BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Wizard's Wings (Merlin Saga Series #5)

Average Rating 5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Sorta sad ending

    The whole book is great, but the end is dissapointing and rather sad. The best book in the series in my opinion is The Fires of Merlin, or The Seven Songs of Merlin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Amazing series MORGAN B.

    An amazing series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Merl Meriln

    Meriln is the best book i have ever read in the hole world....loovvveeee it!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Merlin ss Merlin saga

    Amazing series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Awesome series.

    Just bought it and cant wait to read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    I havent read yet

    I love tis series and this is the next book. Yay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Amazing series!

    I have read all of the books leading up to this one, and i have to say, its better than Harry Potter!! Great series. Great book! I highly reccomend this book to any fantasy/adventure fans, especially if you have read about the actual Merlin. This one particular book reveals many secrets about Merlin, and the others like Rhia and... oops! Spoilers! Mmm heartbread and larkon juice... you'll figure out what those are if you read the books! Tempting no? Read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Fifth Installment in the Marvelous "Lost Years Of Merlin" Series By: T.A. Barron

    The Wings Of Merlin is the fifth installment in the Lost Years Of Merlin series, taking place in the ancient land of Wales and the mystical land of Fincayra in the late childhood years of Merlin. The series starts around the time when Merlin finds his powers, which he first believes to be cursed. As Merlin grows older, and more powerful, so do his challenges. All of his challenges are a part of defeating Rhita Gawr, the wicked spirit warlord wanting to connect the universes and then control them all. In this book, Stagmar, Merlin's father and corrupt former king, has broken free of his prison and is trying to find Merlin's mother who he believes has betrayed him and been a traitor. As well as this, as the great spirit and enemy of Rhita Gawr, Dagda, claims, the Earth and Fincayra's orbits are going to come so close that the two lands shall nearly touch and a doorway shall open and if anyone were to cross it, it would cause great peril. Young Merlin must gather all of the dismissive Fincayrans will not listen to him and band together.

    I consider this whole series, masterful, though sometimes repetitive. As the series progresses more characters possessing unique characteristics are introduced, adding wonderful spices to T.A. Barron's magical stew. The structure of each book and story is similar, but T.A. Barron knows exactly how to repeat a story but change it just enough to seem familiar but still capture and keep your interest.

    Reviewed By: Leon Bravely

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2009

    Wings of Merlin is a Wounderful Book

    I would recommend this book to people who love magic and witchcraft and want to learn more about Merlin's past. When I read it some things surprised me for I didn't know all about Merlin's past. It starts with him learning that the place he lives Fincayra is in trouble for the Otherworld wants to take over it and control it. So Merlin and his friends have to protect it and learn how to get their wings back. Merlin goes to the Forgotten Island and learns that because the humans and other creatures abused the wings the wings were taken away. So the only way to get them back is to gather all the creatures together and destroy the Otherworld and rejoice together. Then when everyone had gathered together the fight broke out. It was a long and difficult battle but Merlin and his friends won. They all started to rejoice and then they got their wings back but Merlin had a choice to make. He could stay and keep his wings or go follow a prophecy and go to Britannia to give his sword to the king and loose his wings. It was a difficult choice but he decide to give up his wings and go to Britannia to give his sword to the chosen king.( We know that king to be King Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table)He didn't want to leave but he did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2006

    Great Book

    Lats year I picked up the series about two months before school ended. During that period I finished books 1-4 and loved them but I never got to The Wings of merlin until late october this year. The Merlin Series is a great series for anyone who likes magic, mythical creatures and fantasy in general.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2004

    great series

    This is a great series, I have only read the first two but I am going to read on. Great description and adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2003

    written by AMD, a 17yr old bookworm

    I couldn't think of anything cool and catchy to put into the headline because for me it is too hard to put into words how awesome this book is. I picked up the first installment when it first came out and I'm still reading it today. The school library is getting mad at me because im constantly checking it out and no one else is getting a chance to read it. but i finally saved up enough money thanks to christmas to do some major bn.com shopping. The final installment of the series is just timeless. The forever struggle of good vs. evil, light vs dark, life vs death thing still grabs me and drags my soul right into the book until i feel like im right in the middle of the action. Elen is the very figure of Celtic druidic knowledge, a healer historian and mother figure not only to her own children but to all children such as young and resorcefull Lleu. Rhia(nnon) is literally forest personified. Her very actions are similar to trees and her ability to use the Orb of Fire ( though limited ) is almost equal to the way that the forest uses sunlight (though limited). Hallia is lovelier than ever and her own love for merlin pulls you in even farther into the world of fincayra. Cairpre is (well) just like elen which is why i feel that their love for eachother blossomed so quickly. Trouble, through a miniscule part, shows that even those that have passed on are still with us in spirit. Dagda's troubles show that nothing in this world is perfect, everything must give way to something else or else the balance is gone forever and everything is destroyed. Finally, I get to Merlin, or should i say...wait no I wont give out merlins secret name just yet. for you who havent read it must learn it through the book. get ready for an amazing read that will drag you into the world of Fincayra and show that as always seeing isnt believing, believing is seeing for you have to believe in magic before the magic of this book (and all the other books) can pull you into a world, as Elen said, 'isnt wholly of earth nor wholly of heaven, but an in between place'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2003

