Customer Reviews for

The Winner

Average Rating 4
( 212 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Not fantastic, but it is a lot of fun

David Baldacci proved his mastery of the modern thriller with Absolute Power and Total Control. The Winner was released in 1998 and looked to continue the Baldacci brand of storytelling. Destitute waitress LuAnn Tyler lives a ramshackle existence with her newborn daugh...
David Baldacci proved his mastery of the modern thriller with Absolute Power and Total Control. The Winner was released in 1998 and looked to continue the Baldacci brand of storytelling. Destitute waitress LuAnn Tyler lives a ramshackle existence with her newborn daughter in a poverty stricken southern town. At least that's the case until she is approach by a man named Jackson who promises her the unthinkable - a certain win in the national lottery of $100 million dollars. Her conscience tells her to say no, but before she can, events conspire to make Jackson's offer the only hope for LuAnn and her daughter. At the time, Jackson's conditions are acceptable, but ten years later, LuAnn decides to defy those conditions to take back her life with the hopes that the seemingly invincible puppet-master Jackson will be none the wiser.

The Winner drags a bit early on as it tries to flesh out every thought of every character, but once the action gets going, it is intense and fun. You will root for LuAnn, but just like her, you won't always know who is on her side. Baldacci is at his best when he is putting his characters in deadly situations where they don't know where the trouble is coming from and they need to find that one hole to squeeze through to safety - and The Winner offers that up more than once. The story could have been a bit tighter and there were moments where the plot stretched believability to the edge. However, this is frankly when Baldacci is at his best. Baldacci's stories are like McDonald's Big Macs - you know they aren't fine dining, but you love them for what they are. All in all, Baldacci provides exactly what should be expected from his novels - a thrill-ride of a story that keeps the pages turning.

posted by ChadAaronSayban on September 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable read.

Exciting, fast moving, and thought provoking.

posted by 5097237 on October 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 213 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    Not fantastic, but it is a lot of fun

    David Baldacci proved his mastery of the modern thriller with Absolute Power and Total Control. The Winner was released in 1998 and looked to continue the Baldacci brand of storytelling. Destitute waitress LuAnn Tyler lives a ramshackle existence with her newborn daughter in a poverty stricken southern town. At least that's the case until she is approach by a man named Jackson who promises her the unthinkable - a certain win in the national lottery of $100 million dollars. Her conscience tells her to say no, but before she can, events conspire to make Jackson's offer the only hope for LuAnn and her daughter. At the time, Jackson's conditions are acceptable, but ten years later, LuAnn decides to defy those conditions to take back her life with the hopes that the seemingly invincible puppet-master Jackson will be none the wiser.

    The Winner drags a bit early on as it tries to flesh out every thought of every character, but once the action gets going, it is intense and fun. You will root for LuAnn, but just like her, you won't always know who is on her side. Baldacci is at his best when he is putting his characters in deadly situations where they don't know where the trouble is coming from and they need to find that one hole to squeeze through to safety - and The Winner offers that up more than once. The story could have been a bit tighter and there were moments where the plot stretched believability to the edge. However, this is frankly when Baldacci is at his best. Baldacci's stories are like McDonald's Big Macs - you know they aren't fine dining, but you love them for what they are. All in all, Baldacci provides exactly what should be expected from his novels - a thrill-ride of a story that keeps the pages turning.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    Page Turner!

    This is the first David Baldacci book I ever read - wow! What a great, original story line and page turner. I have since recommended it to several friends who also agreed that it is a great book.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Enjoyable read.

    Exciting, fast moving, and thought provoking.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    recomend highly

    if i remember right...this was the book that got me started reading ALL David Baldacci books!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    The Best

    Best book I have ever read!! Why isnt a movie?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Great read..

    One of the best reads in quite some time. Highly recommended..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    GREAT READ! First audiobook I listened to. I'm still waiting o

    GREAT READ!

    First audiobook I listened to. I'm still waiting on the movie. On a scale of 1 - 10, I rate it an 11.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2012

    I am willing to suspend some belief, but this was a real effort.

    I am willing to suspend some belief, but this was a real effort. Way to implausible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Me

    Not my favorite book but, it was good just took awhile to get good.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    Great story with lots of twists and turns

    Rags to riches in a very unexpected way. However like every thing that seem too good to be true there are strings attached but the "Winner" is not to be underestimated. A good ride with a good ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2008

    The worst Baldacci I've ever read!!!

    There is absolutely nothing realistic about this book. How can anyone possibly control the lottery? Writers don¿t go to such extremes for any story. I hope my next baldacci book is not another fantasyland joke.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2004

    Wonder Woman Saves the Day

    This read is so ridiculous it's amusing. Baldacci seems to be on a woman's rights crusade. The heroine is virtually flawless. She is amazingly beautiful, has a knock-out body, a genious, stronger than any man she encounters, internationally savvy and the list goes on and on. It's condescending in it's shameless placating to women. A more realistic main character would have done wonders for this book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2004

    exccellent

    loved this book 628 pages of pure page turning suspense. this book kept me going strong for three days loved the characters, plus the storyline

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 1999

    Was he writing a screenplay here?

    As I started to get deeper and deeper into the book, it struck me 'The Winner' was written as if it were meant to be made into a movie. Nothing wrong w/ books being turned into films, except when, as in 'The Winner', some of the characters and situations come across as contrived.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2014

    highly recommended. Keeps you in suspense.

    After a bit of a long beginning introduction to all players with a bit too much detailed descriptions it turned into a magnetic book I didn't want to stop reading. The characters continued to provide action and the question, "What would I do if I was in that position?". As the story progressed, the guessing game continued as to who can be trusted. Then who will survive, right to the end.

    David Baldacci does it again. One of the best authors!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2014

    highly recommend

    Interesting, suspenseful, easy reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    A good starter for this writter

    Must of been one of his first novels. Didn't get to finish as my nook stopped working

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Recommended

    Mr. Baldacci kept me page turning as fast as I could. I kept saying "Oh, NO" I can't stop now. Fantastic book, no disappointment at all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Stipendous

    Love David Balducci.......Not to many books keep me riveted to my Nook like this one. Not much got done while I was rrading this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2014

    excellent story

    lept me on edge

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 213 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11