Customer Reviews for

Winter of the World (The Century Trilogy #2)

Average Rating 4
( 532 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(298)

4 Star

(106)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

51 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

Well Worth Twenty Dollars

These imbeciles who do book reviews based on COST should put a sock in it and go to the library. If you can't afford to buy a book, don't complain and post a bad review when readers are looking for reviews about the CONTENT of the book. Most, if not all people who rea...
These imbeciles who do book reviews based on COST should put a sock in it and go to the library. If you can't afford to buy a book, don't complain and post a bad review when readers are looking for reviews about the CONTENT of the book. Most, if not all people who read book reviews are not interested in your sob stories about how you should get all your eBooks for free because you feel entitled. I'm sure you don't think twice about spending twenty bucks on junk at your local Walmart.

Second book in trilogy is as good as or even better than the first. Can't put it down, except for when I have to work. Ken Follett is a master at creating characters that are so colorful and fascinating that I wish I could step into the book and meet them. The amount of historical research that Follett had to do is amazing. Maybe he should do all of that research and writing for free...

posted by 4645656 on September 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

40 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

Like Slogging Through a Russian Winter

Good Lord--what happened?! "Fall of Giants," the first book in the proposed trilogy, is a wonderful, "grab you" read. It was like the best comfort food on a dreary day, and I read it in one long sitting. Waiting for this, I was terribly excited...and and utterly crush...
Good Lord--what happened?! "Fall of Giants," the first book in the proposed trilogy, is a wonderful, "grab you" read. It was like the best comfort food on a dreary day, and I read it in one long sitting. Waiting for this, I was terribly excited...and and utterly crushed to find this next volume largely unreadable. It's a huge disappointment.

***WAY too many characters, WAY too many plotlines and little to no in depth characterization--there's no time! Therefore, it becomes not only difficult to keep track of who they are, where they are--but to care about them. That was not a problem in "Giants," but here? This rambles to the point where, at times, I found myself skimming. With the exception of Lloyd and Robert (who, unless I missed it, just disappears in the first 150 pages and is never mentioned again)--the rest? Uh--whatever. "Pillars of the Earth" also proved Follett can masterfully handle a large scope...but this does not work.

***Tries too hard to be too many places; there seems to be a need to have ALL the characters in history's hot spots: Berlin, Pearl Harbor, Midway, the Solomon Islands, meeting Hitler, being in Parliament, seeing Churchill, rescuing Blitz victims--it's too much and begins to read as too contrived. (Long lost and now estranged brothers suddenly finding each other as one is dying in a RAF battle...come on)

***Ponderous pace and writing; while "Giants" moves swiftly, getting us involved in the characters' plights, this is wooden. At times, the prose is mechanical, leaden--no elegance or grace. Minute battle details that lose attention quickly--then areas brushed over that would probably grab our attention.

If half the characters, half the scope and half the length were cut--we'd still have a 500 page novel--and a gripping, intriguing read. This is mind boggling and pretty much tells me that even if part three takes another two years...no matter. I won't be reading it. Oh--so disappointed.

posted by irishclaireKG on September 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 533 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Well Worth Twenty Dollars

    These imbeciles who do book reviews based on COST should put a sock in it and go to the library. If you can't afford to buy a book, don't complain and post a bad review when readers are looking for reviews about the CONTENT of the book. Most, if not all people who read book reviews are not interested in your sob stories about how you should get all your eBooks for free because you feel entitled. I'm sure you don't think twice about spending twenty bucks on junk at your local Walmart.

    Second book in trilogy is as good as or even better than the first. Can't put it down, except for when I have to work. Ken Follett is a master at creating characters that are so colorful and fascinating that I wish I could step into the book and meet them. The amount of historical research that Follett had to do is amazing. Maybe he should do all of that research and writing for free...

    51 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Like Slogging Through a Russian Winter

    Good Lord--what happened?! "Fall of Giants," the first book in the proposed trilogy, is a wonderful, "grab you" read. It was like the best comfort food on a dreary day, and I read it in one long sitting. Waiting for this, I was terribly excited...and and utterly crushed to find this next volume largely unreadable. It's a huge disappointment.

    ***WAY too many characters, WAY too many plotlines and little to no in depth characterization--there's no time! Therefore, it becomes not only difficult to keep track of who they are, where they are--but to care about them. That was not a problem in "Giants," but here? This rambles to the point where, at times, I found myself skimming. With the exception of Lloyd and Robert (who, unless I missed it, just disappears in the first 150 pages and is never mentioned again)--the rest? Uh--whatever. "Pillars of the Earth" also proved Follett can masterfully handle a large scope...but this does not work.

    ***Tries too hard to be too many places; there seems to be a need to have ALL the characters in history's hot spots: Berlin, Pearl Harbor, Midway, the Solomon Islands, meeting Hitler, being in Parliament, seeing Churchill, rescuing Blitz victims--it's too much and begins to read as too contrived. (Long lost and now estranged brothers suddenly finding each other as one is dying in a RAF battle...come on)

    ***Ponderous pace and writing; while "Giants" moves swiftly, getting us involved in the characters' plights, this is wooden. At times, the prose is mechanical, leaden--no elegance or grace. Minute battle details that lose attention quickly--then areas brushed over that would probably grab our attention.

    If half the characters, half the scope and half the length were cut--we'd still have a 500 page novel--and a gripping, intriguing read. This is mind boggling and pretty much tells me that even if part three takes another two years...no matter. I won't be reading it. Oh--so disappointed.

