Customer Reviews for

Winter of the World (The Century Trilogy #2)

Average Rating 4
( 545 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(302)

4 Star

(111)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

55 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

Well Worth Twenty Dollars

These imbeciles who do book reviews based on COST should put a sock in it and go to the library. If you can't afford to buy a book, don't complain and post a bad review when readers are looking for reviews about the CONTENT of the book. Most, if not all people who rea...
These imbeciles who do book reviews based on COST should put a sock in it and go to the library. If you can't afford to buy a book, don't complain and post a bad review when readers are looking for reviews about the CONTENT of the book. Most, if not all people who read book reviews are not interested in your sob stories about how you should get all your eBooks for free because you feel entitled. I'm sure you don't think twice about spending twenty bucks on junk at your local Walmart.

Second book in trilogy is as good as or even better than the first. Can't put it down, except for when I have to work. Ken Follett is a master at creating characters that are so colorful and fascinating that I wish I could step into the book and meet them. The amount of historical research that Follett had to do is amazing. Maybe he should do all of that research and writing for free...

posted by 4645656 on September 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

43 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

Like Slogging Through a Russian Winter

Good Lord--what happened?! "Fall of Giants," the first book in the proposed trilogy, is a wonderful, "grab you" read. It was like the best comfort food on a dreary day, and I read it in one long sitting. Waiting for this, I was terribly excited...and and utterly crush...
Good Lord--what happened?! "Fall of Giants," the first book in the proposed trilogy, is a wonderful, "grab you" read. It was like the best comfort food on a dreary day, and I read it in one long sitting. Waiting for this, I was terribly excited...and and utterly crushed to find this next volume largely unreadable. It's a huge disappointment.

***WAY too many characters, WAY too many plotlines and little to no in depth characterization--there's no time! Therefore, it becomes not only difficult to keep track of who they are, where they are--but to care about them. That was not a problem in "Giants," but here? This rambles to the point where, at times, I found myself skimming. With the exception of Lloyd and Robert (who, unless I missed it, just disappears in the first 150 pages and is never mentioned again)--the rest? Uh--whatever. "Pillars of the Earth" also proved Follett can masterfully handle a large scope...but this does not work.

***Tries too hard to be too many places; there seems to be a need to have ALL the characters in history's hot spots: Berlin, Pearl Harbor, Midway, the Solomon Islands, meeting Hitler, being in Parliament, seeing Churchill, rescuing Blitz victims--it's too much and begins to read as too contrived. (Long lost and now estranged brothers suddenly finding each other as one is dying in a RAF battle...come on)

***Ponderous pace and writing; while "Giants" moves swiftly, getting us involved in the characters' plights, this is wooden. At times, the prose is mechanical, leaden--no elegance or grace. Minute battle details that lose attention quickly--then areas brushed over that would probably grab our attention.

If half the characters, half the scope and half the length were cut--we'd still have a 500 page novel--and a gripping, intriguing read. This is mind boggling and pretty much tells me that even if part three takes another two years...no matter. I won't be reading it. Oh--so disappointed.

posted by irishclaireKG on September 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 546 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 28
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Talent is not free

    I have not even read this book yet ... I certainly intend to. The talent of the author is not free. After reading the Fall of Giants I will pay $20 to read the next book. The 3rating is only because i have not yet read the book. I will read this book and repost a review.

    6 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    How many reviews should one person give per book

    Why are people allowed to leave 5 to 10 reviews for the same book . Such reviews are often plot spoilers ,poorly written and totally opposite opinions of what they wrote the day or hour before !
    There should be a limit so that people who are truly interested in an intelligent review wont have to go thru endless ,mindless chatter

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2012

    Must read!! The book is worth the price, ereader or hard copy.

    Ken Follett captured history through the eyes and events of several familys during our darkest time. I reccomend all of Follett's books. He is a master writer, story teller and historian.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    GeriR... What a rip-off!

    What a rip-off... I just returned this very book at Costco, thinking I'd save money on the ebook plus not have to lug the 1000 pages around. Costco sells this book for $18.99. I feel completely taken advantage of. I'm going back to Costco and re-buy it.

    4 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Not the best.

    This book is WW II for dummies.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2012

    Whew!

