Customer Reviews for

Winning

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2006

    Impressive!

    I have now read both books by Jack Welch. After the first, I just had to read the second. I always find it interesting to read about the influential people in America. I recommend this to all people who are wanting to learn how to succeed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2005

    useful even below a CEO

    Jack Welch allows his points to be made and used to those of us not quite to the executive level(yet) unlike many books out there. I would recommend it to anyone trying to move up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2005

    Climb the ladder

    Good book filled with lots of experience. It's a book that will serve you well if you're on your way to the top of the corporate structure. As an entrepreneur, however, I like having my own business which this doesn't address. I just bought another book called Stop Working by Rohan Hall that's more suited for people who want to start their own business to become independently wealthy. Both books are excellent however Winning is targeted towards climbing the ladder and Stop Working towards becoming wealthy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    Win a free ipad

    Kiss your hand three times then post this to three other books then look under your pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2012

    Great Read!!! This book has changed the way I manage

    Welch begins Winning with an introductory section called "Underneath It All," which describes his business philosophy. He explores the importance of values, candor, differentiation, and voice and dignity for all. The core of Winning is devoted to the real "stuff" of work. This main part of the book is split into three sections. The first looks inside the company, from leadership to picking winners to making change happen. The second section looks outside, at the competition, with chapters on strategy, mergers, and Six Sigma, to name just three. The next section of the book is about managing your career—from finding the right job to achieving work-life balance. Welch's optimistic, no excuses, get-it-done mind-set is riveting. Packed with personal anecdotes and written in Jack's distinctive no nonsense voice, Winning offers deep insights, original thinking, and solutions to nuts-and-bolts problems that will change the way people think about work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    Finally the answers not found in "From the Gut"

    Thankfully, Jack gets to the source of is business genius. Something that was hinted at but not really well illucidated in "From the Gut". Wonder is Suzy is the difference?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    Winning Wins

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding

    Great read, Jack is one of the greatest of all time, I enjoyed reading his countless stories of success. What a great leader, it is obvious that he puts human capital at the front of his priorities.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2008

    A must read for anybody, not just business people...

    This book has given me so many insights, tips and ideas, I cannot even count them anymore. If I were to highlight the 'important' sections for future reference, I would have to literally highlight the entire book. Yes, it's that good! No matter where you are at a professional or personal level this book will increase your knowledge and it will serve as a reference/advice for many situations that are likely to come across in the course of your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2008

    A Managerial Essential

    If you really want to be a great manager one day and truly be viewed as a leader, this book can help build the one thing you will need the most - the right attitude. With a very well thought out structure, real world examples, relevant and interesting stories and a in your face attitude, Jack Welsh presents winning formulae for both senior managers to execute and aspiring managers to remember for days to come. I especially enjoyed the bits on the importance of lack and general lack of it in organizations. An honest recollection of his failures helps build a relationship with the author and his motivating, can do tone makes his achievements seem attainable. A fun read and highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2007

    Power packed with management strategies

    This is great book with management strategies on how to keep a business successful. It's about building Organization as well as people. It also tells about how candid feedback helps in developing people in the organization. There are some hard facts - must read for the ones who feel that building organization and people at a time is complex. It also talks about leadership is not having an MBA but the gut feeling to do right things at right time. No doubt, Jack is tigerwoods of management!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2007

    a reviewer

    Jack Welch, former General Electric CEO and chairman, is a legendary corporate mentor. Fortunately for readers, this book (which he wrote with Suzy Welch, his wife) provides a top-tier mentoring session. The book is well paced with a mix of you-are-here details and stories by one of corporate America's savviest minds. Welch is honest about his mistakes and his successes. The book's only shortcoming is the chapter on family-work balance, an area where Welch admits his weaknesses. Otherwise, his corporate policy discussions score an abundance of points. We highly recommend this book to senior executives and up-and-coming managers alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2006

