Customer Reviews for

Wings (Laurel Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 895 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(513)

4 Star

(235)

3 Star

(85)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

A Debut to Behold...and Read!

Aprilynne Pike has made an outstanding debut with her Novel, 'Wings'. It's a story about fairies, but not in the typical sense that, if a person hated fairies and fairy folk,they would definetly love this story. A complete reinvention of what the world has known about ...
Aprilynne Pike has made an outstanding debut with her Novel, 'Wings'. It's a story about fairies, but not in the typical sense that, if a person hated fairies and fairy folk,they would definetly love this story. A complete reinvention of what the world has known about fairies and the like and made it an exciting, modern, and magical tale. Making her own world of fairies seem so entirely real and believable that you can't help but wonder that maybe your theories about your best friend- you know the insanley goregous, talented, graceful,and sweet friend of yours-being a fairy might actually be true.
I found myself liking Laurel as a best friend, falling for sweet and caring David, and wanting more of charasmatic and mysterious Tamani.I could not get enough of the mythology of fairies and fairy-folk she created in her world and I am left with wanting more!
Her writing style is wonderfully vivid and real that it transports your right from your couch, into the pages and onto the cool, beautiful breezy California coast. Her voice is charming, soft,and it pulls you in deeper into the crisp pages of the story, making it difficult NOT to keep turning the pages until your eyes are bleary and unfocused with sleep. With a bit of humor, wit, and sass thrown - oh!so cleverly- in at the right moments it's a story not to miss!
I truly loved reading this book. Getting into the mythology of what Aprilynne created for her fairies and seeing such defined, likeable, and well rounded characters, and a unique story kept me turning the pages well into the early morining hours. I cannot wait to read the next installments of this lovely story and see what the future hold for her. She defenitley has a long career ahead of her. Yay for us Idaho girls!!

posted by WinterReign on July 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

good concept, slow start, future potential.

Aprillynne Pike is a fun new voice in the realm of modern day faery tales. Maybe that's the ultimate thing to remember - the "fun" part. If you're looking for a quick read fluent in escapism, WINGS is a good way to spend a rainy Saturday. I think it will serve particula...
Aprillynne Pike is a fun new voice in the realm of modern day faery tales. Maybe that's the ultimate thing to remember - the "fun" part. If you're looking for a quick read fluent in escapism, WINGS is a good way to spend a rainy Saturday. I think it will serve particularly well as a clean summer read for middle school girls who want to slip away into a faery fantasy. However, I can't imagine this book will hook older readers. In fact, I'm a bit surprised it was already on a bestseller list. Despite an engaging concept, WINGS never took off. The writing style is a bit grating after awhile: slow start, lots of backstory dumped in awkward places, back to back chapters full of nothing but dialogue, and zero chemistry (so far) between the love interests. The book was free of purple prose, which is nice, but it was also free of most any prose at all which made for a tedious read. I also found the main character, Laurel, a bit too self-posessed. She frequently talks about how beautiful she is (blonde and fair, of course), how beautiful the faery Tamani is, how beautiful, beautiful, beautiful the world is. Even if Stephenie Meyer hadn't offered an endorsement for this book, I would have assumed Pike was a Meyer fan. Unlike Meyer's books, I didn't feel any attachment to Pike's world, or her characters, after the story ended. I see some definite potential though and I'm excited to see how Aprilynne Pike grows as a writer. If you're a younger reader, I would definitely suggest you give WINGS a try. Faery Rebels (or Knife in the UK) by RJ Anderson might be a better alternative. (Also, I've seen discussion about how Pike's WINGS compares to ED Baker's WINGS. I've read both and I don't think they don't have a whole lot in common other than title, similar character names, and the fact that both girls have some form of "wings". If you like one book though, you might enjoy the other.)

posted by hopelikefeathers on May 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 235 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted July 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Debut to Behold...and Read!

