Customer Reviews for

Winter Moon

Average Rating 4
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Not my favorite Koontz story

    The story starts off fast and engaging. I liked that it wasn't as predictable as some seem to be. I was thoroughly entertained and enthralled all the way to the end. However, I was a bit disappointed in the ending, it did seem odd that they would return to the home where it all began.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    What a dissapointing ending.

    While I really enjoyed reading this book, getting familiar with the characters and their hardships and then enjoying their windfall the ending was just plain dumb.
    They return to the same hell they left to begin with? Dumb, just plain dumb. Really disappointing in the last few pages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    To 'BlazeClan'

    [You need to change your name. There is already a BlazeClan!]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Starkit

    Sits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Rainstar

    Yes. My den is third result.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Read this and couldn't put it down. Loaned it to a friend, who

    Read this and couldn't put it down. Loaned it to a friend, who brought it back a few weeks later...looking all disgusted. I thought he hadn't liked it. He said I COULDN'T STOP READING IT!
    The only problem was, he took it on an out of the country flight...overnight. Couldn't SLEEP! Read the WHOLE FLIGHT! And it seriously CREEPED HIM OUT! To the point where...he was a little nervous using the tiny airplane bathroom!
    And his jet lag was HORRIFIC, because he never slept in flight!
    Now...THAT'S a GOOD BOOK!
    (Just don't read it on long airplane trips out of the country...LOLOL!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Great

    Creepy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Awesome in the usual Koontz fashion. Keeps you riveted to the end.

    Awesome in the usual Koontz fashion. Keeps you riveted to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    They can't all be winners

    I listened to the audio book of Winter Moon. I have been a Dean Koontz fan for many, many years. Winter moon is easily my least favorite Koontz book.

    I love the premise of the story and the climax, once we got there, was fantastic. But getting there took way too long. The book moved very slowly. I felt way too much attention was spent on everyday menial tasks, which is quite boring to read about, or listen to in this case.

    The book started out strong. Jack is a police officer in Los Angeles. The very first chapter starts with him and his partner getting into a shootout. From there, we go to Quartermass Ranch in Montana where we meet Eduardo. Eventually, Jack moves with his wife and son to Montana and live at Quartermass Ranch, which is when things start to get strange and the story starts to pick up. However, this is about three-quarters of the way into the book already.

    I had considered more than once to stop listening and put the book aside, but because I am such a huge fan of Koontz I kept expecting it to get better. I guess they can't all be winners. I won't hold this against him. Still a huge fan, and looking forward to reading more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Fun, thriller...

    I enjoyed WINTER MOON by Dean Koontz. It was easy to read and a real page turner. Thrilling concept, and fun horror. Good characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Wow! :D

    Amazing. Suspenseful. Page-turner. Finished it in 2 days. Love Dean Koontz, Amazing. :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    Great book!

    I usually buy audio books to listen to in the car during my 45 minute commute(one way)to work and back each day. This book was so good I could not wait to get in the car and find out what happened next. I would definately recommend this book to anyone who loves a story that you can't predict the end to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Winter Scare:)

    This one is hard to want to read from the get go, but it definitely takes off after a few chapters. I Loved the parts with the "wild" animals, and also, how the old man thought he might have gone mad. It's suspenseful, but if you are looking for a SCARY book, go read "Phantoms." Scary as hell. That is, given you don't watch the movie starring Ben Affleck. Ugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    If you like a good scare...

    If you like a good scare while reading a book, then I suggest reading Winter Moon. I read this book at night and it gave me goosebumps! Jack takes his family and moves to a ranch in rural Montana. When they get there though, they are not alone. There are walking cadavers, glowing lights, messages in the electronic devices, and wild animals acting not so wild. The situation is brought to a climax during the first blizzard of the season. Will the "Giver" win out against humanity or will the imagination of an 8 year old boy be it's downfall?<BR/><BR/>The only fault I can find in Winter Moon is the divide in the story. The first half and the second half of the book are almost like two separate books. I don't really see how the first half of the story relates much to the rest of the book. The disconnectedness is easily overlooked though. Koontz sure knows how to write a spooky story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2008

    slow out first...but...

    this was the second koontz book that i read, it was really slow at first, i think i quit reading it like three times, but once everything picks up it IS AWSOME!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2007

    Awesome effort

    I loved it, reccomend for everyone who has common sense...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2004

    AN OUTSTANDING GREAT BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!

    Once I started reading this book, I couldn't put it down. The action and horror is outstanding. This is my first Dean Koontz books and I'm going to try to read other books by him. I would recommend this book to anyone, to the fans fo Dean Koontz and to those that haven't read any of Dean Koontz books. This book will not disappoint you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2004

    the ending was blah but i'm giving a 5 anyway

    yes, the ending was a little like 'From the Corner of his Eye': everyone lives happily ever after. The part of the book that involved Ed when he was alive, up to the point when he died was awesome. At one point, I read this book for 5 hours straight. Finished in about 2 days. I know i don't have a life but anyway...No other Koontz book has hooked me like that for some reason, so that's why i gave it a 5 because of the suspense factor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2003

    Not the best Dean you ever read.

    Scary it isn't. Maybe a little annoying once you reach the end of the book and realize that the big monster/alien thing is something that you've seen on television a 100 times already. Sorry not the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2003

    So-So

    This is my 9th book by Koontz. I have to say it's not by any means my favorite. I rc'd this book from another fan who swore it to be a 5 star book. I wouldn't agree. The book was interesting, I seemed to care for the characters but once Eduardo meets the 'monster' it was no longer suspensful. Then once they inherited Eduardo's ranch the rest was expected. You could read into it perfectly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4