BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Winston's War: A Novel of Conspiracy

Average Rating 4
( 289 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(58)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

A very enjoyable Book

This provides a good insight to the period leading up to the second world war and Churchill becoming Prime Minister. It captures in detail the efforts made by Neville Chamberlain to win the peace at the expense of Czechoslovakia and the spiteful contempt that he and mos...
This provides a good insight to the period leading up to the second world war and Churchill becoming Prime Minister. It captures in detail the efforts made by Neville Chamberlain to win the peace at the expense of Czechoslovakia and the spiteful contempt that he and most others in the Government had for Churchill. The Gathering Storm DVD starring Albert Finney and Vanessa Redgrave also gives a good account of those times.

posted by 1671673 on July 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Could not finish this book. tried REAL hard to follow the story

Could not finish this book. tried REAL hard to follow the story, but was very bored. hoping the hubby will have a better review for it...

posted by Queenbeck on June 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 289 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A very enjoyable Book

    This provides a good insight to the period leading up to the second world war and Churchill becoming Prime Minister. It captures in detail the efforts made by Neville Chamberlain to win the peace at the expense of Czechoslovakia and the spiteful contempt that he and most others in the Government had for Churchill. The Gathering Storm DVD starring Albert Finney and Vanessa Redgrave also gives a good account of those times.

    26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very Interesting

    This was very interesting especially to the younger generation who have yet to really understand who Churchill was and how important he was in driving back the Germans from England.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Terrific Historical Novel

    The author goes to great pains to point out that the story is fictional, but the historical background is very accurate. It's very interesting to see World War II looming on the horizon from a British perspective. The historical incidents including the political intrigue among the parties and Churchill versus Chamberlain, all bear up if you look into them further. After reading this, I got the others by this author, too. It's intelligent historical fiction and tons of fun.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    Outstanding

    I don't normally read historical fiction but this one was a Free Fridays pick and I'm so glad I took this one. The characterizations of these historical figures were rich and well-rounded. I confess that the little I knew came mostly from my high school history classes and my judgments, formed long after the war was over, were basically "Winston Churchill good; Neville Chamberlin bad." It was great to have such balanced portraits of them and others around them that made me understand their motives much more clearly. I really commend Michael Dobbs for his even-handed treatment of these men and the dilemmas they faced in the moment. This would be a great book for anyone who wants to know more about the lead-up to World War II.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Outstanding

    The author has accomplished his goal of peaking the reader's interest in the subject matter. I found myself researching the characters in the plot and fully engrossed in the book. Great historical novel.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    Insightful reading

    Very interesting to be exposed to the politics leading up to WW2. Power, control, pettiness, conflicts of interest and human nature all playing a role in the British government.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very Highly recommended!

    I loved this book from the first page to the last. A fictional account of how Winston Churchill ended up being Prime Minister of England....or is it fiction?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Well written and entertaining. Readers of historical fiction should thoroughly enjoy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Interesting take of British politics at the outbreak of WW II.  

    Interesting take of British politics at the outbreak of WW II.  Well written and fast moving.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Slow beginning picks up halfway through

    I am "newby" to historical fiction and decided to give this book a try when it was a Free Friday selection a few months back. The rising action is very slow- lots of names with conspiratoral overtones and characters who wear their passions (and allegances) on their sleeve. Aside from slow plot development, my biggest hangup was the writing style- long paragraphs with occasional sentence syntax issues. I began to enjoy the book however after the approximate halfway point. Even then though, I couldn't help wondering when it was going to end. Overall, I feel it was worth the read- barely.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    Could not finish this book. tried REAL hard to follow the story

    Could not finish this book. tried REAL hard to follow the story, but was very bored. hoping the hubby will have a better review for it...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Awful!

    This author seems bent on showing you how ungodly churchill was. And the author dosen't hesitate to use four letter words often. Awful buy!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Soooo Interesting

    I really looked forwarded to returning to this book every time I picked up my Nook. Everyone knows the basic storyline, but the background and personalities are so interesting, all the backroom politics. If you are into history at all, you will love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    A dreary read

    This book is a terrific example of why a good writer needs a good editor. Dobbs has a way with words and can craft a wonderful picture, setting a scene down to the smallest detail. Unfortunately, he does describe every smallest detail, taking several pages to describe something as small as walking across a field, or driving to someone's house. A good editor would have knocked out three quarters of this book's length, at a minimum. What would be left would be an excellent short story, once you shear off the endless and unneccesary exposition.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    Not up to Michael Dobbs usual good read

    Slow, plodding tome that is big on conversation and small on historical narrative left me wishing for more. I felt that I was watching one of those "history-based" Hollywood movies that so often leaves history behind to tell an exciting story. Only there was no exciting story, either. Was Dobbs characterization of the primary actors in the book true to life, or was their portrayal the author's imagination? Hard to tell.

    I am a Dobbs fan and he continues to write exceedingly well. Just that this book failed to arouse my interest, and I finished reading it about halfway through the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    Very readable - as fiction and history

    As a World War II buff (but certainly not a scholar) I found "Winston's War" very enjoyable. The author has created a roman a clef with a huge
    cast of characters and several story lines. The most important one, of course is his telling of the machinations that went on in the British government under Prime Minister Neville Chamberlain that ended with Chamberlain's resignation and Churchill's ascension to the leadership.
    I knew that Churchill was despised by Chamberlain and his minions, but Dobbs really reveals the depth of their hatred. Those British politicians are every bit as bad as their American counterparts! Churchill himself doesn't come out of it completely unscathed either.
    Dobbs depicts him as somewhat two-faced, hesitant, and capable of making huge mistakes, such as his pushing for the aborted invasion of Norway early in the war. Churchill's heavy drinking is mentioned a lot. Some of the less important characters are vividly drawn, in particular Guy Burgess, an utterly dissolute gay man who is obsessed with helping Churchill become prime minister by any means at his disposal, legal or otherwise. Burgess was later uncovered as a Soviet spy and defected to Russia along with his lover Donald Maclean.

    "Winston's War" is a fascinating look at the years immediately prior to and after the beginning of World War II. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    An historical novel non history buffs can enjoy.

    Knowing I am not as well versed in history as I might/should be, I took advantage of this "Free Friday" selection and found it engrossing and entertaining. I had not expected either. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to be better informed about the beginnings of World War II but unwilling or uninterested in diving into traditional history books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Coarse

    Why do contemporary male writers think it necessary to write as crudely as 15 year old boys speak? I gave this read up after the first few pages. Fortunately, it was a free Friday offering.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    A tale of WW II

    A great tale of espionage and treason. It tales of Winston's rise to power at the time of WW II.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Great read

    Although billed as fiction, this was a most interesting account of events leading up to WW2. I was a small child during this time but can remember rationing etc after the US entered the war, and several relatives served in the armed services. It was interesting to get an insight into the personalities of the two main characters and also the sub-stories of the everyday people. I was influenced to puchase this book by the fact of the author had also written House of Cards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 289 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15