Customer Reviews for

Winter Garden

Average Rating 4.5
( 1226 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(726)

4 Star

(284)

3 Star

(130)

2 Star

(53)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

This is an awesome book!!!!

This was my first time reading Kristen Hannah and I was absolutely mesmerized by this story and the way she portrayed the characters. It was a heartwrenching story of a time in history that changed so many lives and gave us a picture of how it changed a family forever. ...
This was my first time reading Kristen Hannah and I was absolutely mesmerized by this story and the way she portrayed the characters. It was a heartwrenching story of a time in history that changed so many lives and gave us a picture of how it changed a family forever. I was not able to put the book down once I started it and was drawn into the intrigue of what the secret of Anya's life was and what had turned her so cold. Kristen Hannah's storytelling in this novel give us a close decription of the connection between families and how love can prevail. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a great story and has time to curl up and enjoy this book.

posted by GrannnyJude on March 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

such a let down

I have read almost every book Kristin Hannah wrote, and Winter Garden was a disappointment to me. Now, don't get me wrong, I love the historical background work on Anya's life, it was very interesting to see what she went though, and why she was the way she is now. yet ...
I have read almost every book Kristin Hannah wrote, and Winter Garden was a disappointment to me. Now, don't get me wrong, I love the historical background work on Anya's life, it was very interesting to see what she went though, and why she was the way she is now. yet the book seem to drag to me, it took about 11 chapters too long to get to the point. The end completely ruined it for me. Way too cheesy!! Reminded me of bad romance novel. Life definately isn't a fairy tale. I also had a hard time figuring out why they had to do to that certain house in Alaska. I had to read that section three times to figure it out. I hope the next book Hannah writes, she goes back to her normal style of writing.

posted by wheeze on May 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1232 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 62
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Powerful and Heartbreaking.

    I wouldn't have read this book if a neighbor hadn't lent it to me. Crime and Mystery usually end up on my shopping list. This is the first book I have read by the author and it certainly won't be the last. I have never cried while reading a book, but this one tugged at the heart strings. I read it in one night, staying up until I was finished. I found both sisters to be self centered in their own way, but due to their childhood, how could they not be? Their mother's story was so heartbreaking. I'm not sure I could have survived the loss of 2 children, a husband, then go on in the harsh life she was handed. A very powerful and heartwrenching story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    Slow moving but worth the payoff!

    Winter Garden is a slow moving book, that at it's heart is about a misunderstood 'cold' mother, and two daughters who are sorely missing their father. The father was the one who had made the family work, and when he dies, it seems there is little left.
    Predictably, there is more to the story, and when all is uncovered, the story really is amazing.
    All the characters were pretty well developed and I enjoyed their progression. The only character who left me confused was the 'loving' father who somehow left all these connections undone. How could he have loved everyone so long and so much but never have done anything other than let it sit. That seemed suspect to me.
    I recommend this for a rainy day.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    The Best of Kristin Hannah books to date.

    In July of 2008 I read my first Kristin Hannah Book. - "Firefly Lane". I absolutely loved it and was hooked on Hannah from that day forward. I have since read twelve of her books and couldn't believe that she would find a way to top "Firefly". "Mystic Lake" ranked second for me and "True Colors", a fast third, but I have to say "Winter Garden was not only the best Kristin Hannah, but one of the best books to come along in a a long time. It was slow initially but once it took off, I was mesmerized by Anya's fairy tale. The book within the book. I can hardly wait to read another one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Great book

    Just another amazing kristin hannah book. She manages to make me cry every time. Highly reccomend

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Great read

    I love how she captures the pain and heartaches of motherhood then takes it to a whole other level. I was totally shock at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    Has become my favorite book!

    I absolutely loved this book - beginning to end. I have recommended it numerous times. This story made me laugh and cry; popped into my thoughts for days after it was finished; opened my eyes to historical events that I had not given much thought to. I have read hundreds of books - but this one has stayed with me.... Beautifully written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2010

    Great Story of a Family!!

    This book was my first by Kristin Hannah and I found it riveting. The sense you get about each of the characters especially the mother Anya. The flashbacks into her young life in Russia are well written and heartbreaking. It really makes you appreciate our lives in America. But more importantly is how these 3 very different people about one another and to love each other. Great book I passed in on and will continue to recommend it to friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    So heartwrenching it is actually painful

    Kristin Hannah knows how to tell a story. From the opening of this novel, to the ending, she seamlessly weaves the scenes together, telling the stories of three remarkable women, a mother and her daughters, who struggle to define and make sense of their relationship. Effortlessly transitioning between the past and the present, between fable and reality, from Russia to the U.S., the book is at once a tale of family love, devotion, romance, motherhood, dedication, understanding and compassion.

    As you read, you will find yourself turning the pages faster and faster, drawn along by the incredible emotion in the scenes, until the climax leaves you breathless. A tremendous read, unforgettable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    Winter Garden is an excellent book about family relationships.

