BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Winston's War: A Novel of Conspiracy

Average Rating 4
( 289 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(58)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

A very enjoyable Book

This provides a good insight to the period leading up to the second world war and Churchill becoming Prime Minister. It captures in detail the efforts made by Neville Chamberlain to win the peace at the expense of Czechoslovakia and the spiteful contempt that he and mos...
This provides a good insight to the period leading up to the second world war and Churchill becoming Prime Minister. It captures in detail the efforts made by Neville Chamberlain to win the peace at the expense of Czechoslovakia and the spiteful contempt that he and most others in the Government had for Churchill. The Gathering Storm DVD starring Albert Finney and Vanessa Redgrave also gives a good account of those times.

posted by 1671673 on July 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Could not finish this book. tried REAL hard to follow the story

Could not finish this book. tried REAL hard to follow the story, but was very bored. hoping the hubby will have a better review for it...

posted by Queenbeck on June 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    Insightful reading

    Very interesting to be exposed to the politics leading up to WW2. Power, control, pettiness, conflicts of interest and human nature all playing a role in the British government.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Soooo Interesting

    I really looked forwarded to returning to this book every time I picked up my Nook. Everyone knows the basic storyline, but the background and personalities are so interesting, all the backroom politics. If you are into history at all, you will love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    Very readable - as fiction and history

    As a World War II buff (but certainly not a scholar) I found "Winston's War" very enjoyable. The author has created a roman a clef with a huge
    cast of characters and several story lines. The most important one, of course is his telling of the machinations that went on in the British government under Prime Minister Neville Chamberlain that ended with Chamberlain's resignation and Churchill's ascension to the leadership.
    I knew that Churchill was despised by Chamberlain and his minions, but Dobbs really reveals the depth of their hatred. Those British politicians are every bit as bad as their American counterparts! Churchill himself doesn't come out of it completely unscathed either.
    Dobbs depicts him as somewhat two-faced, hesitant, and capable of making huge mistakes, such as his pushing for the aborted invasion of Norway early in the war. Churchill's heavy drinking is mentioned a lot. Some of the less important characters are vividly drawn, in particular Guy Burgess, an utterly dissolute gay man who is obsessed with helping Churchill become prime minister by any means at his disposal, legal or otherwise. Burgess was later uncovered as a Soviet spy and defected to Russia along with his lover Donald Maclean.

    "Winston's War" is a fascinating look at the years immediately prior to and after the beginning of World War II. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    An historical novel non history buffs can enjoy.

    Knowing I am not as well versed in history as I might/should be, I took advantage of this "Free Friday" selection and found it engrossing and entertaining. I had not expected either. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to be better informed about the beginnings of World War II but unwilling or uninterested in diving into traditional history books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Great read

    Although billed as fiction, this was a most interesting account of events leading up to WW2. I was a small child during this time but can remember rationing etc after the US entered the war, and several relatives served in the armed services. It was interesting to get an insight into the personalities of the two main characters and also the sub-stories of the everyday people. I was influenced to puchase this book by the fact of the author had also written House of Cards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Adds to our sense of the emotional atmosphere during that period in our history

    I have not finished the book yet but find it highly informative in terms of giving detail to the events and how they happened. As the author comments in his forward: sometimes a novel can add important detail to an event that we know only with historical facts.

    I like the 'historical novel' if you will. The characters become more real to me in the context of conversation and daily events as seen through the eyes of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Great rea

    Swift and churning as whitewater

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Great book

    It was a really well written book and quite interesting. Though it's part fiction, it gave me more insight on who Winston Churchill was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Good

    Very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Nitty Gritty of English Politics.

    When Neville Chamberlain returned from Munich after meeting Adolf Hitler, he uttered the now famous line, "Peace in our time".
    Winston Churchill was a washed up politician, heavily in debt, and a laughing stock of British politics. This is is a story of the wheelings and dealings of the parlimentary system of government which led to the rise of Winston Churchill as the wartime prime ministers. Riveting and interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Anything WWII is for me!

    I enjoyed this look, this different look, at the inside politics and people leading up to the war. Being from the USA, via my British grandfather, I've been an Anglophile for a long time. I seem to remember some of the people mentioned in the book, and it makes me want to look into these things further...in a non-fiction sort of way. :) Read it, if you, like me, enjoy this sort of history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Interesting twist of history

    Going in I thought this was a Biography and quickly realized that it was fictionalized history. Always mindful of that, it was still an interesting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    wonderfull

    I read it and was left wanting for more (which of course there is). This book is about a period little known to the general public of winston's early war years and the writing is so good. My only objection would be in the editing of some chapters when from one paragraph to the next and without any transitions, the narration shifts to another set of characters. All in all, excellent. The other 3 books are already on my wish list

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    Interesting read.

    I enjoyed reading this book but as always, historical fictions tend to blur the lines between fact and fiction. Don't make the mistake of assuming that the private conversations are fact. Well written and certainly highlights the chaos of the British Parliament at the time. I suspect that there is no difference today in any political body.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    This is an excellent blend of fact and fiction which makes histo

    This is an excellent blend of fact and fiction which makes history surrounding this period very interesting. The book provides an insight into Winston Churchill and what made him a remarkable man. As an Englishman growing up I heard much about what went on during the lead-up to war and this is an adaptation with additional fictional characters to make the story interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Winston's War

    This book is a bit arduous but the fast pace of the latter half makes up for it. An interesting read -- nothing is as it appears and the story is as bleak as it is cunning.
    I recommend for fans of historical fiction, anglophiles, those interested in WWII.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    Glad it was a free Friday pick!

    Didn't think I was going to enjoy this book but I found it very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Winston's War: A Novel of Conspiracy

    History in high school needs to included more about Winston.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    good

    Enjoyed book learned more about Winston.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Bringing history alive

    For a work of fiction, there is quite a lot of good history in this book. The actions and attitudes of the historical figures are consistent with what I've read about them in non-fiction sources. The minor characters they interact with are completely plausible. I can see the characters actually doing the things in the book. I look forward to reading the others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6