    Great Book

    I started reading this book when I had just finished Rainbow Six, and I was in the library looking for a new book. I found this book. I got sucked into it right away and finished it in just 2 days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2003

    Brilliant Barron

    I don't know what this world was like with out this book! All the threads of the saga are woven together in a magnificent cloth inside this wonderful read. When I shut the book for the final time i was dissapointed because it was over and there were no more books. T.A Barron is brilliant! I loved how many of the aspects of this story turned out to be things that would later appear in the King Aurthur story. His descriptions of nature were great. If I didn't know better I would have thought I was out side. This author has talent beyond recconing and I can only hope that he continues to writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2003

    Merlin

    When I started reading this series, It was just because, it caught my eye. I was just finishing the Harry Potter series (for the second time)and I was in the library looking for a book. I love almost anything fiction, especially things that have to do with magic, so, I decided to read this. As I read through the series, I began to really enjoy the characters, the plot, and I was driven to tears by the choice Merlin made at the end of the 5th book. I would reccomend this book to anyone who hasn't read it, and so far, I can truthfully say that it is one of the best books I have ever read. Now I am starting to try to combine aspects from many of the books I've read to write a book myself called, Skysong and River's Tears, a book about a young girl in a magical world, who searches for a way to become accepted into her family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2002

    Very Deep Magic

    I just finished reading these books, and I'm very glad that I did. Merlin is known to us as a great wizard, but everyone who becomes that much has to get there first. Merlin has many problems as a child; problems around him and inside him which aren't always visible on the surface. The detirmination that starts everything is Merlin's longing to find his true identity. What his name is, who his family is, where he is from; but most of all, where he truly belongs. Sometimes Merlin even finds out that the problem he is faced with is only the cover and he hasn't even glanced at the inside of the book. Though these books may prove tiring at times, then end always makes you think how glad you are that you read it, and how many hidden messages and meanings there are. Also is the true show of love, loyalty, bravery, determination and most of all the proof that not all bad is totally evil and not all good can be seen from a distance, or even up close. And that sometimes, you have to be on the verge of loosing everything, to know what is right and what you stand for. Each problem Merlin faces, each new thing he understands has made me understand a little more and wonder a lot more. These books have made me realize many things about life and how to deal with those problems that lie so deep in your heart that you want to ignore them and not have to dig them out. I could go on forever writing pages and pages, but most of it can not be written, not described in words because they are such deep feelings, so to fully get the splendor out of these books you must read them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2002

    Brilliant

    As a reader of countless books, The Wings of Merlin truly shone beyond any other work of literature I've ever encountered. Blending craftiness, complexity, sorrow, and happiness, T.A. Barron brought forth a well written conclusion to The Lost Years of Merlin series. Never the less, he also introduced Merlin's future in further tales.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2002

    i recomend this book to everyone

    i absoutly loved this book. i've always enjomed fantacy, so when i stumbled into the first book of this series (the lost years of merlin) in my school library i decided to give it a try. after reading the first book i was hooked. well anyway i worked my way through the series and when i came to this book i couldn't wait to read it. this book was very emotional, the characters were well devloped, and answers a few unanswered questions. it also brings back a few un-expected characters. i however would have prefered it if barron had taken into consideration the early childhood he had given merlin. i also feel this book was written backwards with a happy begining and a sad ending. the book starts out with merlin and hillia meeting up with rhia and having a happy reunion. next dagda apears to merlin in a dream and merlin's whole quest for this book is layed out for him. after a while merlin and rhia set out to find their mother and capree. when they arrive they find they're mother bent over a young child who's ear was severed by a new soward armed foe. as the story progresses the characters each go in seperate ways in order to defeat rhita gawr once and for all. they each play an important role in his defeat and with stagmar on the loose they have to be extra careful. not to mention the new foe who only wants to see merlin die. merlin travels to the forgotten island and in doing so regains the lost wings hince the title of the book. then they all (merlin, capree, elen, rhia, arbassa, scully, hillia, gwennia, and eaven they're giant friend,lets not forget trouble, dagda, and more)meet to fiht rhita gwar. he is defeated and nearly all of fincyra is lost; well becomes part of the spirit world. the end is extreemly sad with capree's death and rhia & elen traveling to the world made from fincyra, hillia staying in fincyra and becoming part of the spirit world, and merlin traveling to merlin's island makes the ending truly sad. to be completely honest after having read the first four i wept openly in spypathy for merlin because he had to sacrafice all that he loved to fufill his destany.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2002

