Customer Reviews for

The Winner

Average Rating 4
( 203 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(105)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Page Turner!

This is the first David Baldacci book I ever read - wow! What a great, original story line and page turner. I have since recommended it to several friends who also agreed that it is a great book.

posted by 4249030 on July 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable read.

Exciting, fast moving, and thought provoking.

posted by 5097237 on October 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    Not fantastic, but it is a lot of fun

    David Baldacci proved his mastery of the modern thriller with Absolute Power and Total Control. The Winner was released in 1998 and looked to continue the Baldacci brand of storytelling. Destitute waitress LuAnn Tyler lives a ramshackle existence with her newborn daughter in a poverty stricken southern town. At least that's the case until she is approach by a man named Jackson who promises her the unthinkable - a certain win in the national lottery of $100 million dollars. Her conscience tells her to say no, but before she can, events conspire to make Jackson's offer the only hope for LuAnn and her daughter. At the time, Jackson's conditions are acceptable, but ten years later, LuAnn decides to defy those conditions to take back her life with the hopes that the seemingly invincible puppet-master Jackson will be none the wiser.

    The Winner drags a bit early on as it tries to flesh out every thought of every character, but once the action gets going, it is intense and fun. You will root for LuAnn, but just like her, you won't always know who is on her side. Baldacci is at his best when he is putting his characters in deadly situations where they don't know where the trouble is coming from and they need to find that one hole to squeeze through to safety - and The Winner offers that up more than once. The story could have been a bit tighter and there were moments where the plot stretched believability to the edge. However, this is frankly when Baldacci is at his best. Baldacci's stories are like McDonald's Big Macs - you know they aren't fine dining, but you love them for what they are. All in all, Baldacci provides exactly what should be expected from his novels - a thrill-ride of a story that keeps the pages turning.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    Great story with lots of twists and turns

    Rags to riches in a very unexpected way. However like every thing that seem too good to be true there are strings attached but the "Winner" is not to be underestimated. A good ride with a good ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2014

    excellent story

    lept me on edge

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    worth the read

    I always enjoy his books and this one didn"t dissapoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Another good book by David Baldacci. A lot of his books center around the DC area and concern politics and suspense. Since I reside in Virginia and have family in the Northern Virginia area where Mr. Baldacci resides, I love to read anything he writes because his books mentions locations I am very familiar with. This is book is a little different; but like most of his book it was hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Outrageously over the top but superbly entertaining anyway!

    LuAnn Tyler is quintessential Georgia "white trash" - a young, beautiful, uneducated and unmarried mother with a typical Southern drawl living in a beat-up trailer with Duane Harvey, a no-account beer-guzzling low-life drug runner! But she is sharp enough to realize that her meaningless life is a dead end and she's trying to find a way out for her daughter. <BR/><BR/>When a shadowy character known only as "Jackson" offers her the opportunity to win a $100 million jackpot in a national lottery long before the drawing takes place, she's not able to figure out how it will happen but her lack of education doesn't stop her from realizing that however it will be done is well outside of the law. <BR/><BR/>Despite her poverty, LuAnn holds onto her integrity. Although she has reached the decision to turn down Jackson's "offer", a violent encounter with Duane's "colleagues" in the drug trade turns nasty and she is forced to run from the long reach of Georgia law. The $100 million becomes an offer she can no longer refuse and with her winnings, LuAnn Tyler and her daughter become lifelong fugitives from US law and from "Jackson", the sociopathic criminal mastermind who can do anything - fix a national lottery and savagely kill anyone who stands in his way or who threatens his world wide empire. <BR/><BR/>These characters are so OVER-written as to have crossed into the realm of cartoonish caricatures - LuAnn Tyler, the brash Southern belle heroine; Jackson, the evil megalomaniac who is a master of disguise; Thomas Donovan, the super sleuth investigative reporter who doesn't know enough to recognize danger when he's knee deep in it; Matthew Riggs, the former hot shot FBI agent now in deep cover in a witness protection program; and Uncle Charlie, the retired boxer who has a soft spot in his heart for LuAnn and her daughter! But, what the heck, they are phenomenally entertaining and - darn it all - every reader is going to fall in love with LuAnn and will be on their feet cheering for her in her battle against Jackson, the FBI, the Georgia state police force and even the IRS. <BR/><BR/>And I wouldn't be the least bit surprised to find out that Baldacci also wanted to make a political statement about lotteries being an irresponsible regressive form of taxation that prey upon the weak represented in their totality by LuAnn and her daughter. I think Baldacci was talking about the very story that he had his reporter Donovan attempting to chase down. You know ... he could be right! <BR/><BR/>Highly recommended! <BR/><BR/>Paul Weiss

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    This was my first Baldacci book and I really enjoyed it. It was a really engaging read, although parts were a little far fetched, but usually these types of books are anyway. It had everything I like in a book: action, thrills, romance, and a satisfying ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2003

    Everyone's Fantasy Gone Wrong!

    This deliciously entertaining thriller has all the right ingredients: suspense, a strange but brilliant villain and a woman lifted out of poverty into privilege, but with a price. LuAnn Tyler is smart, beautiful, but desperately poor, working as a waitress and living with an abusive boyfriend and her greatly loved infant daughter. When a stranger offers her the chance to win millions of dollars in the national lottery, LuAnn's new life, which will ultimately lead her into danger as great as her wealth, begins.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2001

    Very Good Book

    This is very good book though the capability of the villain borders on unbelievable. He is a superhuman mastermind able to be everone and be everywhere. The main character is described over and over to the point where it is redundant. The plot moved very well and kept your interest right to end. I will read more of this auther.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2001

    slow starter but worth the effort

    it took me a while to get into the plot and I thought they could have gone into more depth in parts, but the 2nd half of the book was very suspenseful and made up for the shaky start. Very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2001

    The Winner is very good

    This is the 4th Baldacci novel I have read, ( Absolute Power, The Simple Truth, Saving Faith) and I really like the way the author develops his characters and storylines. The only criticism I have is with the endings which all seem to have a certain similarity to them. The intense action at the ending almost wears you out just reading about it. I understand his new hardback takes a little different direction which sounds good to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2000

    GREAT BOOK, ENJOY AND WAIT FOR THE MOVIE TO ROCK AND ROLL

    This was the first book that I read by David Baldacci, I just read because I watched the movie Absolute Power. I really enjoyed the book and it has a great ending, it was something different of what I have read lately, old plots in new forms. The last pages were great, a movie ending. I hope for sure that this author bring us new light, as he says I dont like to be a formulaic writer, I like to write what I am interested in. I hope for sure David Baldacci. Friends, I hope you enjoyed the book as I did, I read the Read Selected version and it was fast and very good. As I said I am waiting for the movie to come or better a mini series. For any discussion or message write to me at HE72RY@YAHOO.COM. THANKS AND GOOD NIGHT FELLOWS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2000

    Good Book Overall

    I really enjoyed reading this book, the first I have read by this author. I really enjoyed the action in the book, but at the same time I found myself thinking 'Oh now come on.' I felt that sometimes the fights were a little unbelievable, as far as the woman's power,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3