    40 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    He's phoning it in,

    I've been waiting for this book for 2 years. I'm so disappointed. His other trilogy books grabbed me by the end of the first 20 pages and never let go. I kept reading and kept hoping it would get better. No such luck. I read Fall of Giants in one day. I couldn't put it down. This book just seems bloated and I have really no desire to lose sleep in order to find out what comes next. I haven't been this heart broken since Tom Clancy started to suck.

    37 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Stop complaining

    This is a forum for people to discuss the book and talk about whether they liked it or not.. its not b and n fault its 20 dollars. Its the publisher. Stop being cheapos. Its 1000 pages for goodness sakes thats 20 bucks for a few weeks of reading. Sheesh

    30 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Follett is worth the price.

    At 20 bucks it's a bargain. 1000 pages of great writing.

    25 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Disappointing!

    Following the "Fall of Giants" this second installment in the Century Trilogy follows the five families from the Nazi encroachment in Germany in 1933 through World War II and the atomic bomb. Follett paints a portrait of an atrocious period in our world with an interwoven web of darkness, hope, crisis, and despair. Presented through American, German, Russian, English, and Welsh perspectives, the characters play out this drama with harmony and discord. Even staunch Follett fans will find it somewhat difficult to plow through this latest tale. Although the historic accounts and the inclusion of real historical figures add a wonderful dimension, too often the characters get lost in tiring repeated opinions, political and moral discourses, and lengthy literary proselytizing. The style is leaning too much towards James Michener's sweeping verbose sagas and further from Mr. Follett's gripping, memorable narratives originated in "Pillars of the Earth." I am on the fence about reading the third installment.

    22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    It was terrific, BUT

    I thought the book was wonderful, but I feel that Follett, despite all of the detail included, left out one of the most significant aspects of World War II, namely the holocaust. Yes, he made allusion to the death camps, but only briefly. He had his characters present at almost every important event of the time, so why not at least one scene describing SOMEONE being present to fully describe the horrors found ehen the Americans and the Russians liberated the death camps?

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    All the haters

    You have to remember that follett writes 1000 page books. If you go through all of that effort, you want something back.

    14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    great read

    Wish we didn't have to wait so long for the next book.

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Enjoyable!

    As someone who never really got into history, this series has really grabbed me. I love reading the perspectives of families in different countries. I did have a hard time keeping up with all of the characters in this book, but overall, i thought it was excellent.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Highly Recommend!

    As always Ken Follett writes a wonderful book with in depth characters and well researched historical facts. Even though the book was very long, I read it in a few days.
    I truly hope he continues to write these very well researched historical books.

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Disappointed

    This book spent FAR too much time going back over details from the first book. Every new section had some of the same reminders and I found it very annoying. This book could have easily been 150 pages less and maybe the cost wouldn't have been so ridiculous. I doubt I will be interested enough to buy the third one. This book didn't even come close to the first one. I was throughly disappointed.

    11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    I listened to the book on CD (all 25 of them!) and loved every m

    I listened to the book on CD (all 25 of them!) and loved every minute of it. The reader, John Lee, has an amazing ability to give each character his or her own voice. I had no trouble following the characters or the plot. This book gives a sympathetic face to the many Germans who were not Nazis and it gives the reader a glimpse into what it was like to live during the rise of Naziism. It also gives the reader a picture of what life was like for the Germans during the Russian occupation. This book puts a different face on World War II, both in
    Germany and in Russia. Follett's portrayal of Stalin is quite illuminating. This is not a rehashing of hundreds of other fictional books that take place during WWII.

    I enjoyed Follett's interesting characters, his description of daily life in Germany and Russia, and even some of the flawed characters (Fitz, Eric, etc.) show a touch of humanity and dimension of character. It is with great anticipation that I await the third book in this trilogy.

    For those who did not enjoy reading this book, I suggest that you listen to it. It's a marvelous way to enjoy this lengthy, multi-faceted book.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Wow...

    Just finished reading fall of giants and was looking forward to purchasing this book to read .....but $20 for an ebook!!! No way! Looks like ill be waiting to buy a hardcopy...at least ill have something to show for the money spent. * major disapointment*

    10 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    ? 20.00

    Would rather buy the book, at least you get something for the money.

    10 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    I feel the same. NOT paying this much for ebook. Sorry i brought the nook..

    Not paying this much for ebook

    9 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    IMHO

    I thoroughly enjoyed the first volume--Fall of Giants, but this volume just didn't measure up. I could certainly tell the author was English when he had one of his American characters refer to the hood of a car as the "bonnet". That is a definite English term. Also, portions of the story line pertaining to World War II seemed to have been lifted from a Hollywood movie script (think Midway). Disappointing. I may read the third volume once it is published but I won't be anxiously waiting for it. Too bad as the author is better than this particular book.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2012

    I'm almost done with this book.. and I'm going to hate to see it

    I'm almost done with this book.. and I'm going to hate to see it end.. That's how good it is!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I love this second installment in the trilogy. I actually like i

    I love this second installment in the trilogy. I actually like it better than the first one. I think it might have something do with the fact that I know more about the history of this era. The characters are fully fleshed out and the history is fascinating. What more could you ask? You get a great story and a history lesson all wrapped up as one.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Essential for historical fiction buffs

    Fast paced and chock full of historical information about events leading up to WW II. It made so many issues clear and gave a scary insight that makes it easier to understand the present. I am anxious to see what the final book will be. I have not read anything by Mr. Follett that I didn't fall into.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 533 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27