Customer Reviews for

The Winner

Average Rating 4
( 219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Not fantastic, but it is a lot of fun

David Baldacci proved his mastery of the modern thriller with Absolute Power and Total Control. The Winner was released in 1998 and looked to continue the Baldacci brand of storytelling. Destitute waitress LuAnn Tyler lives a ramshackle existence with her newborn daugh...
David Baldacci proved his mastery of the modern thriller with Absolute Power and Total Control. The Winner was released in 1998 and looked to continue the Baldacci brand of storytelling. Destitute waitress LuAnn Tyler lives a ramshackle existence with her newborn daughter in a poverty stricken southern town. At least that's the case until she is approach by a man named Jackson who promises her the unthinkable - a certain win in the national lottery of $100 million dollars. Her conscience tells her to say no, but before she can, events conspire to make Jackson's offer the only hope for LuAnn and her daughter. At the time, Jackson's conditions are acceptable, but ten years later, LuAnn decides to defy those conditions to take back her life with the hopes that the seemingly invincible puppet-master Jackson will be none the wiser.

The Winner drags a bit early on as it tries to flesh out every thought of every character, but once the action gets going, it is intense and fun. You will root for LuAnn, but just like her, you won't always know who is on her side. Baldacci is at his best when he is putting his characters in deadly situations where they don't know where the trouble is coming from and they need to find that one hole to squeeze through to safety - and The Winner offers that up more than once. The story could have been a bit tighter and there were moments where the plot stretched believability to the edge. However, this is frankly when Baldacci is at his best. Baldacci's stories are like McDonald's Big Macs - you know they aren't fine dining, but you love them for what they are. All in all, Baldacci provides exactly what should be expected from his novels - a thrill-ride of a story that keeps the pages turning.

posted by ChadAaronSayban on September 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable read.

Exciting, fast moving, and thought provoking.

posted by 5097237 on October 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Enjoyable read.

    Exciting, fast moving, and thought provoking.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Me

    Not my favorite book but, it was good just took awhile to get good.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 1999

    Was he writing a screenplay here?

    As I started to get deeper and deeper into the book, it struck me 'The Winner' was written as if it were meant to be made into a movie. Nothing wrong w/ books being turned into films, except when, as in 'The Winner', some of the characters and situations come across as contrived.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2014

    highly recommended. Keeps you in suspense.

    After a bit of a long beginning introduction to all players with a bit too much detailed descriptions it turned into a magnetic book I didn't want to stop reading. The characters continued to provide action and the question, "What would I do if I was in that position?". As the story progressed, the guessing game continued as to who can be trusted. Then who will survive, right to the end.

    David Baldacci does it again. One of the best authors!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    A good starter for this writter

    Must of been one of his first novels. Didn't get to finish as my nook stopped working

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    Disappointed

    I have read and loved lots of David Baldacci books. This is the first time I have been disappointed. It took FOREVER for the real story to get rolling, and once it finally did I was disappointed in the characters. The female protagonist was brilliant, preternatually strong, jaw-droppingly beautiful, graceful, and all the other only positive adjectives, plus she had a secret past to protect; same applies to the male protagonist - intelligent, highly skilled, handsome, etc., with a secret past. The villian is also brilliant, super-highly skilled, capable of anything, etc, etc. The characters were just to unreal and the story was too predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2007

    Not a fan of this one....

    The rating says it all....'okay, but not great.' I've read several of Baldacci's books - Total Control, Last Man Standing, Camel Club, Saving Faith and now this. The Winner rates at least one full star below all the others. Plot wasn't bad, but it was methodical and plodding I just did not feel the 'rush' from reading it. Again, 'ok, but not great.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2004

    Entertaining. A worthy read.

    While a decent read, the plot was a little over the top at times. Lu Ann is perfect, a little too much at times, but hey, this is fiction. Worth the price though because of the antogonist, Jackson. He is to be feared by all. It drags a little. Perhaps a good fill-in book when you just don't know what else to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2003

    ok

    did'nt Lu-Ann consider altering her somewhat altered identity before flying back to the US? which will somehow erase any trail leading to her true identity? or that will leave no iota of doubt among authorities. A GOOD AND QUICK READ THOUGH.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2001

    this book isn't as good as you may think

    this book, by the end, is extremely predictable. moreover, i started to become annoyed with the lead character by the end of the book as well. i feel that a great book leaves you spellbound months, days, or even years after you've finished it. 'the winner' doesn't do that to me. a great book is also one that you wish wouldn't have finished - it could go on for another 400 pages. when i finished this book i was extremely glad....i couldn't stand it any longer....and most of all, i wouldn't recommend it to anyone. but, for the first 3/4 of his work, it was a gem. i think baldicci's creativity got the best of him in the last 1/4 of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2000

    Not the Winner, Maybe Fourth Place

    The Winner doesn't stack-up to Baldacci's Absolute Power, The Simple Truth or Total Control. Lots of mystery and suspense, but the story seems to wander and be filled with way too much non-essential filler. Overall, The Winner is not a bad read, but certainly not Baldacci's best work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2000

    Not Bad ... Not Great

    For a light summer read, it's not bad, but don't expect tight writing or clear character development. Do yourself a favor, wait for the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2