Customer Reviews for

Winter Scandal

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Fantastic story. stayed up till 2 am to read it

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Sweet story

    Liked the book so much i read it to fast. Now i'm left without a book for the rest of the week LOL

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an engaging Regency romance

    A decade ago at Fenstone Park Lord Gabriel Morecombe kissed Thea Bainbridge. Though he never followed up, the kiss left her mentally ruined foe anyone else. Now twenty-seven years old prim and proper Thea is on the shelf. At a Christmas gala hosted by Squire and Mrs. Cliffe, they meet, but though her heart beats out of control, he does not seem to remember who she is or he was her only kiss. Still he flirts with her.

    At the Nativity scene at St. Margaret's Church, Thea finds an abandoned baby wearing a brooch that matches the Morecombe signet ring. Thea confronts Gabriel who insists he is not the father of the infant. He persuades her to help him find the mother of the baby Matthew as he has a very good idea of who she is.

    A Winter Scandal is an engaging Regency romance made refreshed by the mystery of Matthew. The lead couple is an intriguing pairing as she has loved him from their first and only meeting up until the Cliffe party and he falls in love starting with her intelligent eyes. Although no one seems to be trustworthy as betrayal and back stabbing are recurring too frequent themes, readers will enjoy this entertaining historical romantic mystery.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read for the Festive Holiday Season

    Gabriel is intrigued by the vivacity in Thea’s flashing gray eyes when she accuses him of fathering the orphan, even as he adamantly maintains his innocence. The brooch is one he remembers all too well, however, and Gabriel is determined to find the mother of the missing child. As the mystery around the baby deepens, Gabriel is continually thrown together with Thea—and finds himself growing more entranced every day.

    Even with whispers of winter scandal swirling around them, they cannot deny the longing in their hearts. A longing which promises the best gift of all: a shelter from the storm... in each other’s arms.

    Thea Bainbridge has fully acknowledged she's a spinster and being the vicar's sister while turning twenty-seven unmarried has fully put her "on the shelf". Even though she dearly prays that things were different, she accepts her way of life until a baby is mysteriously left in her church's Christmas manger scene. Her only clue from the baby leads to the newest resident in town, Lord Morecombe (aka Gabriel). Before either of them know it, they're swept up into a race to uncover the babies identity and the reason behind its abandonment ... all while confronting their deepening feelings for each other during the festive Holiday season.

    What a pleasing book! I highly enjoy the concept of time passing for two people who shared a pivotal moment in the past and meeting again in the future, but that was just one of the many delightful parts of the story. Little Matthew was way more adorable than a real baby could ever be, but he added a lot of cuteness to the overall tale and his interactions with everyone throughout really warmed up their written characters. The mystery concept was intriguing and it was nice to see Thea bloom throughout and really witness her hardened persona becoming softer and more open to love. Many of the side characters were appealing and I'm interested to see who will be the next couple in this series (*fingers crossed* for Damaris & Lord Rawdon)

    Likes: Gabriel's persistent passion toward Thea was something I highly enjoyed throughout, he wasn't shy about public displays of affection or playfully tuning Thea's words back on her in a "mind-in-the-gutter" sort of way - Fun guy!

    Dislikes: I had a different outcome in mind for Gabriel's sister, thus I was somewhat sad to find out the real truth!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Great Winter Romance!

    I loved meeting Gabriel and Thea! Good mystery, Great story for the end of the Christmas season, I am looking forward to see if there is another story to follow!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Wow! Great read.

    I really enjoyed this book. My heart went out to Thea and baby Matthew. I cannot wait for book 2. I hope it is Rawdon story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    A MUST READ!!!!!!

    You will not be disappointed. Truly a beautiful love story. I was so caught up in the story, that I couldn't put it down. I will be reading this one again. Candace Camp is a brilliant writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2