Customer Reviews for

Winter Garden

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This book must have taken a lot of diagraming and charts to keep

This book must have taken a lot of diagraming and charts to keep track of everyone and all the events! BUT the result was incredible. I don't want to spoil it for you but the mystery, the "growing" of the main character who couldn't trust love and the hero tha...
This book must have taken a lot of diagraming and charts to keep track of everyone and all the events! BUT the result was incredible. I don't want to spoil it for you but the mystery, the "growing" of the main character who couldn't trust love and the hero that any woman could/would love--how great a read was this!

Enjoy!

posted by vanessasgram on June 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't finish it

I bought it because it was cheap and I wanted to explore the less expensive eBooks. It's the first book I haven't finished in many years. I forced myself to read half-way through before I gave up. The characters were two-dimensional and never engaged me. The mystery lik...
I bought it because it was cheap and I wanted to explore the less expensive eBooks. It's the first book I haven't finished in many years. I forced myself to read half-way through before I gave up. The characters were two-dimensional and never engaged me. The mystery likewise was not engaging. Most romances I expect a plot of some sort to frame the characters. In this book, the sexual tension between characters framed the plot. A primary rule of writing is to show, not tell, to engage the reader's interest. I think there was more tell and less show.

posted by 14086475 on July 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Couldn't finish it

    I bought it because it was cheap and I wanted to explore the less expensive eBooks. It's the first book I haven't finished in many years. I forced myself to read half-way through before I gave up. The characters were two-dimensional and never engaged me. The mystery likewise was not engaging. Most romances I expect a plot of some sort to frame the characters. In this book, the sexual tension between characters framed the plot. A primary rule of writing is to show, not tell, to engage the reader's interest. I think there was more tell and less show.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read! Highly recommend. Couldn't put it down!

    Great read! Highly recommend. Couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    This book must have taken a lot of diagraming and charts to keep

    This book must have taken a lot of diagraming and charts to keep track of everyone and all the events! BUT the result was incredible. I don't want to spoil it for you but the mystery, the "growing" of the main character who couldn't trust love and the hero that any woman could/would love--how great a read was this!

    Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Very Highly Recommended!!!!!!!!

    This was the sweetest book I have read in a long time! Unconditional love on every level. Great lesson for all of us! The book is truely of unconditional love! Love, Love, Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2001

    Uhh... Couldn't put it down!

    I love this book. I love the way Ashworth, ties in the whole trying to find out who is smuggling opium with the characters lovelorn for one another. I couldn't put it down and caught myself reading it at work, which as you know if i did this, it has to be good. So go out and get it and i know it will be worth the money. :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2001

    For a rainy day

    Perfect combination of mystery, intrigue, and passion. Well crafted, hard to say for most romance novels, and well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting Victorian romance

    For the past seven years, the French born Madeleine DuMais has spied for the English, helping them smash smuggling rings. However, for the first time, her superior asks Madeleine to use her skills to help stop a smuggling operation in England. Madeleine travels from her home in Marseilles, stopping in London, where she receives brief instructions from her employer. Madeleine continues her travels stopping at Winter Garden to begin her inquiries. <P>Thomas Blackwood suffered a crippling injury during the Opium Wars. He has been in Winter Garden for several weeks. He is Madeleine¿s partner trying to uncover the identity of the aristocrat stealing and selling opium, an expensive but legal drug. The two prime suspects are Lady Childress and Baron of Rothebury. As Madeleine and Thomas work in close proximity on their investigation, they fall in love with one another. <P>WINTER GARDENS is an exciting Victorian romance starring two charming lead protagonists. The story line reads like a combination historical mystery and romance that fully entertains the audience. Fans will understand why awesome Adele Ashworth is a RITA winner even as they search for her two previous novels (see MY DARLING CAROLINE and STOLEN CHARMS). <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoyed STOLEN CHARM and I wanted to read Madeleine's story. I

    I enjoyed STOLEN CHARM and I wanted to read Madeleine's story. I just could not get past all the explaining and explaining everything. To much information. Thomas was an interesting character. His is a wounded ex-soldier and I pushed further into the story for him. I have enjoyed the rest of the Winter Garden series thou.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Great and diffetent read

    Her best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Good Story

    A bit on the drawn out side, and the secondary plot lacked substance at times, but a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Awesome

    All the way thru, I snarled at anyone who interrupted me. I didn't want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2