    Winter Garden by Kristin Hannah is about a family and their road to becoming a unified family. Evan dies in the beginning. He holds the family together; after his death his wife and daughters do not know how to communicate to each other. Before his death Evan made his tow daughters promise him something. Meredith promised to get to know her mother more; Nina promised to get her mother to tell her the complete fairy tale, which her mother used to tell her. Nina and Meredith grow closer to each other as sisters and closer to their mother. They do not realize the consqeuences one story can have on a person's life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Great to listen to on a long trip.

    This book scanned 4 generations and two continents. Wonderful and suspenseful, intriguing and historical. A touching story about an extended family during WWII to the present day. A very thought out twist at the end. Have your kleenex ready!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very moving..informative and unforgettable

    Kristin Hannah is one of my most favorite authors...I always wait for her latest books to come out. In the early chapters of this book, I thought perhaps this one would be a disappointment...not because of her writing ability, which is exceptional, but because it was quite sad. As I learned more about the main character, and the horrific times suffered by those living in Leningrad (St. Petersburg now), I got hooked. I made myself stop reading each day, just so I would have it to look forward to the next day...like saving a special treat. This is a story you won't automatically know the ending too....keeps you guessing. I just finished this outstanding book, and I wholeheartedly recommend it. You will grow sad, but will gain a valuable insight and knowledge of Russia and times of war, and even more importantly, the constant value of family. Buy this book....you'll want to have it to read again in a year or two...it's that good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    Couldn't put it down! IF you love James Patterson, you'll like this!

    The author had somewhat of a slow start in establishing the foundation for the rest of the book but once you became involved in the flow and characters, it was a page turner. The plot took many twists with the telling of the "fairy tale" as the core. What you thought you knew at the beginning, ended up not being the truth. The interwining of mystery, love and pain was exotic. Throw in a historical prospective and you've got yourself a great read. This was my first time reading this author and her style was very fluid. This book is a great take along read for a long flight, car trip or a lazy rainy afternoon. If you life James Patterson, you'll like this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Several Stories Within 1 Book

    I wasn't entirely sure about the story line of this book as I'm not particulary interested in deep exploration of relationships in fiction. As I moved through Winter Gardens I was put off a little by the insertion of the fairy tale and wanted to get to the real story. But as I read on, the fairy tale took over and captivated me. The current day story became secondary. This book has happiness and sadness. I don't want to spoil the ending, so I'll leave it at that. One important note, though, is that Ms. Hannah brought forward a part of history that I've not read about in our struggles of world wars and how our country arrived where we are today. I find the settling of Alaska by so many different peoples very interesting and plan to read more about the immagrants from Russia. Very good read on a number of levels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    Another great book by a fantastic author!

    This was my first lend me ebook! And I loved it!!! It caught me by surprise with the twist and turns it took! The characters were enjoyable and I thought the story was amazing. You will not believe where it will take you. I was moved to tears several times! My nook friend & I spent 30 minutes talking about what we would have done and probably could have touched on several other topics of conversation. I think it would make a great book for a club to discuss. I hope everyone passes this on to their friends like we have! Enjoy all of Kristin Hannah's books!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    Winter Garden is AMAZING!! LOVED IT so much, I read 2 more Hannah books after!

    Winter Garden is a very touching story that explores the relationships between mothers and daughters, sisters, fathers and daughters. In a very heart compelling story, Kristin Hannah weaves a story within a story as two estranged sister's learn about their mother's past. Years of resentment and heatbreaks finally come to light as the sister's learn of their mother's own uncomprehensible past. This is a book you wont want to put down and will be sad to see it end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Great Read

    This was one of the best books I have read in a while. The story line was dramatic and yet touching. Once you start the book your are unable to put it down. This book would also be a great read for young adults. It would give them an idea on what it is to be hungry and at war.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Winter Garden better than I expected!

    Winter garden played on all of my emotions. Now I have the feeling I need to go talk to my mother about her past so that I can understand her better. I wish my dad were alive I have questions for him also. This is a great read. I know I will read it again and again. It is one of those books you can just sit back and relax with and lose yourself in. I suggest you try it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    I can't stop thinking about this book

    What caught my attention to this book was that it was a story partly set in Russia. I never heard of this author but since I am interested in Russian stories I thought I'd give it a try. The book did not disappoint. In fact I loved it and I can't help myself from thinking of the characters and the hardships they faced. Hannah made the characters so real I still am aching for them, because I know that many families during war time Russia faced the same horrors. I thought she weaved in and out of the two time periods beautifully. The only thing that I can't quiet get though is how Anya could be so cold towards Nina and Meredith. I got the explanation but I think about what a great mom she was to Leo and Anya that I'd think she would be just as great, or grateful that she had a second chance. But I would absolutely recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    Hated for the book to be finished!

    Touching, thoughtful book with so much emotion and relationship issues. Very engaging, and thought provoking. I would highly recommend this book to anyone. I will keep this book and reread it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    A little different

    I enjoyed the historical part of the story. but I found it a stretch to believe the reason for her coldness to her two daughters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1232 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 62