Customer Reviews for

Wings of Arian (For fans of Julie Kagawa, J.K. Rowling, Cinda Williams Chima)

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    LOVE THE STORY

    I was captivated from the beginning!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I liked it. I'm hooked. Did I enjoy this book: It has magic, dr

    I liked it. I'm hooked.

    Did I enjoy this book: It has magic, dragons, snobby princes who fall in love and turn out not to be quite so snobby, and tiny, beautiful faery-type folk. It has a snarky, gorgeous heroine (just my style), an evil, magical bad guy, and, obviously, a killer love story. What’s not to enjoy?

    I finished the book in two days (at the expense of sleep, of course), and I’m so anxious to start the second book that I’m actually angry at myself for not finishing this review in a more timely manner. Anyway. Let’s forgive, forget, and move on. The point is: I liked it. I’m hooked. I’m going to start book two in the series as soon as I finish typing this.

    Would I recommend it: Yep! If you like sci-fi/fantasy (and you’re not going to be turned off by a few grammatical errors), you’ll love it.

    Will I read it again: So, it turns out that with a job like mine, I get very few chances to re-read things. As a trade-off, I’m going to read the next two books in the series quickly – before I forget what happens. In the Grand Scheme of Things, I’m going to pretend that counts as reading the first book again. Because that’s how I roll. And yes, that was a fragment. So was that. Ugh.

    As reviewed by Melissa at Every Free Chance Book Reviews.

    (I received a copy of this book for review purposes.)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wings of Arian, oh how I loved reading you. Can this whole revi

    Wings of Arian, oh how I loved reading you. Can this whole review just
    be me gushing about it? Please? No?! Okay I guess I can try to write a
    more helpful review. But just to let you know I FREAKING LOVED THIS BOOK
    SO SO SO SO MUCH!!!! Asdfghjkl; :D So normally here I would write my
    own summary of the novel, but now that I have tried about a million
    times I think it may be better for you to read the goodreads summary
    provided above! Just know that this book has magic, evil, good guys, bad
    guys, romance, dragons, shape shifters, guardians, healers and oh so
    much more that make it an amazingly epic fantasy novel! Since I am not
    allowed to just gush with happiness about this book I guess I will tell
    you what I loved about it. First off we have Devri’s writing, I don’t
    know HOW she did it, but normally when I read a fantasy novel the book
    will start off good, but then down the road it gets confusing and just
    well…messy. Not with Wings of Arian though, not once was there ever a
    moment where I felt lost or confused, Devri has written a high fantasy
    novel that flowed beautifully from beginning to end and I found myself
    not wanting to set this read down! Moving onto another amazing aspect
    of Wings of Arian, lets talk about the romance! Oh how I adored the
    romance in Wings of Arian, at first Kiora and Emane can’t stand each
    other! I loved in the beginning them being so rude to eachother, who
    would’ve guess they would learn to love each other. The romance between
    Kiora and Emane felt so real, never once did I find myself thinking
    their romance was ridicules or unrealistic, I adored their relationship
    right from the start. I also love how Emane and Kiora fit perfect
    together, any weakness Kiora has, Emane makes up for and vice versa. The
    romance in Wings of Arian will not disappoint! Overall Wings of Arian
    was bottom line just a really magical and enchanting read. I loved
    everything about it, and I think it is a book anyone can enjoy that
    loves books with amazing fantasy and magic or if you’re just looking for
    an amazing adventure with a great romance. This book had everything I
    love in a book and more. I highly highly recommend this to everyone.
    (Did I mention there are Pegasus’s?!?! Ya freakin love this book so so
    much!)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    Wings of Arian was just spectacular, unique, breathtaking, amazi

    Wings of Arian was just spectacular, unique, breathtaking, amazing!!! It’s full of romance and history that will make you pay attention to every single detail! There are many different characters that kept me guessing what would happen next. It was an unique experience for me! I loved it!
    Kiora lived her life not knowing who she is and why she saw all that bad things, sometimes even good things. But, the things she saw always happened, and that spooked her really bad! She thought this was all her fault and decided to hide her ability, maybe that way nothing bad will ever happen. She manages to hide it until Aleric comes into the picture and tells her about the magic in the world and that she is destined for a prophecy, not hiding her ability. Not only is she part of a prophecy, but Prince Emane is too, even if he has no magical abilities, he is her Protector. The problem is, they don’t get along at all, but they learned that they need to fight together in order to defeat the evil. And that’s when a beautiful romance blossoms between this two.
    I have to say that I liked Kiora, because she was a relatively strong character who did a good job of overcoming the diversities in her life. Despite struggling with her role in this battle, Kiora never allows evil to change who she is. 
    The Wings of Arian is a refreshing tale on the battle between good versus evil and I love the way that Devri Walls describes the world. A tale of adventure, magic, suspense, action and love. Wings of Arian is a story not to be missed by YA fantasy lovers!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2014

    Fantasy is always such a tricky genre as there are so many elem

    Fantasy is always such a tricky genre as there are so many elements needed to make it work. Good world building, strong characterization and development, as well as an engaging storyline are what make a good fantasy in my opinion. I felt Wings of Arian did a commendable job at striving to integrate the above elements in the novel. I did feel it was a bit on the longer side and I found myself distracted at times, as I was ready for the plot to move forward a bit faster than it did.

