Customer Reviews for

Wings (Laurel Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 895 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(513)

4 Star

(235)

3 Star

(85)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

A Debut to Behold...and Read!

Aprilynne Pike has made an outstanding debut with her Novel, 'Wings'. It's a story about fairies, but not in the typical sense that, if a person hated fairies and fairy folk,they would definetly love this story. A complete reinvention of what the world has known about ...
Aprilynne Pike has made an outstanding debut with her Novel, 'Wings'. It's a story about fairies, but not in the typical sense that, if a person hated fairies and fairy folk,they would definetly love this story. A complete reinvention of what the world has known about fairies and the like and made it an exciting, modern, and magical tale. Making her own world of fairies seem so entirely real and believable that you can't help but wonder that maybe your theories about your best friend- you know the insanley goregous, talented, graceful,and sweet friend of yours-being a fairy might actually be true.
I found myself liking Laurel as a best friend, falling for sweet and caring David, and wanting more of charasmatic and mysterious Tamani.I could not get enough of the mythology of fairies and fairy-folk she created in her world and I am left with wanting more!
Her writing style is wonderfully vivid and real that it transports your right from your couch, into the pages and onto the cool, beautiful breezy California coast. Her voice is charming, soft,and it pulls you in deeper into the crisp pages of the story, making it difficult NOT to keep turning the pages until your eyes are bleary and unfocused with sleep. With a bit of humor, wit, and sass thrown - oh!so cleverly- in at the right moments it's a story not to miss!
I truly loved reading this book. Getting into the mythology of what Aprilynne created for her fairies and seeing such defined, likeable, and well rounded characters, and a unique story kept me turning the pages well into the early morining hours. I cannot wait to read the next installments of this lovely story and see what the future hold for her. She defenitley has a long career ahead of her. Yay for us Idaho girls!!

posted by WinterReign on July 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

good concept, slow start, future potential.

Aprillynne Pike is a fun new voice in the realm of modern day faery tales. Maybe that's the ultimate thing to remember - the "fun" part. If you're looking for a quick read fluent in escapism, WINGS is a good way to spend a rainy Saturday. I think it will serve particula...
Aprillynne Pike is a fun new voice in the realm of modern day faery tales. Maybe that's the ultimate thing to remember - the "fun" part. If you're looking for a quick read fluent in escapism, WINGS is a good way to spend a rainy Saturday. I think it will serve particularly well as a clean summer read for middle school girls who want to slip away into a faery fantasy. However, I can't imagine this book will hook older readers. In fact, I'm a bit surprised it was already on a bestseller list. Despite an engaging concept, WINGS never took off. The writing style is a bit grating after awhile: slow start, lots of backstory dumped in awkward places, back to back chapters full of nothing but dialogue, and zero chemistry (so far) between the love interests. The book was free of purple prose, which is nice, but it was also free of most any prose at all which made for a tedious read. I also found the main character, Laurel, a bit too self-posessed. She frequently talks about how beautiful she is (blonde and fair, of course), how beautiful the faery Tamani is, how beautiful, beautiful, beautiful the world is. Even if Stephenie Meyer hadn't offered an endorsement for this book, I would have assumed Pike was a Meyer fan. Unlike Meyer's books, I didn't feel any attachment to Pike's world, or her characters, after the story ended. I see some definite potential though and I'm excited to see how Aprilynne Pike grows as a writer. If you're a younger reader, I would definitely suggest you give WINGS a try. Faery Rebels (or Knife in the UK) by RJ Anderson might be a better alternative. (Also, I've seen discussion about how Pike's WINGS compares to ED Baker's WINGS. I've read both and I don't think they don't have a whole lot in common other than title, similar character names, and the fact that both girls have some form of "wings". If you like one book though, you might enjoy the other.)

posted by hopelikefeathers on May 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 513 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 26
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    One of the best

    I loved this book. Much better and different than the books a I normally read. This is coming from a vampire/with freak

    i loved this book!!!!!!!!

    If you like fairy tales this is the book for you

    Get The Book!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    One of my favorite books of all time!

    I loved this book! I have read a lot of books and this is in my top five. I can NOT wait till the next one comes out. I LOVED IT!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I love this book!

    I got this book for Christmas, and have finished it recently. I love this book because I enjoy supernatural things plus a bit of a love story. Aprilynne did a wonderful job with this book. I am so excited to read the next 3 books!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    amazing

    at first, the book was a little slow, but it got a lot better. i have never read a book about fearies before, but this one was absolutley amazing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    READ THIS!