    This is a very, very long book, and I am still reading it. The book is most enjoyable, informative with a good bit of World War II history thrown in. Follet has done a wonderful job of re-introducing the main characters and introducing their off-spring. This book is meeting my expectations and has been well worth the wait. A very good read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    This is a wonderful historical novel!

    I am almost finished with this book, and I can hardly put it down. The storyline completely holds my attention, although I had to use a "cheat sheet" to keep the families straight for the first hundred pages. Now, I feel related to all of them and I enjoy the connections they make among the countries. The bonus for me is the research and clarity shed by Follett on World War II which my father fought in. I am giving these first two books to my brother for his birthday although he doesn't often read fiction. I think that baby boomers and seniors will especially enjoy this trilogy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Almost as bad as Fall of Giants

    I was hoping this book would be better but it is just as boring. Will not make the mistake of buying the third book. I wish he would write another book in his cathedral series instead.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Excellent

    Fantastic second installmenr

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    The best!

    This sequel to Fall of Giants was fantastic. It picks right up where the other left off and I found myself reading it for hours at a time because I could just not put it down. And yet when it ended I wanted more. I can hardly wait till the final book comes out ( I hear the end of 2014). Follett makes you want to know what happens to his characters and their offspring

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    After "Fall of Giants," I was excited for the second b

    After "Fall of Giants," I was excited for the second book. What a disappointment; I was expecting so much more. For all that are thinking about paying the $20.00 for the e-book, I suggest you save your hard-earned money, it's not worth it. Two hundred pages or 1000 pages, a bad book is a bad book. Besides the money, you can't get your precious time back. Does anyone have any recommendations for a great historical fiction read?

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    great story telling

    None does it better than Ken Follett

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    B & N read in store doesn't work

    The one star is for b&n not meeting their promise.

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Good book

    A very good book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Correction

    I meant better than the first...too early in the morning.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    I have yet to read anything by Ken Follet that I didn't love. So

    I have yet to read anything by Ken Follet that I didn't love. So far I have only had time to read an excerpt of this book, but I have confidence. NanSC

    2 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Cannot wait third book!

    Had to pace myself....could have finished very quicky but wanted to be sure did not miss anything. Book gave characters opportunity to grow, learn from past errors...will surely read this book and Fall of Giants again.....while waiting for last book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Please lower the price way to much for ereader

    Would like to read however will not pay 20 dollars

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    I'm always intimidated at first by the sheer size of Ken Follet'

    I'm always intimidated at first by the sheer size of Ken Follet's books. I read "Pillars of the Earth" and "World Without End' in their (fat) paperback versions and loved them, but even so, I waited awhile to decide to start his next series, The Century Trilogy, just because I wasn't sure I was ready to take on the weight of the books. Enter the Nook Book versions of "Fall of Giants" and "Winter of the World" -- problem solved, and as always his stories never disappoint. Tracking families from the first book through the second somehow deepens the connection to the stories, and you can suspend any disbelief that these interconnected characters managed to be first-hand witness to almost every major event of the 20th century. Now I can't wait for the final book of the trilogy (Nook version of course)!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Good story! SLANTED to authors politics and moral beliefs.

    This story held my interest as I expected. Mr.FOllett is a great story writer. I guess I should have expected to see the underlying message he is putting out as it is a part of him. He is anticapitalist. An atheistic socialist, and he slants the carachters with those beliefs to be the normal, intelligent ones. I am insulted in some ways....that he could try to disparage the very beliefs that made the USA the strong influence in this war. Christians are not antihomosexual, antijewish, nor antiwoman. Free ENterprise by a society who lives by the golden rule of do unto others as you would have them do unto you is how I perceived our USA was made strong... understanding that downfalls existed because this rule is not attempted to be followed as it should. Therefore, this great country has seen slavery, bigotry on various scale, and injustice. Fortunately.. accountability has changed some of these ills in our nation. I digress........ to insult such men as Winston Churchhill in this book, is a way for him to try to rewrite history... I do understand this is a book of fiction.. using true historical events succh as the holocaust and the war itself. I GUESS ITS ONLY NATURAL THAT THE AUTHOR WRITE FROM HIS PERSPECTIVE OF WHAT IS REAL. I FEEL HE IS SADLY MISLEAD, But he is an entertaining writer!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 546 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 28