    Jameson Thottam with a Winning Review

    Jameson Thottam with a Winning Review Question: Why Should I read yet another tell-all book by some CEO ? Answer: Because this one is short on stories and long on advice. Here's the Scoop $Jameson Thottam$ Jack Welch¿s 2001 bestseller Straight From The Gut was widely read, and then criticized, for being long on stories and short on any kind of actionable and practical advice. Not so for this 2005 soon-to-be bestseller, co-written by Jack and his newly acquired wife, Suzy. Advice = Jameson Thottam You want advice? You¿ll get it ¿ in a grab-bag full of goodies garnered throughout the career of probably the most influential and successful CEO of the 20th century. Unless you are some formulaic, number-crunching newbie MBA working at McKinsey you are unlikely to find anything in this book that is amazingly insightful. I doubt you will have an epiphany or a-ha moment. What the book will do is to make you think about how you can better apply and execute many of the things you are probably already doing. First Impressions with Jameson Thottam I found this book to be an easy and enjoyable read, almost as if I was actually having a conversation with Jack over a coffee or a fine whiskey. In fact, you can zip through this book so quickly it would be easy to miss the nuggets embedded within each chapter. So I¿d recommend you use a highlighter or take some notes to retain the goodies and make sure they transition from short-term to long-term memory. Conceptually I didn¿t have too many problems with any of the major points Jack made ¿ except for one. GE utilizes a process affectionately called ¿stack-ranking¿ where across the company you are rated as top 20%, middle 70% or bottom 10%. The bottom 10% get whacked or `managed out¿ fairly regularly ¿ and replaced by better candidates to improve the corporate gene pool. A great idea in theory until it is turned over to the spreadsheet brigade and people become subject to abuses of the system and human error or deliberate malice. Its one of those things you either love or hate. So yes ¿ you should absolutely manage people up or out, but not subject to artificial barriers. Contents ++ Jameson Thottam Jack focuses in on four main areas: 1. Underneath It All. Looking at mission, dignity, differentiation (aka stack ranking) and candor. 2. Your Company. Leadership, hiring winners, people management, letting go (firing), handling changes and crisis. 3. Competition. Strategy, budgeting, mergers, six sigma 4. Your Career. Finding the right job, getting a promotion, ¿that damn boss¿ and work/life balance. Then as a bonus Jack handles a few odds and ends that had been thrown at him over the years ¿ like ¿Hows your golf game.¿ , ¿Will you go to Heaven?¿ And what did I get out of it? Jameson Thottam - A determination to be more candid and use less ¿sugarcoating¿. - Some great ideas to use for hiring. - A renewed hatred of the budgeting ritual. - An appreciation for the ¿Right Job¿. So go ahead and win by getting this book, Jameson Thottam

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2006

    What's wrong with America!

    The nonsense in this book is what corporate America is doing to America. Traitors, everyone. Outsource, off-shore, pit worker against worker. It is obviously the affluent taking more and leaving less. And what is being left is, left overseas, in India. Soon, middle-class Americans will have no opportunities except to clean CEO's houses. SHAME!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2006

    BEAUTIFUL... I BREEZED THROUGH IT

    The beauty of this book is that it's really not just for those in the corporate world. You can take the lessons and apply them to a 3-person office if need be. 'Winning' is so enjoyable that I read it in just four days. I would recommend this to anyone, especially small business management who sometimes feel as if they have to settle for what they've been given to work with because their selection pool of possibilities often seems to be much more scarce than what large corporations enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2005

    Must read for everyone

    First of all this book is great for people who want to make their businesses bigger and more effective. The author explores every difficulties that may possibly appear and solutions to them. This solutions are not the theories most people write in management book. These are experiences of a man of one of the biggest and influenced companies in USA. Even though some of the problems might seem to be not appropriate for your business, you can defenitly learn a lot from it. The book is well writtenm very easy to understand, and makes you think about any issues you can come up with. Also this book helps to understand how to behave yourself in this world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2005

    Focused Welch

    I was expecting a book that merely covered some historical references to some of his business activities and perhaps contained some general platitudes. However, this book makes bold statements about broad policies you should take both as a manager and a leader. It's written with the straightforward, focused-topic style that I would expect from a management tome from the HBR - no surprise given his wife's past experiences. I would highly recommend this to managers, particularly for his elements of pragmatism (around six sigma and bad bosses) and the fuzzy pieces (on people management, strategy, and mission/values).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2005

    a must read/listen

    i found this book on CD to be the perfect commute book. During drives to job sites and back and forth to work, this book allowed me to see the business world through someone else's eyes. It allowed me to brainstorm while listening and i was able to come up with several good ideas/changes as i listed to the book on CD. a must read/listen for anyone looking to move up to or through management.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2005

    winning a bad book

    winning is a story that makes you lose it almost made me have rabies from it's ideas sometimes i wish i'd rather die than ever read this book so you'd rather win not reading this book.....goodbye airheads make the rite choice

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2