    Aprilynne Pike has made an outstanding debut with her Novel, 'Wings'. It's a story about fairies, but not in the typical sense that, if a person hated fairies and fairy folk,they would definetly love this story. A complete reinvention of what the world has known about fairies and the like and made it an exciting, modern, and magical tale. Making her own world of fairies seem so entirely real and believable that you can't help but wonder that maybe your theories about your best friend- you know the insanley goregous, talented, graceful,and sweet friend of yours-being a fairy might actually be true.
    I found myself liking Laurel as a best friend, falling for sweet and caring David, and wanting more of charasmatic and mysterious Tamani.I could not get enough of the mythology of fairies and fairy-folk she created in her world and I am left with wanting more!
    Her writing style is wonderfully vivid and real that it transports your right from your couch, into the pages and onto the cool, beautiful breezy California coast. Her voice is charming, soft,and it pulls you in deeper into the crisp pages of the story, making it difficult NOT to keep turning the pages until your eyes are bleary and unfocused with sleep. With a bit of humor, wit, and sass thrown - oh!so cleverly- in at the right moments it's a story not to miss!
    I truly loved reading this book. Getting into the mythology of what Aprilynne created for her fairies and seeing such defined, likeable, and well rounded characters, and a unique story kept me turning the pages well into the early morining hours. I cannot wait to read the next installments of this lovely story and see what the future hold for her. She defenitley has a long career ahead of her. Yay for us Idaho girls!!

    24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    I really liked wings.

    I really liked wings, I finished it really fast and then immediatly read it over again. I had trouble putting it down. My friends all love fantasy so Im going to lend it to them. 4 Stars!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wings by Aprilynne Pike - What if the stuff of fairy tales was real?

    Laurel's teenage existence is normal in extreme, until her family moves, she is forced to learn to make friends, and an odd bit of acne turns into an enormous growth which ultimately blooms on her back into something resembling wings. Thus begins an Alice-down-the-rabbit-hole adventure involving trolls, faeries, and a gate in a forest behind Laurel's childhood home which was once guarded by Arthur of Camelot.
    Pike builds a world at once familiar with bicycles and cell phones and other worldly, with asymmetrical-faced trolls and green-rooted faeries in a magical forest. As Laurel is pulled into this world, she learns more about the mystery of why she was left as a foundling on her parents' doorstep and why she never gets sick, loves the sun, and dislikes swimming in salt water. The enchantments continue in this world as Laurel makes her first friends and has her first romance, all the while struggling to remember something just beyond her memory.
    This is categorized as young adult fantasy but has much to offer the adult reader as well. Looking forward to more from this writer, and hopefully on this subject.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    A good short read

    It's about a girl Who is on a quest to find her true self as well as her past

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Magical

    Let me start this review off by saying, I don't give a hoot if Stephanie Meyer endorses this book or not. This is Aprilynne's creation & not Ms. Meyer's! That said, let's get to it.

    Fairies. Hmmm... Is this going to be a theme authors & publisher's are going to inundate us with until the next trend takes flight? Spare me. While I'm venting let me say, I'm not impressed with the copycat plots & the lack of original themes lining up bookstore shelves across the globe.


    Enter Aprilynne Pike & her debut novel Wings. So, is the buzz fluttering around this bestselling novel authentic or hype? I must say, you need to read Wings yourself before you rush to make judgements based on the blurb by Meyer. Lovers of Meyer's will flitter to Wings based on her backing, however, haters will dig in their heels & deny themselves the opportunity to experience Pike's young adult fiction, Wings.


    Pike's inimitable insight into the universe of faeries is momentous. Pike unearths a provocative symmetry between fantasy & reality. Wings is an enchanting contemporary fairy tale w/ the precise synthesis of excitement, humor, romance, friendship & peril.

    Wings does start slow & there are some lengthy moments but Pike builds momentum as the story unfolds. Pike's writing is velvety & flows serenely.

    Written in the third person, Wings showcases all the thrilling occurrences in a wider lens. Kudos to Pike for not falling into the first person point of view.

    I have not read anything as one-of-a-kind as Pike's Wings; I am extremely interested in finding out where Pike is leading Laurel on this fun journey. Nope, no spoilers from moi!

    Wings delves into an alluring land of mythology in which Pike navigates skillfully. Pike's unusual progression made me suspend disbelief. I may have a vivid imagination, but am a bit jaded.

    Pike's take on mythology is fun & believable. Heck, Pike can teach mythology if all else fails & she will no doubt captivate her audience. I don't think Pike has to close her laptop or put the cap on her pen.

    Unfortunately, Pike's characters aren't as powerful as they could be. I understand this is the first of four books & I do see Pike finding her footing & writing them w/ the vibrancy & angst I know she is capable of. Pike has it, so she needs to show off her dramatic chops by holding nothing back in the rest of the series.

