Customer Reviews for

The Winner

Average Rating 4
( 220 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(115)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Not fantastic, but it is a lot of fun

David Baldacci proved his mastery of the modern thriller with Absolute Power and Total Control. The Winner was released in 1998 and looked to continue the Baldacci brand of storytelling. Destitute waitress LuAnn Tyler lives a ramshackle existence with her newborn daugh...
David Baldacci proved his mastery of the modern thriller with Absolute Power and Total Control. The Winner was released in 1998 and looked to continue the Baldacci brand of storytelling. Destitute waitress LuAnn Tyler lives a ramshackle existence with her newborn daughter in a poverty stricken southern town. At least that's the case until she is approach by a man named Jackson who promises her the unthinkable - a certain win in the national lottery of $100 million dollars. Her conscience tells her to say no, but before she can, events conspire to make Jackson's offer the only hope for LuAnn and her daughter. At the time, Jackson's conditions are acceptable, but ten years later, LuAnn decides to defy those conditions to take back her life with the hopes that the seemingly invincible puppet-master Jackson will be none the wiser.

The Winner drags a bit early on as it tries to flesh out every thought of every character, but once the action gets going, it is intense and fun. You will root for LuAnn, but just like her, you won't always know who is on her side. Baldacci is at his best when he is putting his characters in deadly situations where they don't know where the trouble is coming from and they need to find that one hole to squeeze through to safety - and The Winner offers that up more than once. The story could have been a bit tighter and there were moments where the plot stretched believability to the edge. However, this is frankly when Baldacci is at his best. Baldacci's stories are like McDonald's Big Macs - you know they aren't fine dining, but you love them for what they are. All in all, Baldacci provides exactly what should be expected from his novels - a thrill-ride of a story that keeps the pages turning.

posted by ChadAaronSayban on September 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable read.

Exciting, fast moving, and thought provoking.

posted by 5097237 on October 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 115 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    derrel from RHS

    I love this book with all of my heart. Made me cry at the end. Please dont judge me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Quinton T. Per:3

    Bro like, i like love this book. MESSAGE! YAS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Winner! Thas what you are!

    Now go to the first result of prize to claim your prize.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Excellent storytelling!

    What a fun read. Who hasn't thought about hitting it big in the lottery. Well one person does in THE WINNER by David Baldacci but there is always a catch. How, who, what and where are all questions you'll be asking in this action packed thriller. I highly recommend it, and think I have found a new author to love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Balducci is terrific

    The winner is a fast paced and fascinating thriller! I HIGHLY recommend it. Will keep you at the edge of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Great book from beginning to end

    I enjoyed the characters & the suspense from beginning to end. Well done sir! Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    I really enjoy all of David Baldacci's books. I usually finish too quickly and then have to wait for his next book. You're almost tempted to go to the end to see how it ends but don't because it's always good to find out if you are able to figure out what's going to happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Very good read!

    A friend recommended this book and I'm glad she did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    Great book!

    I highly recommend this book. It was a true thriller and the characters were interesting as I routed for them and hoped they would prevail against the evil and uncertainty that haunted them throughout. This book was definitely worth the money and worth the time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    A must read

    This was the 1st book I read by this author and I have to say it was by far a great read. The stiry line was good and it kept me reading all night long, because I just couldn't put it down. Read it, you won't be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    I truly loved every word. Could not put it down!

    The first time I read this book, I fell in love with the author's writing. Many months later I picked up this book and read again. It was just as wonderful and entertaining as the first time. The second read was like visiting old friends. I highly recommend.

    E. F. Stortz
    Kenner, Louisiana

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2010

    It kept me stuck for all its lenght...

    I like this author, his fantasy and style. I will always look up to his novels...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Two thumbs up!!!

    I took this book with me on my holiday for a week, when i went skiing. I read the whole book that week! I loved it, such a page turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2008

    Riveting on the edge of the seat

    this is my first baldacci book n boy was it fantastic. just couldnt put it down keep me going for hours....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2006

    Excellent Read!!!!!!!

    I loved this book and the story I could feel myself opening up and getting involved in this book. It was different from my usual books I read romance but in was a bit of it in there but lots of supense and mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2006

    A Book that's unmatched

    When i first began reading Baldacci's novels, it took me about 2 months to finish them. This book was different in that it only took me 1 week to finish. The evil vilan is so sadistic, something that I havent found. This book is Baldacci's best novel. I also believe they said it kicked a lot of other writters grass.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2005

    Easy, FUN read!

    I thought this was an excellent novel. Baldacci had me up all hours of the night because I couldn't put the book down. Someone needs to make this a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2003

    Fun, Fast, and Entertaining

    David Baldacci comes through once again with an outstanding novel. I loved the characters he portrayed. LuAnn Tyler caught the hearts of every reader. The suspensful plot of a lottery fix is interesting and strange. Although it is a suspensful book, all you romance adicts will enjoy the relationship throwed into the story line. LuAnn's strong character is an inspiration for all women. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys action/adventure books and has time to read. You'll fly through this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2002

    Why someone wouldn't like this book is beyond me ... !!!

    'The Winner' is a very exciting book with many twists and turns that keep you on the edge of your seat for the entire length of the book. You would have to be in a Coma not to enjoy!!! I highly recommend this book and most of David Baldacci writtens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2002

    FANTASTIC !!!!!!!

    What a book!!!!! this was my first David Baldacci book but will NOT be my last the only problem is which one to read next. I very highly recomend this book. Full of twist and turns keeps you guessing. I will be talking about this book for a long time to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 115 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6