Customer Reviews for

Wings of Wrath (Magister Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The second book in a trilogy Wings Of Wrath brings back characte

    The second book in a trilogy Wings Of Wrath brings back characters such as witch Kamala who makes a connection with magister Rhys.  Many other characters such as Rhys half sister  Queen Gwynofar.  There is political intrigue, war, a little romance, magic and evil supernatural beings.




     I read this not knowing it was second book in a trilogy so the characters were unfamiliar to me. I began to like the characters Kamala and Rhys together although not liking how it ended up.  It took awhile to warm up to Queen Gwynofar and of course there was the evil queen you love to hate.  




     I think reading this first may have affected my thoughts on the Wings Of Wrath because it took reading more then half way through to connect with anyone or anything in the book.  I wished that there was some cheerful moments in the book and there really wasn’t.  There wasn’t a recap of the first book that some series do.




     I would say that reading this did not make want to read the rest of the series or go back and read the start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    Good story line - try it out!

    Pretty good .... I wanted to give it a 3.5 but ... no half stars can be used. Nicely written story. Good characters. Different take on magic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Wonderful!

    Creative and compelling! I read her books till I am too tired to meep my eyes open!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    Not what you would expect from the first book

    The shift of the perspective is amazing. The first book concentrated on the adventures of Kamala with some background information on world around her. This book has increased the scope to the goings on in a much wider range, and Kamala is just a minor character. I would say that it almost a book that prepares reader to the adventures of the next book, but because so many new (and old but seen in a new light) characters needed to be introduced the whole book is not what you would call an adventure book. My rating might have been a little high but that's because there is some spill from the first book, and because there is an expectation of the next book which could be great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    I found the second book in the Magister Series to be even better than the first one.

    Some of the plot twists introduced with the first novel are finally beginning to unravel. But not enough that you know what is going to happen. The writing is strong and so are the characters. The story draws you in from the very first page, and leaves you wanting more all the way through to the end. I am glad I decided to pick up this series and look forward to the conclusion.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    enjoyable quest fantasy

    Kamala the witch understood the use of spells by females drained them with each deployment of their life essence until they died. However, instead of death, she changes into an immortal Magister in spite of no record of a female ever being such. She worries that the Souleaters with their wasting disease have returned in full force.<BR/><BR/>Kamala knows they were defeated once before, but has no idea how. She desperately rushes off to the only place where the needed information may exist, the northern barrier, the Wrath of the Gods, to learn the truth though she has little hope of finding anything useful. However, she learns much more than she wanted to know; returning with a dreadful prophecy that can only mean war with little chance of victory for her side.<BR/>---<BR/>Book Two of the Magister Trilogy (see FEAST OF SOULS) is an enjoyable quest fantasy, but also suffers from the middle book syndrome as no major thread is closed out, but instead left dangling for the final tale. Still, C.S. Freidman¿s paints a grim world with a differing morality as most magic practitioners, especially females, pay the price for using enchantments with their lives. This over time suicidal tendency that life is expendable sets the tone in which what appears malevolent to readers is the norm in this society in which there are no heroes or villains (except perhaps the anomaly Kamala) only opponents as survival of the fittest actually is survival of the amoral shrewdest.<BR/>---<BR/>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2