Customer Reviews for

Winston's War: A Novel of Conspiracy

Average Rating 4
( 291 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

A very enjoyable Book

This provides a good insight to the period leading up to the second world war and Churchill becoming Prime Minister. It captures in detail the efforts made by Neville Chamberlain to win the peace at the expense of Czechoslovakia and the spiteful contempt that he and mos...
This provides a good insight to the period leading up to the second world war and Churchill becoming Prime Minister. It captures in detail the efforts made by Neville Chamberlain to win the peace at the expense of Czechoslovakia and the spiteful contempt that he and most others in the Government had for Churchill. The Gathering Storm DVD starring Albert Finney and Vanessa Redgrave also gives a good account of those times.

posted by 1671673 on July 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Could not finish this book. tried REAL hard to follow the story

Could not finish this book. tried REAL hard to follow the story, but was very bored. hoping the hubby will have a better review for it...

posted by Queenbeck on June 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A very enjoyable Book

    This provides a good insight to the period leading up to the second world war and Churchill becoming Prime Minister. It captures in detail the efforts made by Neville Chamberlain to win the peace at the expense of Czechoslovakia and the spiteful contempt that he and most others in the Government had for Churchill. The Gathering Storm DVD starring Albert Finney and Vanessa Redgrave also gives a good account of those times.

    26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very Interesting

    This was very interesting especially to the younger generation who have yet to really understand who Churchill was and how important he was in driving back the Germans from England.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Terrific Historical Novel

    The author goes to great pains to point out that the story is fictional, but the historical background is very accurate. It's very interesting to see World War II looming on the horizon from a British perspective. The historical incidents including the political intrigue among the parties and Churchill versus Chamberlain, all bear up if you look into them further. After reading this, I got the others by this author, too. It's intelligent historical fiction and tons of fun.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    Outstanding

    I don't normally read historical fiction but this one was a Free Fridays pick and I'm so glad I took this one. The characterizations of these historical figures were rich and well-rounded. I confess that the little I knew came mostly from my high school history classes and my judgments, formed long after the war was over, were basically "Winston Churchill good; Neville Chamberlin bad." It was great to have such balanced portraits of them and others around them that made me understand their motives much more clearly. I really commend Michael Dobbs for his even-handed treatment of these men and the dilemmas they faced in the moment. This would be a great book for anyone who wants to know more about the lead-up to World War II.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Outstanding

    The author has accomplished his goal of peaking the reader's interest in the subject matter. I found myself researching the characters in the plot and fully engrossed in the book. Great historical novel.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very Highly recommended!

    I loved this book from the first page to the last. A fictional account of how Winston Churchill ended up being Prime Minister of England....or is it fiction?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Well written and entertaining. Readers of historical fiction should thoroughly enjoy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Interesting take of British politics at the outbreak of WW II.  

    Interesting take of British politics at the outbreak of WW II.  Well written and fast moving.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2015

    Very good

    Insightful, interesting, intriguing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Intriguing

    Having read this book I definitely would like to learn more about pre-WWII British politics. While I enjoyed this book, I definitely think I would have enjoyed it more if i knew more about the people Dobbs chose to highlight in his novel. I was surprised by how much I enjoyed this book, considering with regards to historical fiction I tend to stay around 1066 through the Tudor Dynasty. I look forward to reading the rest of the books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Loved it

    *****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    /\/\ <> b $ ¿ /\ \/\/ l\l ¿ l^\ 64

    Like it? ~/\/\

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Kate

    Takes of her clothes and jumps into the show humming "this girl is on fiyaa!!!" (girl on fire)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Girls shower room

    Only girls

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Unknown

    *smokes weed filling the training area with smoke*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Becca

    Bai

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Dameain

    K

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Roar!

    I wuvs monkeys!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Hera cabin

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Excellent

    Amazing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5