    Laurel needs to come in to her own & become more dimensional. I really want to see more depth to Laurel ~ beauty only goes so far. David is charming & I want Pike to delve deeper into what David is all about. Tamani. Tamani is magnetic. He is simply electrifying, like fireworks lighting up the night sky. Does that make me fall into Team Tamani? Not quite. Team David's got it going on, but... Let's see where Pike is taking her story. No spoilers coming from this review.

    Wings is an enthralling paranormal fantasy that is written for young adults but younger teens can read this beguiling tale.

    Pike is a welcome new voice & if Wings is any indication she will be doing blurbs for up & coming YA talent in no time.

    Psst! Isn't the cover riveting?!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    its good so far

    i am two chapters away from finishing so far its been great!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Perfect for Tweens

    As a "teen" bookseller, I am always looking for teen titles that do not have inappropriate content for the younger readers that are longing to read in the Teen Dept. "Wings" is a wonderful choice for 6th grade and up. I was happy to discover that this is a planned trilogy. Whenever I am reading a book and am anxious to get back to it to see what happens next, I know it is a winner!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awsome book!!!

    This book was a little boring in the begining. but what books arent. when you get more into the book you start to figure out what is happing and how it is not one of those regular fariy books. I hope pike comes out with a series. this would be a great mini series to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    WINGS

    This book was great. I only bought it b/c Barnes and Noble suggested the book in my suggested reading box. I thought this book was different in the style and plot. Yes,its similar to other books in its genre b/c its a love triangle and yes it's about faires. It's also very different with new twists on the origin of fairies,on the back drop of the magical side of the story and the characters are not too similar to others out there. The writing is good and the books is not too slow or fast. The characters have feelings and conversations relatable to everyone. I really like this book and would recommend it to anyone who likes magic, myth, romance, and thrills.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Original

    A great Original twist of the Faerie story.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome read

    This book might not like much, and really I nearly did not read it, it did not look like it would be any good. Yes I am one of those who love the beautiful covers and often buy books based on how the covers look. And this cover looked kind of boring to me. But trust me this book is not at all boring. This book is amazing really! This book really did change everything I thought I knew about faeries! (LoL) This book is exciting and thrilling and really a lovley beginning of a lovestory, but not the usual kind. No Laurel has two boys to choose from, but who will it be? The ordinary human boy or the faerie warior? I warmly recomend this book cause it truley is amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This story grows on you from the start.

    This book is a fast read because it is enticing and enjoyable. The plot moved steadily and sucks you in to Laurels plight of discovery. I wish I could have gleaned a little better sense of who Tamani is but I guess that will bring me back when the second book comes out. Loved David in this book, wish more boys were like him. (He reminded me a little of Ethan from Beautiful Creatures) I would probably have Chelsea's reaction if his heart should ever break. The spin on faerie anatomy is quite ingenious and was a joy to discover. I will definitely be in line to get the next instalment as soon as I can.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wings

    I haven't read anything like this book, that's why I enjoyed it soo much. I don't usually like books like this but it's really good. I do recommend this book because it's like no other.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Grow wings for reading...

    I really enjoyed it! It is a good read for teens. I think Aprilynne Pike will write more books. It was a good start for my reading year (September-July). I loved the plot, and has a good romantic twist.
    I hope you read it!
    Read it now!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    Good read

    This book is a pretty good book. a little slow in the beggining but it evolved into an interesting plot. i dont agree that she seems self-absorbed. i didnt see that at all. it is a little lower level read, for pre-teens, but i good story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My thoughts on wings

    I haven't read all of it. I read all I could on here and I am thinking of buying it. I like things that are different. I want to see what happens. I know some people think the book is weird and would recommend it more for preteens than teens but I dont know. It seems pretty good. I wouldn't say Laurel is exactly stuck on herself from what I've read so far. David seems sweet and Chelsea honest; straight-forward. I've yet to see about the other characters but the book seems pretty good so far.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    Wow!

    I loved the story and am excited for the next three books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Fun READ!

    This book was thoroughly enjoyable. Although written for young readers, I feel that readers will recapture their youth and young love when they read this book. Wanting to be normal, but feeling abnormal is a part of all our lives and I feel that the readers will relate to the main character and her plight. The science behind it is fun and interesting and it definitely is a new take on the idea of faeries! I loved it and I look forward to see what happens in the next part of the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    =]

    It was an overall good book in my opinion. I think there were some slow points but by the end you wanted it to keep going. It's a great book for younger readers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2009

    Wings

    This book was different. In a good way though. I enjoyed reading it and i recommend it to people who like something different and something fun to read. I liked it alot!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 235 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12