Customer Reviews for

Winter Garden

Average Rating 4.5
( 1257 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(743)

4 Star

(290)

3 Star

(135)

2 Star

(54)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

This is an awesome book!!!!

This was my first time reading Kristen Hannah and I was absolutely mesmerized by this story and the way she portrayed the characters. It was a heartwrenching story of a time in history that changed so many lives and gave us a picture of how it changed a family forever. ...
This was my first time reading Kristen Hannah and I was absolutely mesmerized by this story and the way she portrayed the characters. It was a heartwrenching story of a time in history that changed so many lives and gave us a picture of how it changed a family forever. I was not able to put the book down once I started it and was drawn into the intrigue of what the secret of Anya's life was and what had turned her so cold. Kristen Hannah's storytelling in this novel give us a close decription of the connection between families and how love can prevail. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a great story and has time to curl up and enjoy this book.

posted by GrannnyJude on March 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

such a let down

I have read almost every book Kristin Hannah wrote, and Winter Garden was a disappointment to me. Now, don't get me wrong, I love the historical background work on Anya's life, it was very interesting to see what she went though, and why she was the way she is now. yet ...
I have read almost every book Kristin Hannah wrote, and Winter Garden was a disappointment to me. Now, don't get me wrong, I love the historical background work on Anya's life, it was very interesting to see what she went though, and why she was the way she is now. yet the book seem to drag to me, it took about 11 chapters too long to get to the point. The end completely ruined it for me. Way too cheesy!! Reminded me of bad romance novel. Life definately isn't a fairy tale. I also had a hard time figuring out why they had to do to that certain house in Alaska. I had to read that section three times to figure it out. I hope the next book Hannah writes, she goes back to her normal style of writing.

posted by wheeze on May 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 290 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2010

    WINTER GARDEN by KRISTIN HANNAH

    This was my first time reading a book by Kristin Hannah and i must say i absolutely loved WINRER GARDEN. I was on vacation and decided not to go away. So i picked up WINTER GARDEN @ the supermarket spontaneously and did not put down the book for two days. I may have not went away physically but mentally and emotionally i was lost in WINTER GARDEN.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    The Best of Kristin Hannah books to date.

    In July of 2008 I read my first Kristin Hannah Book. - "Firefly Lane". I absolutely loved it and was hooked on Hannah from that day forward. I have since read twelve of her books and couldn't believe that she would find a way to top "Firefly". "Mystic Lake" ranked second for me and "True Colors", a fast third, but I have to say "Winter Garden was not only the best Kristin Hannah, but one of the best books to come along in a a long time. It was slow initially but once it took off, I was mesmerized by Anya's fairy tale. The book within the book. I can hardly wait to read another one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    Couldn't put it down! IF you love James Patterson, you'll like this!

    The author had somewhat of a slow start in establishing the foundation for the rest of the book but once you became involved in the flow and characters, it was a page turner. The plot took many twists with the telling of the "fairy tale" as the core. What you thought you knew at the beginning, ended up not being the truth. The interwining of mystery, love and pain was exotic. Throw in a historical prospective and you've got yourself a great read. This was my first time reading this author and her style was very fluid. This book is a great take along read for a long flight, car trip or a lazy rainy afternoon. If you life James Patterson, you'll like this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Several Stories Within 1 Book

    I wasn't entirely sure about the story line of this book as I'm not particulary interested in deep exploration of relationships in fiction. As I moved through Winter Gardens I was put off a little by the insertion of the fairy tale and wanted to get to the real story. But as I read on, the fairy tale took over and captivated me. The current day story became secondary. This book has happiness and sadness. I don't want to spoil the ending, so I'll leave it at that. One important note, though, is that Ms. Hannah brought forward a part of history that I've not read about in our struggles of world wars and how our country arrived where we are today. I find the settling of Alaska by so many different peoples very interesting and plan to read more about the immagrants from Russia. Very good read on a number of levels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    Winter Garden is AMAZING!! LOVED IT so much, I read 2 more Hannah books after!

