Customer Reviews for

Winter Solstice

Average Rating 4.5
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

The Best Book I have read in a long time

This is a wonderful book that takes everyday people, people you may know or be, and drops them in Scotland near the Christmas Holidays. (I don't like to give out details of a book. It can make others not care to read it because they already know the story.) They all ...
This is a wonderful book that takes everyday people, people you may know or be, and drops them in Scotland near the Christmas Holidays. (I don't like to give out details of a book. It can make others not care to read it because they already know the story.) They all need someone in their life that would love and care for them. Ms Pilcher has made the story a place I would want to be and has peopled the story with people I would like to know. I would not say these people are depressed. They each have problems they need to deal with and do so. Once again Rosamunde Pilcher has come to save me. And I thank her. I feel this book would be of interest to anyone who likes to read. I read 2-3 books per week. But I can always count on Ms. Pilcher to take me on a well written, entertaining and enjoyable journey. And she does.

posted by Anonymous on September 12, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I love this story

I have just finished having my annual read of "Winter Solstice" - almost every year since it came out in 2001. My copy is getting a bit ragged. For whatever reason, this particular Rosamunde Pilcher story is my favorite and one of only a few books I read over and over. ...
I have just finished having my annual read of "Winter Solstice" - almost every year since it came out in 2001. My copy is getting a bit ragged. For whatever reason, this particular Rosamunde Pilcher story is my favorite and one of only a few books I read over and over. The characters are so real and I can feel that bitter cold of northern Scotland in winter as I read it. Perhaps it is because they are so well described and we all know people like them. Even Horace is wonderful. It is an uplifting story of tragedy that can be conquered and you want them to succeed as the story unfolds. Ms. Pilcher has certainly given us many excellent books during her long life. I have read most of them and would recommend them highly.

posted by lovestotravel on December 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2000

    The Best Book I have read in a long time

    This is a wonderful book that takes everyday people, people you may know or be, and drops them in Scotland near the Christmas Holidays. (I don't like to give out details of a book. It can make others not care to read it because they already know the story.) They all need someone in their life that would love and care for them. Ms Pilcher has made the story a place I would want to be and has peopled the story with people I would like to know. I would not say these people are depressed. They each have problems they need to deal with and do so. Once again Rosamunde Pilcher has come to save me. And I thank her. I feel this book would be of interest to anyone who likes to read. I read 2-3 books per week. But I can always count on Ms. Pilcher to take me on a well written, entertaining and enjoyable journey. And she does.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    A Must Read

    Helene Hanff was once quoted as saying that she didn't like fiction because she couldn't get excited about things that never happened to people who never lived. Rosamunde Pilcher's characters in Winter Solstice live and breathe and jump out of the pages.
    Although first introduced to this story by the audio book read by the marvelously talented Lynn Redgrave, I ordered to nook book and found a treasure. The audio book was abridged and so I found myself discovering new Pilcher treasure in the details edited from the audio version. Christmas shopping with Sam Howard, icy stares from Gloria Blundell and descriptions of Scotland in it's winter mantle were wonderful treats.
    The story is about how life can take an unexpected and sometimes tragic turn to set your life on a new path. A horrible car accident, the end of an affair, a new job and a child feeling unwanted and unloved all cause these 5 characters to come together in a Scotland snowstorm.
    Pilcher's characters are richly written and I feel as if I could sit around the table with them and exchange stories. There is Oscar, kind but distant in his grief and at odds with GOD for taking his family from him. Then Elfrida who loves people and cares deeply for Oscar and couldn't be happier with a house full of people helping to touch the lives of each person in her own special way. Next there's Carrie who is sure that her dreams of love are over forever and emotionally drained from an affair that ended with loss. With Carrie comes Lucy worried that she will remind Oscar of the daughter he lost but reeling from feeling unwanted and unimportant as her mother flies off to the States with a new love. And finally there is Sam who is slowly rebuilding his life after his wife informs him that she wants out of their marriage. His company calls him back to the UK from New York to reopen a defunct woolen mill in the North of Scotland. This is a story that I return to again and again, especially at Christmas. I find great comfort in their friendship and learn from their life lessons to stay open to change for it may lead you to the life that you are meant to live.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    This is one to enjoy qny time life gets too hectic and you want a quiet, comfortable, heart warming read.

    I have enjoyed several of Pilcher's books and cannot understand why more are not available on Nook! A classic like "The Shell Seekers" is a must read for any fan.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    One of the best writers ever!