    I like Kiora's character for the most part. She is sweet and good and has the fate of the world on her shoulders. She is the Solus, the one who can defeat the power-hungry Dralazar. However, she will not be able to do it on her own. She will need the strength of a Protector to assist her and balance her weaknesses. Kiora's Protector comes in the form of Prince Emane, who is quite stubborn. The two do not get along in the beginning, but once they realize the dire nature of their situation they must put their own issues aside and work together. I do appreciate that Walls did not give us a situation of insta-love with these two. Instead, Emane and Kiora must learn to tolerate one another first, and then we see them develop a friendship and respect for each other, and eventually a romance. I liked Kiora's empathy, but I felt it could be a hindrance to her task at hand. She is fighting a war whether she likes it or not and unfortunately war means casualties. As our heroine, I did feel she was a bit excessive in her crying though. I am glad we got to see her toughen up as the book grew on, and I think she is finally starting to realize what all is at stake and what needs to happen to persevere.

    I felt a bit overwhelmed reading this one as there is so much to learn. I didn't feel like it was info-dumping, however. Kiora and Emane both have a lot to learn about their new roles, as well as the history of Dralazar and I felt like I was right there alongside them processing this information.

    We have some great side characters in this novel. Arturo and Morcant were by far my favorites and we even have some twists and turns concerning other characters I did not see coming! I like that Kiora had so many allies that were willing to train her and aide her in the battle for good versus evil. For so long she has felt alone and alienated because of her gift of vision and my heart really ached for her at how her own flesh and blood treated her. Of all the people that end up supporting her, I think she was most surprised by Emane and how he really stepped into his role of Protector. He's actually a good guy, but being heir to the throne he has so many responsibilities that his life does not feel as his own. He is shocked when Kiora asks him what he wants as he's never been asked that before.

    I am curious as to what will happen next for Emane, Kiora, and crew, especially after new revelations have been brought to light.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    check it out!

    if you are looking for a great, clean, fantasy, this is it! i hate to start reading a book and like it, then halfway through the cussing voilence and sex starts. not so with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Quick and easy read

    The books grabs you right away. Enjoyed this new magical story very much. Purchased the next 2 books before I had finished book 1.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wings of Arian is a superb young adult/fantasy novel. In a town

    Wings of Arian is a superb young adult/fantasy novel. In a town where magic has been hidden from the people, young Kiora discovers she is a Solus and she is destined to save the entire town from evil, but first she needs a Protector. Unfortunately for Kiora, her Protector is none other than Prince Emane. These two characters provided several moments for humor and laughter, while readers are taken through a whirlwind of emotions as the battles between good and evil begin.
    Filled to the brim with non-stop action and light-hearted personal moments between characters, this book will surely have readers entranced and smiling. The satisfying conclusion of this story sets-up the intrigue of what could occur in the next book. Wings of Arian will be a must-read for any fan of young adult/fantasy books.
    Star Rating: 4.5 Stars


    Note:
    This review was originally posted on Ariesgrl Book Reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    I don't typically read high fantasy books, but I thought I'd tak

    I don't typically read high fantasy books, but I thought I'd take a chance and read this one. Plus, I really loved the cover. You know, I enjoy watching fantasy movies, like Lord of The Rings and Avatar, but have trouble reading it. I guess my mind just doesn't work that way. I mean, witches, vamps, weres, and demons are all very real to me, but for some reason books heavy on fantasy have a hard time breaking through the Autumn brain. That said, I love dragons. I prefer dragons that shape shift though. LOL Back to this book! The book was interesting and well written. Still, probably wouldn't have picked this one up on my own.

    Honestly, I can't say that I really identified with the characters. Kiora and Emane were both pretty irritating at the beginning of the story. Once they decided that working together would be more beneficial for all, I started to like them a bit more. They do develop a relationship, but I felt like the story was a bit light on the romance. I don't expect every book I read to be smothered with love, but it definitely helps keep me involved in the story. I think I would have liked to have seen a bit more romance. Kiora and Emane have the potential to be a pretty exciting couple.

    The story is action packed and certain to keep you on your toes. There are many different characters that kept me guessing what would happen next. Dralazar is the perfect villain for the story. He has a connection to the good side, so it definitely keeps things mysterious. I did like Arturo, the Pegasus. I liked that he was telepathic. The rest of the supporting characters were all interesting, but Morcant stole the show for me. Can you guess what Morcant is? Yep, a Dragon. Not sure why I have such a fascination with Dragons, but I do.