    Winter Garden is a very touching story that explores the relationships between mothers and daughters, sisters, fathers and daughters. In a very heart compelling story, Kristin Hannah weaves a story within a story as two estranged sister's learn about their mother's past. Years of resentment and heatbreaks finally come to light as the sister's learn of their mother's own uncomprehensible past. This is a book you wont want to put down and will be sad to see it end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    A little different

    I enjoyed the historical part of the story. but I found it a stretch to believe the reason for her coldness to her two daughters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    Surprisingly intriguing plot within a plot novel which touches on the tragic events of the WWII siege of Leningrad

    The early part of the story, involving the self-pitying Meredith and egocentric Nina,, is worth wading through to get to their mother's mesmerizing account of her earlier life in Russia. It is a life the daughters knew nothing about except in the form of a childhood fairytale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    Historical romance

    This books involves two entertwining stories, one set in Washington State in 2001 and one set in Leningrad, Russia during Stalin's reign of terror in the 30's. The book flips back and forth between the two stories. I felt the Russian story was much more developed and original and the storyline set in Washington. The Washington characters were not developed as much as they could have been. I rushed through the modern day storyline to get to the Russian storyline because I felt that very intriguing and interesting. I couldn't wait to get to the ending of that story. At the end where the two stories collide wasn't much of a surprise because you can see where the story is leading, but it still was entertaining. I thought overall it was a good book. Not as good as the author's previous books, but interesting overall.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Family angst

    What it takes to pull together a dysfuntional family

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2015

    Shadowclaw

    Immidiately jumped on Embertailand mounted her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2015

    Highly Recommend

    Great winter read, in fact, any time read. The story keeps you turning page after page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Whit

    Gtgbbl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2013

    I enjoyed reading this book. It took me a bit to get into the st

    I enjoyed reading this book. It took me a bit to get into the story, but that seemed to be part of the message. We may not know why someone is the way he/she is; we can never truly walk in another's boots. The historical events shared here are very similar to those experienced in the Chocolate Bar, by Agatha Von Kampen, which includes her personal account of growing up surrounded by WWII.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    I had a hard time getting into this story and would put the book

    I had a hard time getting into this story and would put the book down for several days at a time. I finally forced myself to stay with it and finally got into it past the halfway point of the book. When Anya got  to the meat of her story I could not put the book down. What's truly hearbreaking is that this is how the Leningrad women lived (and died). This is a story of survival and heartbreak. It's well written but I think the lead up to the most intense part of the story was too long winded. Meredith's character was a little too wishy washy for my liking. I gave the book four stars because I thought the first half was too drawn out but it won't stop me from reading more from Kristin Hannah.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Winterclan leaders den

    Winterclans leader den

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Beautiful...

    Hannah does it again! She reaches in our hearts with love and humor. I am currently on my 6th novel, and have yet to be let down. Keep the books coming! Another 10!

    By CJ SPERRY
    JUST WONDERFUL! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    An exceptional read! I'm typically not a relationship book reade

    An exceptional read! I'm typically not a relationship book reader, so when our book club selected this title, I was not excited. BUT after reading the first chapter, I could hardly put it down. I found myself holding my breath as the story continued, waiting for the next emotional bubble to burst. 
    The women of this novel are at every point strong, weak, fallible and so human. 
    Absolutely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    This was my first Kristin Hannah book, and though it was a littl

    This was my first Kristin Hannah book, and though it was a little slow at first I stuck with it and did not regret it. I cried several times reading it. I appreciate the research the author did to write the "fairy tale" part and how she managed to turn an unlikable character into a wonderful heroine. I reached for the author's other books after finishing this one, and loved them, but since they are so sad, and I only reach for them about twice a year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The strength of women is unbelievable. I did not know when I pu

    The strength of women is unbelievable. I did not know when I purchased the book that it was going to be about WWII. But I'm glad it was. I've read other war based novels, but this was the first that took place in Russia. In addition to all of the other hardships, these people also had to endure freezing cold temperatures. I really felt that I was there with Vera and her family, and could see and feel their suffering as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Great story within a story

    I have read some of her other books and it seemed that she was mixing or adding them to this book, which made it repetitive and boring in the start. However, she redeemed herself, once the fairytale started it turned out to be a great story!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 290 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15