extra time on personal hygiene. She only eats very little fruit and drinks Sprite. Perfect starvation dieting just comes naturally to her. Even her breath smells like nectar! The villains in this novel are trolls who look mostly like humans but uglier. One of the fairies in the novel tells her that the uglier someone is the more evil they are. The uglier someone is means that evolution has given up on them! The author seems to deny this lookism statement by following up with a few half hearted words but the actions of the characters maintain the message of ugly is evil by the actions of her main characters. This novel puts a freighting message out that beautiful=good and ugly=evil. This is not only a shallow message but completely WRONG!!! Many of the world's greatest humanitarians would never make it as "perfect" fashion models or in Hollywood movies but have had beautiful souls. Take a look at Mother Teresa or Gandhi and the work that they have done and compare it to the lame message of this book. The characters and the plot of this book are as deep as a pot hole. I've read quite a few books in my life but this is by far the worst! If you want to read some good fairy books I recommend these:

    "Tithe" by Holly Black for those who like their fairies dark
    "The Faerie Path" by Frewin Jones for a richly imaged fairy realm

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    had potential

    It is an easy read with a good concept but didn't leave me wanting more... FYI If your middle aged child is reading this it had some violence and a brief explanation of how fairies reproduce. If you are older it is missing some depth/meat to the storyline that would have your time better spent on other books.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Worst book ever

    Enough said

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Lightfoot

    Im sorry everyone but i have to quit rping im just too busy to come on im soo sorry bye everyone -Lightfoot

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Don't ever read!!!

    Unless you are 2 stinkin' years old and love BAD stories about FARIES!!!!!!!!! BOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    Boooo

    Good idea and all but written terribly i wanted to barf

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    ummmm

    you can get the whole book for free and plus bonus exerpets

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    rip off

    you know you can gaet this book for free right?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2010

    run away!

    No, no, no, no, no!!!! Why did I do it? Why, when Stephanie Myer gave an endorsement on the cover, did I bother to pick it up?! Then, I find out that 'Wings' is written by a close, personal friend of Ms. Myer. I suppose the trick to getting on the NY Times Best Seller List is to have a famous writer give an endorsement-that sucks.

    If you've already read this book, please save me a spot on the bridge, we may as well jump together

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2