Customer Reviews for

Wings of Fire (Inspector Ian Rutledge Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Interesting for history buffs as well as detective story fans.

Todd has insight into the effects of injury and combat fatigue on soldiers of WWI and their reentry into society in the early part of the 20th century. The story is good and Rutledge's involvement in it is believable without being heavy handed. I'm looking forward to ...
Todd has insight into the effects of injury and combat fatigue on soldiers of WWI and their reentry into society in the early part of the 20th century. The story is good and Rutledge's involvement in it is believable without being heavy handed. I'm looking forward to No. 3.

posted by 10701006 on May 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Much better than the first volume

A little predictable. Still long winded in conversation. Volume 3 is even better though.

posted by Onthefly on July 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Interesting for history buffs as well as detective story fans.

    Todd has insight into the effects of injury and combat fatigue on soldiers of WWI and their reentry into society in the early part of the 20th century. The story is good and Rutledge's involvement in it is believable without being heavy handed. I'm looking forward to No. 3.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    Loved it

    This is a very good book. Read all of this writers work.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Superior mystery - and I do mean MYSTERY

    I was less than impressed with Todd's first Ian Rutledge mystery, primarily because his resolution (and the identity of the killer) came quite literally from nowhere. But Todd seems to have hit his stride with his sophomore entry. Rutledge is still on the outs - to put it mildly - with his superior in Scotland Yard, and is sent by him to fulfill a request made by an influential family in Cornwall. Were a series of recent deaths accidental or suicide? Everyone seems to think that they were one or the other, but the more Rutledge finds out the more he becomes convinced that the truth is quite different - and far more sinister - than what the Yard and the locals believe. Unlike the previous novel, the solution to this mystery is completely logical - but there are a lot of false leads and convolutions that didn't let me guess the truth until very close to the end. Rutledge's "alter ego" - Hamish, the Scotsman he had to have shot for cowardice during World War I, and who now "lives" inside Rutledge's head - is somewhat less annoying than in the first entry in this series, but in his way he assists Rutledge in arriving at the truth. I am definitely looking forward to reading more novels in this series, but I wish that Todd would get rid of Bowles, Rutledge's idiot of a superior officer. The man seems to serve no purpose other than to set up the conditions for Rutledge to travel to the scene of the crime, and his personality is nothing short of a pompous ass.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Much better than the first volume

    A little predictable. Still long winded in conversation. Volume 3 is even better though.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Inspector Rutledge series

    enjoyed all the books I have read in the Inspector Rutledge series - very much

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Intriguing!

    This #2 book about Inspector Rutledge was very intriguing because it had me guessing until the very end of who killed the sister/writer and her brother and a second younger brother. Each clue was placed carefully throughout the book, yet I didn't guess the ending. I never read the ending first, like some readers do. I prefer to work the clues and see if my deduction is what the author intended. It is a pleasure to read of this post WWI time period that has no technology. TV was not invented until the 1940s,so it is not mentioned either. I envision the English countryside as well-described. The book takes me back to a time when people had 'real relationships/people interactions' and worked their gardens as both a hobby and for food production after WWI. A 'must read' for new Charles Todd fans. I have ordered book #3 and plan to read this series. I have read all four of the Bess Crawford books (#5 yet to be released). I know I will enjoy jotting down the Inspector's clues and see if I can 'deduct' his ending as he discovers it also. A great book that was hard to put down! I would recommend this book for a book club discussion group and it is for mystery readers who enjoy intricate details to a plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Excellent characterization, very obvious murderer

    The writing and characterization merit 5 stars, but the murderer is glaringly obvious very early in the book. So much so that it strains the reader's credulity to believe Rutledge could go so far wrong for such a long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    BOOK 5 1/2 OR 6: THE LOST TRIBES PART 3 LAST ONE

    IRONWING? "WAIT. ARE YOU KIDDING ME?" "Nope," The IronWing smiled. "Wait. Then where do you live?" "Jade Mountain, though now I'm scared. My dad said the mountain would collaspe sooner or later and our kind would be forever lost. Stonemover, I heard is the father of one of the dragonets in the prophecy and protects the secret. You are one of them too, am I right?" "Uh, yea. Sunny is the one you're talking about," he said. I am tired...so I'll do more of these later.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Only one will remain

    The sky will fall, the ground will shake, the stars burn out, and seasons change, the time will pass, and beauty fade, but all my love(for gems) will remain! ~Nightfury

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Icekit

    The white, fluffy, lone kit wanders in.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Battle cave

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Warriors den

    More then 8 moons or older

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Highly recommend!

    This 2nd Ian Rutledge novel is just as well written as the first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Starpelt to rainstar URGENT!!!!

    Fiercepaw needs your help he broke his leg and cant move!!hes at result one come quick!!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Waxwing

    He nods.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    H

    He smiles one last, regretful smile, then leaves.


    ……=[Featherdust]=……

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Spiritheart

    Sat

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Rnstar

    Yeah. You still on?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Brightpaw

    Im ready to train

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Jauth

    A golden dragon with razorlike wings. Large and nicely toned legs. Execlent flyer

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3