Customer Reviews for

Winter Eve

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

World of shapeshifters I just finished reading Winter Eve writt

World of shapeshifters
I just finished reading Winter Eve written by Lia Davis.
It's the prequel in her Ashwood Falls Series.
It's short novella adventure into the world of shapeshifters.
I found it short, 70 pages, because I usually read story of 300 pages plus.
I...
World of shapeshifters
I just finished reading Winter Eve written by Lia Davis.
It's the prequel in her Ashwood Falls Series.
It's short novella adventure into the world of shapeshifters.
I found it short, 70 pages, because I usually read story of 300 pages plus.
If you love shapeshifters of Wolves and leopards, then this book is for you.
I was given this book free in exchange for a honest review.

posted by Mirabelle8 on May 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This will turn out to be a two sided review, because while I enj

This will turn out to be a two sided review, because while I enjoyed the book, there were also some things I would’ve appreciated more of at the same time.  For instance, I liked the mystery behind Danica’s being a shifter versus Nevan’s being a human.  I felt Nevan sho...
This will turn out to be a two sided review, because while I enjoyed the book, there were also some things I would’ve appreciated more of at the same time.  For instance, I liked the mystery behind Danica’s being a shifter versus Nevan’s being a human.  I felt Nevan should have trusted his instincts a little more, but I also thought there’d end up being more to Nevan than just being human and I was wrong.

There were some very fun and comical parts, such as the lunch with the alpha.  I wanted to see more of the actual lunch rather than the meeting before hand, but that was still a great point in the book for me, outside of the steamy romance of course!  We see a lot of the hierarchy in the pack and get a lot of info about them, but see very little of anybody in their animal forms and I would’ve loved to see more of that.

The ending got me, however.  While I loved Nevan’s declaration and challenge, I felt the ending was a little anticlimactic.  We don’t learn exactly what happened during or after the hunt, which was a little disappointing.  Ultimately though, I liked Danica, Nevan, and I enjoy them together!

Overall, this was a very sweet story about overcoming grief and accepting one’s self.  There are obstacles around at all times, and both characters work to overcome them and be strong and independent which made for a very endearing read.

posted by Mebuffy on February 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    World of shapeshifters I just finished reading Winter Eve writt

    World of shapeshifters
    I just finished reading Winter Eve written by Lia Davis.
    It's the prequel in her Ashwood Falls Series.
    It's short novella adventure into the world of shapeshifters.
    I found it short, 70 pages, because I usually read story of 300 pages plus.
    If you love shapeshifters of Wolves and leopards, then this book is for you.
    I was given this book free in exchange for a honest review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2013

    Very cool and sexy story!  **I received a copy of this book in

    Very cool and sexy story! 

    **I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review**
    Winter Eve is a great introduction to the series. It gives us a bit of background about the pack and also a love story between a leopard shifter and a human. Dani lives on the outskirts of where the pack resides in Ashwood Falls. She was tired of all of the pity she received from everyone because of her scars, so she moved to live in peace and quiet. Though she was still close enough o the pack. While she is out for a run, she runs in front of car and causes the driver veer off road and crash. Luckily he's ok but now the storm is coming and he needs a place to stay. 
    Nevan is on his way to visit his family but when he crashes his car, his original plans are put on hold. But it turns out he's quite ok with that since he can spend some time with the sexy woman who owns the cabin. 




    Very cool and sexy story! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    On a Winter's Eve, Nevan Mathews is travelling home to the place

    On a Winter's Eve, Nevan Mathews is travelling home to the place that holds his fondest childhood memories and a heartache that burns deep within.
    In a split second he finds himself careening of the road, stranded with a snow storm threatening his survival.
    As Nevan looks up, piercing green eyes look through the trees and beckon him to follow.
    It's the moment of choice. Could this be Nevan's saviour or the biggest mistake of his life.
    Join Nevan in discovering that although love and pain are often close companions, finding happiness is worth the suffering.
    Winter's Eve is the prequel to Lia Davis's new series Ashwood Falls.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    This will turn out to be a two sided review, because while I enj

    This will turn out to be a two sided review, because while I enjoyed the book, there were also some things I would’ve appreciated more of at the same time.  For instance, I liked the mystery behind Danica’s being a shifter versus Nevan’s being a human.  I felt Nevan should have trusted his instincts a little more, but I also thought there’d end up being more to Nevan than just being human and I was wrong.

    There were some very fun and comical parts, such as the lunch with the alpha.  I wanted to see more of the actual lunch rather than the meeting before hand, but that was still a great point in the book for me, outside of the steamy romance of course!  We see a lot of the hierarchy in the pack and get a lot of info about them, but see very little of anybody in their animal forms and I would’ve loved to see more of that.

    The ending got me, however.  While I loved Nevan’s declaration and challenge, I felt the ending was a little anticlimactic.  We don’t learn exactly what happened during or after the hunt, which was a little disappointing.  Ultimately though, I liked Danica, Nevan, and I enjoy them together!

