Customer Reviews for

The Winter Ghosts

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The Winter Ghosts is a fascinating 1928 tale

Over a decade ago in WWI George Watson vanished while serving on the Western Front. His younger brother Freddie has not been able to move on having found no closure. His grief so great, Freddie spent time in an asylum.

Ten years have passed since the Armistice ende...
Over a decade ago in WWI George Watson vanished while serving on the Western Front. His younger brother Freddie has not been able to move on having found no closure. His grief so great, Freddie spent time in an asylum.

Ten years have passed since the Armistice ended the combat. Freddie works for the War Grave Commission which enables him to seek clues to his sibling. He drives a motorcar in the French Pyrenees still seeking solace. During a snowstorm, he crashes his vehicle near the remote village of Nulle. At the small mountainous hamlet Freddie meets Fabrissa. That evening, Fabrissa tells him her tale of harassment and death. The next day, Freddie cannot find Fabrissa, but his inquiries for her lead him to a six century old mystery.

The Winter Ghosts is a fascinating 1928 tale of two individuals who come together for one night; each seeking solace over what was lost of their respective souls due to war. The story line starts extremely slow as Kate Mosse takes her time to set time, place and Freddie's angst. Still readers will enjoy the cost of war still being paid by survivors years, even centuries, after the hostilities end.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not her best......

This book was not what I anticipated at all. Too short and too predictable, not worth the $$$.

posted by 3971337 on May 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Winter Ghosts is a fascinating 1928 tale

    Over a decade ago in WWI George Watson vanished while serving on the Western Front. His younger brother Freddie has not been able to move on having found no closure. His grief so great, Freddie spent time in an asylum.

    Ten years have passed since the Armistice ended the combat. Freddie works for the War Grave Commission which enables him to seek clues to his sibling. He drives a motorcar in the French Pyrenees still seeking solace. During a snowstorm, he crashes his vehicle near the remote village of Nulle. At the small mountainous hamlet Freddie meets Fabrissa. That evening, Fabrissa tells him her tale of harassment and death. The next day, Freddie cannot find Fabrissa, but his inquiries for her lead him to a six century old mystery.

    The Winter Ghosts is a fascinating 1928 tale of two individuals who come together for one night; each seeking solace over what was lost of their respective souls due to war. The story line starts extremely slow as Kate Mosse takes her time to set time, place and Freddie's angst. Still readers will enjoy the cost of war still being paid by survivors years, even centuries, after the hostilities end.

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    From The Aussie Zombie

    ‘’The dead leave their shadows, an echo of the space within which once they lived. They haunt us, never fading or growing older as we do. The loss we grieve is not just their futures, but our own’’

    I brought The Winter Ghosts as one of my first ever e-books nearly two years ago, so I’ve no idea why I even choose it – I think because it sounded like a sad and intense story, set in France, which has always held a fascination for me.

    The Winter Ghosts is a slow story, but it is the type of story that should be. The descriptions of regional France and the thoughts and feelings of the main character, Frederick, are beautifully told, with great detail and atmosphere.

    It’s not a scary ghost story, it’s a melancholy ghost story, with some sad moments and a sense of history and mystery thrown in for good measure. The illustrations throughout the book are perfectly matched to the tone, and add an extra dimension.

    I really enjoyed this book – it’s not action packed, but reads quickly and engrossingly, with beautiful writing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Not her best......

    This book was not what I anticipated at all. Too short and too predictable, not worth the $$$.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    Even though this book takes place in the past it's message is ageless. This book is about the horrors human beings suffer and ultimately the survival of the spirt. It is educational and inspirational. I would recommend it to anyone but especially to someone dealing with grief.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    Beautiful!

    Kate Mosse has quickly become one of my favorite authors and Winter Ghosts is a book I cannot wait to re-read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Yes to Winter Ghosts!

    An interesting story premise that really includes Winter Ghosts. The rememberances and possibilities are tied together to make a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    good writing but the story is too predictable

    good writing but the story is too predictable


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Enjoyable

    This book is pretty short and you can tell what's going to happen from the beginning. I still thought it was good. I listened to it on audio and got distracted and had to start over, so the beginning is kind of slow. Once Freddie starts to tell the story of the letter, it picks up and becomes more interesting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Short but worth it

    For those that enjoyed Labyrinth and Sepulcher this is a nice ghost story in much shorter form very well written

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Not as good as her other ones

    I found this one to be not as well wriitten and attention capturing as her previous bookd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2