    I loved this book. I wasn't sure about getting it at first, but now i'm glad i did. it gives a whole new meaning to the word fary. i love this book because it does what so many great books do. It takes you away. I get so stressed from school and at home, but when i read a good book i forget all about it. it's just me and this incredibal world where any thing can happen. so if you wanna get away from all the worries in life then you should DEFINETLY read this book. So get lost! (in a good way!) ;)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow W-O-W

    Wow I just picked this book at the store and feel head over heels in love it.... ??? Def TEAM TAMANI!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!???

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Pleasant Surprise

    I found this book completely by accident-it was a suggestion on BN.com, so I took the chance. I really enjoyed the story more than I thought I would. The triangle between David, Laurel and Tamani is a familiar plot, but the background story is different and interesting. It makes me really look forward to the other three books coming soon. I look forward to the rest of series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A refreshing view

    I could not put this book down. It is very addictive, Aprilynne uses amazing imagery in her words, and she has such a fantastically fresh view on faeries. There is drama, romance, suspense, emotion. It leaves you hungry for more. I hope she is in the process of writing more books like this one. Definitely a good read for anyone, not just teens.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wings

    Cant wait for the next book. Loved it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    not your average faerie book

    this book surprised me i was wander in about in the book store and just picked it up my mom wanted me to get a book to read at school so bought it with out reading the back i got home read the back and thought it was going to be one the books i secretly hide i say i lost but it turned out to be in my top five along with twilight harry potter and maximum ride i'm start ing to pick out a theme i was unaware of be fore books with common topics but different then tinker belle count Dracula and Merlin and your very common kid with wings .... so i hope you read the other series i listed and if you already read them and like them read this

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    At first I was worried about this book because I really didn't like the main character (but that was just my opinion) but she grew on me pretty fast. I also thought Pike jumped too quickly into the story, but now looking back on it I can see the progression was pretty good. Once I got into the book I couldn't put it down. It was an easy read and the story is very good; I can't wait until the next book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wings is going to be a movie.

    Okay so this book was amazing, the end was kinda cliffhangerish. But i jusst want to say to readers out there, not to think of miley cyrus asl aurel when you read this book. Yes wings is going to bea movie and im sure after it comes out, millions of girls will be dying toread. *cough* *cough* twilight. I read this books acouple weeks ago and iwas thankfully able to read it with out imagining miley. no offense to her but when ever i think about her, i think of this whiny wannabee popstar who cant act very well. idk, maybe shell stun the world and actually do agood job.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wings!!

    This book is great i loved it!!! i love David and Tamani(mostly Tamani sorry David!)!! if you love twilight city of glass then youll love this!!
    ill admit that half way through i kinda guessed at one part and i was lik half right but that was b/c it gives a lotta hints and im not saying anything about that youll hav to read to find that out!!
    but i loved it it will keep you reading to find out what happens next and it will make you want to be a fairy!(well i did anyway) and youll never guess what the fairies really are!
    I cant wait for the next book in this 4 book series!! enjoy your reading!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    wings

    This was a exciting book that put a new twist on mythology.Once you started reading it you couldnt put it down.the charters were perfect and the plot was so thick and it made your heart pump real fast .Over all it was a great great book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Best Book Ever!

    When i was at Barnes and Nobles the cover of this book caught my eye. So, i bought it nd i finished it that night nd I instantly fell in love with this book! It's a great book for any age! While i was reading i felt like i was actually there with Laurel! Now im practically obsessed with faeries! It's thrilling, emotional, loving, how about i just sum it up its an unbelievable book!!!!!!!!!!!
    -Laura

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun and entertaining

    This is a fun and entertaining book. Easy read, very relaxing. Very magical.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    This was a very sweet book.

    I enjoyed the struggle the main character deals with between the two male characters. Shows what a lot of teens have to deal with on a regular basis. I also liked that the girl did not have to hide what she really is to the closest people to her but was able to rejoice in it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great start for what will hopefully be a new series

    This is one of the best YA books I've read in a long time. Most of the books I've read that involve faeries have really been horrid. The only reason I gave this one a chance was because of Stephanie Myers recommendation on the cover. I wasn't disappointed. This book has everything from romance (a fantasticly written love triangle) to action (trolls vs faeries) and it pulls at your heartstrings in a few spots as well. Some of the reviews say that it starts out slow but I don't agree. The author does a fantastic job, from the beginning, of not making it too much of a snooze setting up the story. From the beginning you find yourself being pulled in by the characters. With the way that the story ended I find myself hoping that there will indeed be a sequel because I felt like I was left hanging but in a very good way! Bravo for Ms Pikes first outing. I will for sure be looking for the next one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Terrific

    Absolutely GREAT. Couldn't put it down, and even now leaves me wanting for more. I hope Aprilynne Pike only has more to come. Because Wings was just one of those books you can't help but fall in love with.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wings is awesome! Must buy!

    Trust me it will become the easiest read ever as soon as you get around the third chapter!!! I'm happy it's gonna be a series!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 513 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 26