    Good, but Could be Better

    The Wings of Merlin was great, but compared to the other books of the series, it definitely wasn't the best Barron could do. It was too abrupt of an end, and the plot wasn't as good as the first few books. Perhaps if Barron had made this the last book in a seven book series it would have flowed a little better, but even so, the ending was very abrupt. First of all, the gap between Merlin of The Mirror of Merlin, the previous book, is very large--almost too large. The growth of character from the first few books was very gradual, and it seems odd that Merlin has mautred so much between Mirror and Wings. And there also is very little character development. I think what has made Merlin such a good character in this epic is that he has so many faults, and is so believable. He's selfish, he's arrogant, but you still like him very much. Now granted, after all these adventures Merlin should have learned a lot, but Merlin seems almost fake now--like I said before, he's changed so much since the previous book, and his new heroism is almost unreasonable because it seems so sudden. And then there is also the issue of Merlin and Hallia's relationship. It was too overdone--Barron should have made it more subtle, but it was almost 'mushy.' Hallia lacks character. In the Fires of Merlin, where she originally appeared, she was a deer girl who hated humans. This gradually transitioned into someone who trusted humans in the Fires, then someone who loved Merlin in the Mirror, but in Wings there is no character development. There is nothing unique about her. She seems unsuited for her role, because Barron wants her to have importance, yet does not give her much characterization like he gives Rhia and Elen. She just seems uninteresting. Furthermore, she is eclipsed by Rhia, who is so well-developed and more likeable. Now one of the major pluses of Wings is that it does such a good job of bringing all the characters back into the novel, so Rhia is back. In Fires and Mirror, she, Elen, and Caipre had pretty much disappeared, but they are back in Wings. I know I really missed those three, because while Hallia was all right, she never seemed enough to replace them. Another thing I didn't really like that begun in Fires and is most developed in Wings--Elen falling in love with Caipre. While Stangmar did make a terrible mistake in turning to Rhita Gawr and agreeing to kill Merlin, it was all for Elen. Very reasonably she would be angry at Stangmar, but my opinion of her went down a bit because she fell in love with Caipre. She had previously described Stangmar's love for as true, and it seemed her love for him was true--if she did not forgive him, she could of at least loved no other man for the rest of her life. That would have made me like her character more because of her loyalty. But instead she fell in love with Caipre, and when she said to Caipre, 'You, my poet, have given me something Stangmar never gave me,' it just felt wrong. Stangmar had not wronged her--he had always loved her. She should have at least felt she could never love another man again because while she couldn't forgive him, she had loved him too much. Compared to the others, this book had too much 'forced emotion.' In the previous novels, Barron had been very good about not overdoing emotions, and letting his events create the emotions. Here, however, he seems to have made things happen to create emotion, when he should have made them happen contribute to the story. When both Caipre and Stangmar died, it was terribly overdoing things, and Barron's description in these scenes seem as if he wanted the reader to feel sorry. But he doesn't realize the readers are supposed to naturally feel sad. What made it seem overdone was Caipre did not need to die. Having Stangmar die to save Elen is understandable, because it adds a tragic flair to him. Yet Caipre's death was completely unnecessary, especially considering Merlin could have saved him, but the reason he didn't was Caipre to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2002

    The ending of the lost years of Merlin Series

    This book brings an end to the merlin series with the adventre merlin is in love with Hallia and it shows. In this book the spirit world opens to Fincayra, and evil forces ty to take over. All of Fincayra came to help even the trees! Also a man with blades as arms is murdering children all over and Merlin comes to help. it turns out to be a rival of the past. He defeats his rival, and goes to the battle, but before that he plants the seed his older self gave him in the Mirror of Melin. he plants it on the forgotten isle, and leaves I dont want to ruin it so i will tell you no more accept that Merlin will have to make a decision to follow his destiny, which seperates him from his true love. And that the secret of the wings are revealed, an fincayra is changed forever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3