    I have read all of Roseamunde Pilcher's book over and over again. Her son, Robin, writes like his Mother.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    Wonderful book!! Great writing. A must read. I read this book 4 times.

    Peronally Ms Pilcher is my favorite author. I have read "winter Solstice" four times. I most likely will read it again. This is a wonderful read. The people you meet in this book, you want to know, you want to visit with. They became real people. This novel is warm and compelling. Ms.Pilcher has such a wonderful gift of writing. One cannot put her books down. I will search for more of her books, I all ready own most of them. Janet Owren

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    Great read

    Great Book, Quick Read. Very heartwarming. Would read it again. Would definately read other books by her.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    Recommended

    Author presents a fictional story about a very independent retired actress who finds a new life and love in Scotland after overcoming a lot of problems. The descriptions of the country are lovely.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Wonderfully rich... like eating chocolate

    I don't understand why all of Ms. Pilcher's books are not available for the nook. This is the third book I've read of hers and all have exceeded my expectations. I'll read this book again and again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Delightful

    This is a delightful book which takes place in Scotland, present day. A peaceful story of life of 2 characters and others that weave into the story. At times I found it amazing that the USA and United Kingdom both speak "english" but they are soooooo different but it did not take away from the story. I don't usually read English books so it took me a moment or two to get into it but now I'm ready for more. I read this during the heatwave of the 2012 summer and with all the cold and snow in this story it helped to keep me cool. I hope you enjoy it also!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2011

    I love this story

    I have just finished having my annual read of "Winter Solstice" - almost every year since it came out in 2001. My copy is getting a bit ragged. For whatever reason, this particular Rosamunde Pilcher story is my favorite and one of only a few books I read over and over. The characters are so real and I can feel that bitter cold of northern Scotland in winter as I read it. Perhaps it is because they are so well described and we all know people like them. Even Horace is wonderful. It is an uplifting story of tragedy that can be conquered and you want them to succeed as the story unfolds. Ms. Pilcher has certainly given us many excellent books during her long life. I have read most of them and would recommend them highly.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    my aunt and i re-read this together every december before the ho

    my aunt and i re-read this together every december before the holidays.  magical, cozy and very british-what more could one want?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2013

    what an accomplishment--l loved these people and wanted more!

    what an accomplishment--l loved these people and wanted more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Wonderful

    It's snowing every day here in Michigan and I have been having a stressful time with my job but everything is okay when I read this book every night! Thank you Rosamunde Pilcher for bringing me joy and serenity!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Why does B.N print reviews that dont apply to the story?

    Not only do they not weed out the trash, we also can not buy any of Rosamund Pinchers books in english sans one on our nooks.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    An unlikely story charmingly told . .

    Very readable, easy on the intellect. A book to take to the hospital with you or when you go to bed with a cold.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    Rosamunde Pilcher's WINTER SOLSTICE

    I started reading Rosamunde Pilcher around the same time I picked up a few books by Maeve Binchy; they both reside in relatively the same sector of the world.

    Truthfully, I believe I mistook one for the other when I first started reading their books because of the relatively close proximity of their residences; then literally found another great author!

    Truly I cannot say enough about either writer; their books are right on the mark and again a great read whether you are of the male or female species.

    D ~

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2010

    My first time reading Ms. Pilcher and I highly recommend this book!!

    I loved the book and could not put it down. Read from start to finish and now I want too read more from this author. I would really like to see a series to this story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A beautiful escape!

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this novel- Winter Solstice"- Would love to read a sequel to it~
    I love how the author intertwines the characters' lives and in such a picturesque setting. The way it is written reminds me of several of Maeve Binchy's novels-different characters come together thru mutual circumstances. I think it is a great way to bring to life a group of characters (and not be in an English murder mystery novel-although I do love reading those too)!.
    I recommend this book to anyone who would love a nice diversion from the work-a-day world-it almost makes one feel as if they are on a vacation of sorts~

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    MY ABSOLUTE FAVORITE BOOK

    I am a voracious reader ... I devour approximately 65 books per year and this is my absolute, all time favorite book. I have to read this every Christmas or I feel my holidays are missing something. I love all the characters - especially Elfrida and Oscar. Even Dodie and Nicola serve their purpose. I have read several of Rosamunde Pilcher's books and this is by far her very best. Since I just ordered NOOK I am hoping some of her books will be available in e-book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    never lets you down

    I reread this book many a December. The characters and story are satisfying and never miss a beat. My favorite of all her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7