Customer Reviews for

Winter Prey (Lucas Davenport Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sandford does it again

    I actually re-purchased "Winter Prey" because I couldn't find it in my library- which holds every other John Sandford novel.
    Sandford's development of Lucas Davenport's character, along with exceptional dialogue and crisp detail of the surroundings of Minnesota combine with efficient plots to create excellent reads. I have read his books more than once and have enjoyed them each time.
    Fast moving, witty and with enough twists to keep me coming back for more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2002

    great!!!

    The book was great, I never wanted to put it down. An A-plus for me

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2000

    Lights on!

    This is absolutely the scariest book I have ever read. I left every light in the house on the night I read this book...all in one sitting, of course! It was GREAT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2014

    I began at the beginning of the list and just completed this one

    I began at the beginning of the list and just completed this one: title number five. Thus far, this one is undoubtedly my favorite. I do love spending time with Lucas Davenport.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Hhi j

    U j. "Guys. Y tjughbhiiv n'huj' u
    tm n I, u. HbGiightj n byi ' umnukyunk. BY'u

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    good read

    good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Auumnclan border

    Autumnclan border

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    This book was okay at times but often frustrating. I have never

    This book was okay at times but often frustrating. I have never seen an author taking up an entire page just to describe a man's shirt. The book is much over packed and can easily be shorter. While reading, you can tell very early in the book what is going to happen at the end. In my opinion, Lucas Davenport seems like a very weird man but he at least knows how to put some humor in a book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Cold & captivating thriller!

    John Sandford does such a great job of making horrifying antagonists and believable protagonists without ruining the mystery of the book. Here he crafts a mystery In a small town that Lucas Davenport is well suited to help. Of course there’s a love interest and it goes predictably up to a point. The book took a ton of twists and characters reacted to events as one would think real people might in these extraordinary circumstances. Overall, a heart stopping book! I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    Very Good Plot, as usual!

    Enjoyed this story right up the the last punctuation mark!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    another Lucas Davenport winner

    Sandford knows what he's doing in creating well written and tight crime thrillers. This one was no exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Davenport Novel!

    Another great story in the Prey Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2008

    Good book

    This book was very well written. Story was pretty solid and the characters fit and felt good to me. Davenport is a guy who everyone can relate to I think. I guess that makes him a good character. Sandford for whatever reason writes books that seem a little short to me, the story seems to go in one direction only - always. That is a disappointment after reading some great authors you hope the same from him but its never there. I have read 9 of his Lucas Davenports books and while they are all really good, the writing is just simple I guess is a good word. Straightforward with no thought required, it can get boring but with strong characters it can be done well enough. If you are looking for a good series with some grit this is for you, if you like guys who are intricate like Deaver for instance this book will dissapoint you terribly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2003

    Couldn't put it down

    Very suspenseful thriller with great diaologue, plot and well developed characters. Lucas Davenport has a pretty twisted yet good sense of humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2003

    Selling Books....

    I read the book however I fail to see why I should write a review to help Barnes and Noble sell more books. Are they really doing the public a service or are they just out for themselves and wanting good reviews so as to make a bigger profit from such reviews?

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2001

    A great read

    As usual Sandford writes another thrilling addition in the life of Lucas Davenport. I like the way he developes all of the characters as well as the story itself. Sandford really has a gift for telling a story and an unlimited knowledge about a lot of things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5