    I can say that if you are a fan of fantasy, you would really enjoy this book. I did like it, even though it's not really my thing. So, if you're looking for a well written, diverse mix of characters, an adventurous plot, and a lot of world building, check this book out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter's review of Wings of Arian

    I am a sucker for fantasy reads, and will admit that I don’t read enough of them! But when I do, it takes everything in me to not just continue reading fantasy only. But then the stories get all jumbled up in my head, and I end with a completely ridiculous story made up of like 3 different stories. So, when I do get my hands on a fantasy book, I sure as heck hope it’s one that will take me up, up, and away.

    Devri Walls’ Wings of Arian did just that. The world that was created was one that comes straight out of a fantasy movie which reminded me of The Lord of the Rings mixed with The Never Ending Story. Magic, dragons, warriors, fairy-type people…did I mention magic? Magic plays a huge role in this book.

    The story revolves around a sixteen year old girl named Kiora who has just been learned that she is the Solus, the one who was prophesized to help the people in winning the battle versus evil. We watch as she quickly grows accustomed to her new magical abilities, and grow into the magical force that they have all been waiting for. I wish that we were shown in the beginning how Aleric managed to find Kiora, and prove that she was in fact, the Solus. In the beginning of the novel, we read how Aleric is able to sense that evil is returning and that they must now seek out the Solus who will be the one who will lead them to victory, so says the prophecy. Then the scene cuts, and then it opens up to the Solus being found and already knowledgeable in magics. It would have been interesting to see how Kiora deals with the knowledge.

    Basically, Kiora and her new found magical friends, including Prince Emane (who by the way was so cute and sometimes very sweet) are on a mission to gain as much power and knowledge as they can, to prepare for their battle against Dralazar and his band of misfits. Sounds simple enough… Not! With the 411 out that Kiora is the Solus, Dralazar does everything he can to try and capture Kiora so that he can use her for… tsk tsk, you’ll have to read the book to find out why!

    I really enjoyed the writing style of Devri Walls. She included a lot of humor, and there were a few emotional parts that did touch me (hello… Morcant!). I really loved the interaction between Kiora and Prince Emane, though there were points in the book where I was annoyed with their constant bickering. My favorite part that involved these two was during the sword training. So playful, and very cute! I couldn’t help but smile as I was reading it, and I certainly can’t wait to see what sort of adventure Kiora and Prince Emane will have in the next installment.

    Fans of Fantasy will fall in love with the characters and the world created in Wings of Arian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    It's probably no secret that I'm not don't typically read fantas

    It's probably no secret that I'm not don't typically read fantasy books. Having said that, I was a little nervous about reading WINGS OF ARIAN. How do you "judge" a book that may/may not be good, if it's not what you normally enjoy reading? But guess what?

    I liked WINGS OF ARIAN! I found it to be a lively, enchanting story with engaging characters. Main characters Kiora and Emane were adorable, funny, and fierce. Kiora is a girl who is feared for her ability. She has no idea what she's doing, but she's willing to risk her life to save others. Kiora's Protector, Prince Emane, is a non-magical being trying to survive and defend in a magical world. He's honorable and brave, yet confused and vulnerable. I loved that about him! I loved that Emane actually expressed his vulnerabilities. I found Kiora and Emane's relationship to be fun and charming. At first, like many great partners/couples, they are very antagonistic. But as they get to know one another better, they find respect and friendship. And the romance? Wings of Arian is not heavy on romance, but what there is of it is so endearing. I almost forgot, DRAGONS! There are dragons in this book, Morcant in particular was awesome.

    Did I love everything about WINGS OF ARIAN? No, I didn't. When the story begins, the main characters Kiora and Emane are told that "Evil" is coming. But I didn't know what that "Evil" was, it's not specifically explained. And, we are never told exactly when Kiora was discovered to be The Solus, the one who will save her people from evil. I just wasn't sure exactly what was going on in this world; what was a Guardian, a Protector, a Solus, what was this "Evil" that was being referred to in a general sense. I will also say that I did feel the story ran a bit long. There was a lot that happened after the big climax that might have been saved for book two.

    Despite all that, once WINGS OF ARIAN gets rolling and the details start to tighten up, I found it to be quite enjoyable. The story was by turns interesting, fun, and tense. The characters were extremely likeable and I found myself smiling quite a lot. I will be excited to learn what happens next.


    Favorite Quote:

    " 'I have had a very hard time getting used to you, that is true. But I have never met anybody like you, Kiora. You really are remarkable.' His hand started to reach out to her cheek again and then realizing there were no tears he stopped, bringing it reluctantly back down. Kiora's stomach ached in response. Looking down at the ground he finished, 'And not just because of your magic either.' " (eARC, 35%)

    " 'Do you know,' he asked, 'that you are only the second person to ever ask me what I want?' His eyes searched hers, moving even closer. Her eyes fluttered shut, too scared to breathe. 'Yes,' he whispered, brushing his lips against hers, 'I want to protect you.' " (eARC, 35%)


    " 'You are not a non-magical being, remember? Let your magic help you.' She touched his forehead, 'Change what's in here.' She touched his heart, 'and listen to what is in here,' she touched the band wrapped around his arm, 'and feel what is in here.' " (eARC, 54%)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1