Customer Reviews for

Wings of Morning (These Highland Hills Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Wings of Morning

Wings of Morning is a fantastic book for any time. It is a Christian book, but most importantly a touching story.

Scottish heiress Regan MacLaren was married for a day before she lost her husband. Her husband's brother, Walter, claims that he was shot by Iain Campbel...
Wings of Morning is a fantastic book for any time. It is a Christian book, but most importantly a touching story.

Scottish heiress Regan MacLaren was married for a day before she lost her husband. Her husband's brother, Walter, claims that he was shot by Iain Campbell. As a result, Walter plans revenge and the way he will gain it is by shooting Iain. Just after Walter sets out, Regan realizes that she can't let him do such a sinful thing, so she follows him straight into a storm. During the storm, Regan falls off her horse and loses her memory.

When she wakes up, Regan finds herself at Iain Campbell's home. Under his mother's careful care, Regan slowly begins to recover, but her memory remains missing. Iain is wary of this girl he found in his fields and he tries to stay away from her, but he finds it difficult. Gradually, they grow closer.

But when Regan regains her memory, she has to decide what to do. She has a duty to her dead husband, but she can't believe that Iain is really capable of murder.

Filled with suspense and mystery, Wings of Morning will keep you reading and wanting more.

posted by Courtney-Nicole on May 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good read but too long

I liked this book better than the other ones but to me personally it seems like it takes to long to get to the ending. I'm the type of person that I like it when the characters meet, strugle, love happy ending. This book was well written but it was meet struggle, strugg...
I liked this book better than the other ones but to me personally it seems like it takes to long to get to the ending. I'm the type of person that I like it when the characters meet, strugle, love happy ending. This book was well written but it was meet struggle, struggle, struggle, struggle, happy ending. But all together I like the books and characters in them.

posted by JLMaughan on October 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted May 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wings of Morning

    Wings of Morning is a fantastic book for any time. It is a Christian book, but most importantly a touching story.

    Scottish heiress Regan MacLaren was married for a day before she lost her husband. Her husband's brother, Walter, claims that he was shot by Iain Campbell. As a result, Walter plans revenge and the way he will gain it is by shooting Iain. Just after Walter sets out, Regan realizes that she can't let him do such a sinful thing, so she follows him straight into a storm. During the storm, Regan falls off her horse and loses her memory.

    When she wakes up, Regan finds herself at Iain Campbell's home. Under his mother's careful care, Regan slowly begins to recover, but her memory remains missing. Iain is wary of this girl he found in his fields and he tries to stay away from her, but he finds it difficult. Gradually, they grow closer.

    But when Regan regains her memory, she has to decide what to do. She has a duty to her dead husband, but she can't believe that Iain is really capable of murder.

    Filled with suspense and mystery, Wings of Morning will keep you reading and wanting more.

    30 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Good read but too long

    I liked this book better than the other ones but to me personally it seems like it takes to long to get to the ending. I'm the type of person that I like it when the characters meet, strugle, love happy ending. This book was well written but it was meet struggle, struggle, struggle, struggle, happy ending. But all together I like the books and characters in them.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A very special love story

    In 1556 heiress Regan MacLaren marries her childhood friend Drummond, but halts their lovemaking when her drunken groom acts brutish in front of his equally intoxicated friends and brother Walter. The next day Regan learns that Drummond was murdered by the laird of Clan Campbell Iain when he went on a raid to obtain a bride gift for her, was caught, surrendered, and was cowardly killed. Walter demands justice, but insists their poor clan cannot obtain such from the likes of the mighty Campbells. Instead he waits to abduct Iain at an opportune moment when they can bring him stealthily to justice at their keep.----- Regan worries when Walter leads a party to snatch Iain so she follows. She stumbles and is found by Iain¿s men who bring the injured woman to their chieftain. Regan suffers from amnesia, but quickly Iain and her fall in love. However, once she learns who she is, she will need to decide between her clan in marriage or the Campbells not realizing that Walter plans to take away her choices.----- WINGS OF MORNING is a terrific sixteenth century Scottish romance starring a delightful cast that brings to life the feuds and pacts of These Highlands Hills. The story line contains a bit of a mystery as to whether Iain really murdered Drummond and if not who did, but clearly the relationship between the laird and the amnesiac make for a fun tale as he wonders what will happen to them once she regains her memory. The return of the lead couple from CHILD OF THE MIST augments a fine historical tale that will have readers pondering how the diabolical Walter will bring justice to Iain and take Regan as his.----- Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    Recommended Reading!

    Although not as interesting to me as the first book in the series, I still found it hard to put down. i appreciate Ms. Morgan's application of Christian ethics throughout all of the books of hers I have read. As a Scotsman and a Campbell, I love the stories of the Highlands in a much simpler, although more cruel, time. It is one book I would not be ashamed for anyone to see me reading anywhere I am.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Great book!

    Another great book by Kathleen Morgan. I was afraid it wouldn't be a good as the first book - but it was! Off to read the third!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    What a great read!

    This whole series was great! I enjoyed every book! I don't want to give anything away, but these books inspired me to see things a little differently.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Very clean

    The stories in this series are quite good and no sex to speak of.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Sweet love

    What a great second book in this series. I was very excited to read Ians story! Not quite as much adventure as the 1st book, but still very fast paced and a fabulous read! He is an amazing man of God & just seeing his quiet assurance in God & what God (or who) God has for him was my favorite aspect. I don't want to give away any of the story so I wont say more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Wings of morning Wings of morning

    A good read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Help

    I really want to read this book i read the first one dont have the money to buy it will somone help me with my wishlist ill keep looking at these posts and see if someone will help me with tjis task i would greatly appreciate it :)

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    highly recommended

    The heroine has a believable personality and her journey toward love and faith is entertaining and inspiring. The setting in Scottish highlands is beautifully described and interesting historical people are included in the well written story. A good romance with passion and purity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    I loved this book i could not put it down the entire time. So if your looking for a great Christian love story this is it. I even cried at the end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Great book.

    This is a continuation of These Highland Hills series, and this second book is excellent. The story is filled with drama, mystery, murder, passion, and love. Because my ancestors were from Scotland, I especially enjoy reading books that contain Scotland's history, clan activities, and lifestyle--and this series does NOT disappoint me. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Very good.

    I liked the part where Reagen sent all the clansmen out because she didn't want to be watched while the marriage was consumated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    It's a great book.

    You don`t want to stop reading until you finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Uplifting

    It is good to read these stories of inspiration and overcoming odds....It gives one hope that there is still merit to the saying that good overcomes evil...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Enjoying the second book!

    Really great read. I just started the 3rd book :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Another exvcellant book in this series!

    Based in Scotland, this series is an excellant protrayal of love at its best. The hardships to learn what you can do and what you need to leave to God to do is very relevant to the story. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    Great Read

    I enjoyed reading all three of the Highland Hills Series. Kathleen Morgan writing has a good flow and keep you interested. I would like more Highland Hills to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6