BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Winter Study (Anna Pigeon Series #14)

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I found Winter Study to be fascinating!

As always, Nevada Barr puts you into the environment and makes nature the most honest character. I learned about the effects of extreme cold on animals and humans and about the restricted ecosystem of Isle Royale, just south of the Canadian border. The twisting plot l...
As always, Nevada Barr puts you into the environment and makes nature the most honest character. I learned about the effects of extreme cold on animals and humans and about the restricted ecosystem of Isle Royale, just south of the Canadian border. The twisting plot left me guessing. My husband enjoyed Winter Study as well, and he rarely finishes a book that is not about military history or politics!

posted by 833021 on June 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed Fan

I usually love Nevada Barr's novels. This one was more then a little hard to get through. And sorry, some of the plot lines were less then probable. Lets just say... I would hope if I 'disappeared' in the middle of the bitterly freezing cold night, that the search party...
I usually love Nevada Barr's novels. This one was more then a little hard to get through. And sorry, some of the plot lines were less then probable. Lets just say... I would hope if I 'disappeared' in the middle of the bitterly freezing cold night, that the search party would use snow mobiles rather then cross-country skis.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    Disappointed Fan

    I usually love Nevada Barr's novels. This one was more then a little hard to get through. And sorry, some of the plot lines were less then probable. Lets just say... I would hope if I 'disappeared' in the middle of the bitterly freezing cold night, that the search party would use snow mobiles rather then cross-country skis.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    I found Winter Study to be fascinating!

    As always, Nevada Barr puts you into the environment and makes nature the most honest character. I learned about the effects of extreme cold on animals and humans and about the restricted ecosystem of Isle Royale, just south of the Canadian border. The twisting plot left me guessing. My husband enjoyed Winter Study as well, and he rarely finishes a book that is not about military history or politics!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    Not up to par

    Usually I enjoy Nevada Barr's books. This story was so bizarre and disjointed, it was difficult to get involved in the story. Identifying the 'bad guy' was easy...he was also so one-dimensional it was hard to even think of him as a real villian. Don't waste your money on this one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2008

    Scariest Anna Pigeon mystery yet

    Beyond the stellar series hero Anna Pigeon (by herself enough to recommend the book), 'Winter Study' has a wonderfully visual setting: Michigan's Isle Royale National Park, where Anna has joined a research project on the area's wolf and moose population. Complicating the study is the presence of the Dept of Homeland Security due to border security concerns. Amid the unforgivingly harsh winter weather, with it's blinding blizzards and teeming darkness, comes a deadly attack on a fellow researcher by an unknown, abnormally large and powerful animal, and the odd, unusually provocative behavior by local wolf packs against the region's human-populated settlements. Hanging over it all is the irrational paranoia of legendary ghosts and mythical beasts. But Anna has more to contend with than just old campfire stories: there are several scenes of satisfyingly brutal violence, as well as terrifying natural threats to overcome. I think this is one of the series' grimmest entries (which I like), with spine-tingling dread and suspense building on every page. Highly recommended if you don't mind the darker nature of the story and the villains.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    Weird vaguely anti-Catholic commentary becomming tiresome

    I've always enjoyed Nevada Barr's novels. I love the National Park backdrops, and I used to like the Anna Pigeon character, but I honestly didn't like her much in this book. She's no longer someone I'd like to sit down and enjoy a beer with. The snideness, the cynicism, the sneering, and the completely unnecessary and jarring anti-Catholic jibes became grating this go round. Oh well. All good things must come to an end.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    One of Nevada's Best

    In this fascinating account of Isle Royale's Winter Study, Nevada Barr has given the reader a rich description of the park and the wolves who live there. Her human characters are equally compelling, and her main character, Anna Pigeon, has her own unique viewpoint about the other characters in this book. Anna's adventures on Isle Royale are gripping, and keep you at the edge of your seat. I think this is one of Ms. Barr's best works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    Not a good read.

    I have read most of the Nevada Barr Anna Pigeon series and would give the others a 4 or a 5 star rating. This book was insufferable. The characters were not well developed, she again got her licks in to bash the people that visit our National Parks, the story line was highly improbable and the book itself was just plain blood, guts and gore. Don't waste your time on this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    Vintage Barr

    More of what we have come to expect from Barr. She makes you feel her settings - I felt the cold as I read this

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    Winter Study

    I have all of Nevada Barr's books and love them. I can relate to the places where her books take place as I was in the Forest Service and have actually been to many of these places. I like her character Anna, because she is very down to earth and also a strong woman. I got so caught up in the story it was hard to put it down after the first few chapters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    Winter Study was very distasteful.

    I have read several other Nevada Barr books and am a fan of wilderness books. This was very unpleasant to read. Very improbable situations, very distasteful characters, etc. She could have done much better re this moose-wolf study team. Skip it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    All of her books are really good and this one is no exception. I always look forward to books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2009

    A Nice Read

    Nevada Barr has again intertwined mystery and drama with nature. Joyce Bean has done an excellent job with the characters.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Time: The Leaf-Bare War

    &star&star<_>~ The Leaf-Bare War <br> &starf&starf&starf&starf&starf&starf&starf&starf<_>~ Comet Is Independant <p> Imperiale Comet pushed the cats of the stone, causing a yelp. <br> "Its a cat from StarClan! She comes to bring a prophecy!" A cat gasped, causing the crowd to bow. <br> "StarClan I am not. Independant I am." They leaped to their paws. "Yet a prophecy I shall deliver." <p> "Burnt and Comet are the key... <br> Tis most definitely your destiny... <br> Two kits lost... <br> Independance is what they see, <br> Not a lying StarClan, <br> free." The cats growled. <br> "You are just a kit!" Laughed Maskedstar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    Nevada Barr lets you feel the story.

    I'm sorry I can't read 24 hours a day, because Nevada Barr keeps me spellbound.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    Yet another top title from Nevada Barr

    Barr is a former National Park Service professional, so that gives her insight into how things really work in that agency. This is no exception. I just finished the title and I am now developing dreams of actually visiting Isle Royale National Park, the place where this story is set.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    Depressing

    Winter Study was my introduction to Nevada Barr's writing. I was really disappointed. The characters were as cold and frozen as the setting for the book. Barr's plodding style and slow plot development lost my interest and I had to make myself finish the book. The first character to die had already given the necessary comments to solve the mystery. I cannot recommend this book to anyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Cold blooded killings and suspense

    Author sets up characters and scene at National Park in winter. Details make you climb under blankets to stay warm while the plot unfolds. At the end of a chapter you cannot stop but are enticed to read some more of the mystery plot. Animals are as much a part of the intrigue as the people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    Anna Pigeon fans will be delighted

    interesting info. regarding wildlife study and evaluation--- excellent personal story which was hard to put down-- could read until I am finished, but life gets in the way

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Weak Finale

    Like several of Ms. Barr's latest Pigeon thrillers, this started well but ended improbably. She is making Anna too much of a super hero and needs to return her to the more fallible character she was earlier in the series. Barr is too good of a writer to turn out total failures- she writes great nature scenes- but she needs to take care lest she stumble into Robert B. Parker territory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another edge of the seat Anna Pigeon thriller

    Once again Nevada Barr combines regional facts with a murder thriller. Anna Pigeon is sent off to Isle Royal with researchers to study wolves. Superstition, sub zero temperatures and murder will keep you on the edge of the seat. Exciting from start to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3