BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Winter of the World (The Century Trilogy #2)

Average Rating 4
( 547 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(303)

4 Star

(111)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

56 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

Well Worth Twenty Dollars

These imbeciles who do book reviews based on COST should put a sock in it and go to the library. If you can't afford to buy a book, don't complain and post a bad review when readers are looking for reviews about the CONTENT of the book. Most, if not all people who rea...
These imbeciles who do book reviews based on COST should put a sock in it and go to the library. If you can't afford to buy a book, don't complain and post a bad review when readers are looking for reviews about the CONTENT of the book. Most, if not all people who read book reviews are not interested in your sob stories about how you should get all your eBooks for free because you feel entitled. I'm sure you don't think twice about spending twenty bucks on junk at your local Walmart.

Second book in trilogy is as good as or even better than the first. Can't put it down, except for when I have to work. Ken Follett is a master at creating characters that are so colorful and fascinating that I wish I could step into the book and meet them. The amount of historical research that Follett had to do is amazing. Maybe he should do all of that research and writing for free...

posted by 4645656 on September 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

43 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

Like Slogging Through a Russian Winter

Good Lord--what happened?! "Fall of Giants," the first book in the proposed trilogy, is a wonderful, "grab you" read. It was like the best comfort food on a dreary day, and I read it in one long sitting. Waiting for this, I was terribly excited...and and utterly crush...
Good Lord--what happened?! "Fall of Giants," the first book in the proposed trilogy, is a wonderful, "grab you" read. It was like the best comfort food on a dreary day, and I read it in one long sitting. Waiting for this, I was terribly excited...and and utterly crushed to find this next volume largely unreadable. It's a huge disappointment.

***WAY too many characters, WAY too many plotlines and little to no in depth characterization--there's no time! Therefore, it becomes not only difficult to keep track of who they are, where they are--but to care about them. That was not a problem in "Giants," but here? This rambles to the point where, at times, I found myself skimming. With the exception of Lloyd and Robert (who, unless I missed it, just disappears in the first 150 pages and is never mentioned again)--the rest? Uh--whatever. "Pillars of the Earth" also proved Follett can masterfully handle a large scope...but this does not work.

***Tries too hard to be too many places; there seems to be a need to have ALL the characters in history's hot spots: Berlin, Pearl Harbor, Midway, the Solomon Islands, meeting Hitler, being in Parliament, seeing Churchill, rescuing Blitz victims--it's too much and begins to read as too contrived. (Long lost and now estranged brothers suddenly finding each other as one is dying in a RAF battle...come on)

***Ponderous pace and writing; while "Giants" moves swiftly, getting us involved in the characters' plights, this is wooden. At times, the prose is mechanical, leaden--no elegance or grace. Minute battle details that lose attention quickly--then areas brushed over that would probably grab our attention.

If half the characters, half the scope and half the length were cut--we'd still have a 500 page novel--and a gripping, intriguing read. This is mind boggling and pretty much tells me that even if part three takes another two years...no matter. I won't be reading it. Oh--so disappointed.

posted by irishclaireKG on September 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    IMHO

    I thoroughly enjoyed the first volume--Fall of Giants, but this volume just didn't measure up. I could certainly tell the author was English when he had one of his American characters refer to the hood of a car as the "bonnet". That is a definite English term. Also, portions of the story line pertaining to World War II seemed to have been lifted from a Hollywood movie script (think Midway). Disappointing. I may read the third volume once it is published but I won't be anxiously waiting for it. Too bad as the author is better than this particular book.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Not the best.

    This book is WW II for dummies.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    After "Fall of Giants," I was excited for the second b

    After "Fall of Giants," I was excited for the second book. What a disappointment; I was expecting so much more. For all that are thinking about paying the $20.00 for the e-book, I suggest you save your hard-earned money, it's not worth it. Two hundred pages or 1000 pages, a bad book is a bad book. Besides the money, you can't get your precious time back. Does anyone have any recommendations for a great historical fiction read?

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    a "gotta" read

    Follett is an astounding author! While awaiting the third book of the trilogy I decided to go back and reread the first 2--I've enjoyed them even more. He laid out the conditions of the societies in 1 and developed the personalities in 2. Can hardly wait for mid-Sept for 3!

    OhioMimi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    I've read numerous Ken Follett books but never again. This is mu

    I've read numerous Ken Follett books but never again. This is much more of a leftist political book than a war book. Through the first third of it he pretty much equates Winston Churchill and American Republicans with the Nazis. This changes somewhat towards the end when Follett realizes that his previously beloved communists are as guilty of abuses as the Nazis. Through almost 1000 pages he almost forgets about the holocaust. For a better read of those awful times try Herman Wouk's "The Winds of War" and "War and Remembrance".

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2013

    Disappointed

    I loved Fall of Giants. Upon finishing it I ordered Winter of the World. After finishing it I concluded that it might have been written by a ghost writer using Mr. Follet's "formula" from Fall Of Giants.
    Character Development woefully inadequate. I felt I "knew" the characters in the first book. The characters in Winter seemed as shadows, or cardboard representations. Plot cohesion was less than in Fall of Giants.
    Now I am unsure of my interest in the third book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    Disappointing.

    Having read the first book of this trilogy and having enjoyed it very much I was looking forward to volume 2. I was rather disappointed. It just seemed to go on and on. Of course, World War II is not a happy theme but I found it just dragged on. It's a bad sign when you count how many more pages you have to go before you are finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Disappointing

    Fall of Giants was such a great book...this second outing, not so much. I kept reading, waiting for the "hook", and it never. quite. got. there. Makes me uninterested in the last of the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Recommended for history of World War II

    Good subject matter. Book begins well but writing is shallow and the plot very predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Cold attempt to dramatize history.

    This historical soap-opera is an attempt to add color to history, but it sags under its length and shallowness. I was hoping for a read like Shelby Foote's Civil War trilogy, or even Michener's "Chesapeake"...but was disappointed with a patchwork of poor character development, thin history, and ponderous length. I was glad it was over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Wonderful!! Can't wait for the third part of the triology

    Very interesting book. The characters leap off the page.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    not so much

    Not his usual quality

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2012

    questionable

    Again, another long book from Follett, and quite a disappointment. The plot line continued into the era of WWII, but I found the book much less enjoyable than the first. It seemed like the author had a list of historical events he wanted to include and found ways to get one or more of his characters involved in those events, sometimes in an unrealistic fashion. This made the book seem quite contrived - an experience I've never had with one of his books before. I also found the character development had much less depth than the first book. After about one third of the way through, I kept reading - for the most part to find out what happened to each of the characters. I'm not sure I'll read the third book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Not as good as the first one

    I am a little disappointed. Still reading but not impressed. Hoping that it gets better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2012

    See Cast's review

    I completely agree w/ previou comments; wasting almost 300 pages of the 2nd volume in updating the readers on the original characters childrens children. I really don't care that Daisy is married to Boy's son who has just now discovered he's impotent & I'm confidant that few readers will also want to read about it. I & I'm certain the majority of those reading would much rather hear about life in London, Moscow, Leningrad, etc.. Mr. Follett, please do us all a favor in the last of your trilogy & tell us what we're most interested in reading. All of your future books will depend on getting me hooked w/ this last one.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Not worth reading.

    A big disappointment. To many characters jumping all over the place.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    I was very disappointed with this sequel, it was definitely not

    I was very disappointed with this sequel, it was definitely not as riveting as "Fall of Giants"...definitely not worth the most spent :(

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2