    Overall, this was a very sweet story about overcoming grief and accepting one’s self.  There are obstacles around at all times, and both characters work to overcome them and be strong and independent which made for a very endearing read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is the story of Nevan, a human, and Danica, a leopard shift

    This is the story of Nevan, a human, and Danica, a leopard shifter. Danica is a little reclusive, having been in an explosion and being left with scars. Nevan is a human and an empath, who was raised with a family of shifters. They meet by accident and realize they are potential mates, but there is someone else who wants to mate Danica. Will Nevan win the hunt against a shifter to be able to mate Danica?

    I love shifters! Fantastic story! Wolves and big cats coexisting and fighting their mutual enemies. Thank you Lia Davis for introducing me to the exciting world of Ashwood Falls. I can't wait to return and see who the fates are going to mess with next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    new author for me. this is start to a great series. action packe

    new author for me. this is start to a great series. action packed,hot sex, funny moments ,all that i enjoy in a book. if you enjoy paranormal reads i don't think you will be disappointed in this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A short quick read to start off the Ashwood Falls series about o

    A short quick read to start off the Ashwood Falls series about overcoming grief and accepting one’s self. The attraction is instant and leads to a few steamy scenes, we meet some other interesting characters as well.When someone tries to claim Danica as there's, Nevan will fight to keep what he feels is his since he is no normal human and had a different upbringing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    The first book in the Ashwood Falls series takes place in an enc

    The first book in the Ashwood Falls series takes place in an enchanting community of shapeshifters that captivate the reader.
    Nevan is a human on the way to visit his step family for the holidays when he wrecks his car. Danica is a leopard that shies away from people, but she lets Nevan stay in her home during the snow storm.  The attraction between the two burns hot and their romance grows but when Danica is attacked by rogues, another tries to claim his mate. The suspense builds as the two must compete against each other for Danica and then is another attack by the rogues.
    The author has created a great shapeshifter world full of action, romance and magic with strong, magical characters that draw the reader into the story and leaves the reader wanting more.  The first book is a delightful, short read that I found to be very entertaining and I am looking forward to reading more in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2013

    Great introduction to Ashwood Falls. This was a great short stor

    Great introduction to Ashwood Falls. This was a great short story to get you pumped up for the Ashwood Falls series. I felt as though I was watching the scene unfold before my eyes as Lia told this awesome romantic shifter story. Ashwood Falls 101: Here are some facts to get you better acquainted. Ashwood Falls is a small Smokey Mountain town with a mixed pack - half wolf and half cat. Both packs were attacked over 200 years ago and over half of each pack was wiped out. They discovered together they could survive. In this pre-quell we meet several characters: Keegan (the pack alpha) and his children: Blaine, Shay and Danica - there could be more. The pack lawyer, Jared, and several enforcers: Cameron, Hayden, and Dane. The pre-quell focus around Danica's story. She is over 200 years old and lives in a cabin far from others. In this story we learn more about the accident that made her flee town and she finds her mate. Someone who also has an interested background. Want to know who her mate is? Read this story and you'll find out. And don't miss A Tiger's Claim book #1 in Ashwood Falls, available now..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Lia pens "Winter Eve" a well written, exciting romance

    Lia pens "Winter Eve" a well written, exciting romance filled with likeable characters such as shapeshifters. A nice quick novella....I wish it was a bit longer, but it's a fantastic start to the 'Ashwood Falls' series. Highly recommended to all supernatural, romance and shapeshifter fans.




    This review is based on a complimentary copy from the author which was provided for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    New to me author

    Great world building. Lacking in the romance plot. I just didn't care if the couple hooked up or not. Not enough emotion to route for them. Also, too much tell not enough show.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    I LOVE shifter romances and I LOVE stories with wounded or "

    I LOVE shifter romances and I LOVE stories with wounded or "imperfect" heroes and/or heroines and their struggle to find love and a HEA despite those imperfections. So Winter Eve appealed so much to me as it featured a heroine who was both scarred and a shifter.  I couldn't wait to read!! This is another cover that I just absolutely loved. 




    Winter Eve was a quick easy story with likable characters that was a good start to the series. Danica and Nevin were so cute together and I liked how he was able to see past her scars. I also liked that even though Nevin was human, he had a special gift of his own and he was also able to fit in and function so well in the pack due to growing up with brothers that were shifters.  I'm definitely interested in what happens in the next book. There were so many secondary characters that I'm hoping get books of their own.  I liked the fact that some of the shifters possess special gifts besides being able to shift. And I also liked the back and forth banter between Blaine and Shayna~so funny and exactly like brothers and sisters. Oh...and I especially want to read more about Cameron and Blaine. 




    Winter Eve was an enjoyable read with a lot of potential for the series. This was the first time that I had read anything from Lia Davis and I am definitely looking forward to reading more from her. 3 out of 5 rating!




    ***ARC provided by Lia Davis~Thank you so much!! :)  Mariann at Belle's Book Bag

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2