Customer Reviews for

Winston's War: A Novel of Conspiracy

Average Rating 4
( 289 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(58)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

A very enjoyable Book

This provides a good insight to the period leading up to the second world war and Churchill becoming Prime Minister. It captures in detail the efforts made by Neville Chamberlain to win the peace at the expense of Czechoslovakia and the spiteful contempt that he and mos...
This provides a good insight to the period leading up to the second world war and Churchill becoming Prime Minister. It captures in detail the efforts made by Neville Chamberlain to win the peace at the expense of Czechoslovakia and the spiteful contempt that he and most others in the Government had for Churchill. The Gathering Storm DVD starring Albert Finney and Vanessa Redgrave also gives a good account of those times.

posted by 1671673 on July 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Could not finish this book. tried REAL hard to follow the story

Could not finish this book. tried REAL hard to follow the story, but was very bored. hoping the hubby will have a better review for it...

posted by Queenbeck on June 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Slow beginning picks up halfway through

    I am "newby" to historical fiction and decided to give this book a try when it was a Free Friday selection a few months back. The rising action is very slow- lots of names with conspiratoral overtones and characters who wear their passions (and allegances) on their sleeve. Aside from slow plot development, my biggest hangup was the writing style- long paragraphs with occasional sentence syntax issues. I began to enjoy the book however after the approximate halfway point. Even then though, I couldn't help wondering when it was going to end. Overall, I feel it was worth the read- barely.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    Not up to Michael Dobbs usual good read

    Slow, plodding tome that is big on conversation and small on historical narrative left me wishing for more. I felt that I was watching one of those "history-based" Hollywood movies that so often leaves history behind to tell an exciting story. Only there was no exciting story, either. Was Dobbs characterization of the primary actors in the book true to life, or was their portrayal the author's imagination? Hard to tell.

    I am a Dobbs fan and he continues to write exceedingly well. Just that this book failed to arouse my interest, and I finished reading it about halfway through the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    A tale of WW II

    A great tale of espionage and treason. It tales of Winston's rise to power at the time of WW II.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Fascinating yet ultimately unsatisfying.

    This story uses the backdrop of 1930s England for a novel of politics and intrigue circling around Winston Churchill and Neville Chamberlain and their opposing responses to the rise of fascism in Europe. The story provides enough details to really draw the reader in - you really get a sense for how the characters live their lives. The characters themselves are fleshed out and are definitely three-dimensional. Having said all that ... finishing the book left me unsatisfied. I would be reluctant to recommend it to anyone who is not already well-informed on Europe between the world wars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Good but Slow Read

    If this was a TV show or movie, it would be easy to follow. But it is a Novel and it changes sceens and peoples point of view without warning. It will jump from one character to another in a totally different part of the story from one paragraph to another. No Space, no marks of any type and it takes a couple of sentences or even a paragraph before you realize it.

    The story was good and I like Historical Fictions, but I can only give it 3 stars due to a poor layout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Interesting view of Britain 1939-40

    This novel is so intertwined with historic fact that it is very easy to accept it as true history. As an American born in 1950, I found the story compelling but the language sometimes difficult to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Good

    Surpisingly intersting. Better then i thought.better then most free fridays.people need to know more on winston

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Interesting

    This book s worth a read. It does a good job of blending fact with fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    Very Interesting

    This book gives an interesting insight to the events leading up to WW2.The fictional characters help portray the impact these events had on people just trying to live their everyday lives. The descriptoins of the goings on in Parliment, although well witten, were too lenghty and somewhat boring. Overall I enjoyed the book and would read other books by the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Good read...not a quick one though.

    An interesting story. A little difficult to keep the characters straight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Good Reading if you are interested in history.

    I enjoyed learning more about the personalities of political leaders of that time. Some very intriguing reasons for the decisions made regarding "going to war".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    Unexpeceted contents.

    Not what I expected, but it is full of drama and tells the lives of several people in the book and how that time period affected their lives. Would recommend for bed time, it puts you to sleep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    I enjoyed the history in this book!

    The history was correct, and brought out some facts with which I was not familiar, nor was my husband, who is a World War II US History buff. The conversations, most of them, were fictionalized - but entirely plausible.

    I disliked the sexual references in the book - I thought they were unnecessary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    OK, but expected better

    For a book about such an interesting period in history, it really was not very compelling. The book felt long, with too many characters that did not add much to the story. As it got toward the end, some of the happenings also seemed a little too ridiculous to be true. Still, I continued to slog through it, and I guess that says something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    ?.??

    Could not get into this book. To much war, as I should have expected by the title. Just not my type of book. Sorry. Knucklehead

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3