Customer Reviews for

Winterbirth (Godless World Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Book

Read the book. If you like Martin and that type of fantasy you will like this book. Sure it is not exactly up to George but close enough.

posted by Anonymous on July 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Didn't grab my interest

Winterbirth started slowly and with great confusion. I found that the plot wasn't interesting enough for me to try to sort out the various characters. Character names seemed far more cumbersome than necessasry. The author tried to create a story on a grand scale with...
Winterbirth started slowly and with great confusion. I found that the plot wasn't interesting enough for me to try to sort out the various characters. Character names seemed far more cumbersome than necessasry. The author tried to create a story on a grand scale without a strong enough platform from which to launch the plot. I completed the book but did not find reason to continue on to the second book in the series.

posted by Metacog on August 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    Didn't grab my interest

    Winterbirth started slowly and with great confusion. I found that the plot wasn't interesting enough for me to try to sort out the various characters. Character names seemed far more cumbersome than necessasry. The author tried to create a story on a grand scale without a strong enough platform from which to launch the plot. I completed the book but did not find reason to continue on to the second book in the series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2008

    Epicly Formulaic

    I'm always happy to pick up a new series but that didn't happen here. Can't imagine I will pick up the sequel unless I've got nothing else to read. The world Ruckley has created is somewhat interesting but the story that is taking place is not. He does a horrible job of managing the various stories which make up the plot. The characters are completely flat and one dimensional, I didn't care about any of them and deaths had zero impact on me. The book seemed like a poorly done knock off of Martin's epic fantasy. All in all a thoroughly underwhelming read that I would definitely not suggest to anyone.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2009

    A great read for a change

    I have read Winterbirth and am in the process of reading Bloodheir, and will buy the Fall of Thanes. Both books are slow moving, but interesting enough to pique the readers interest to keep reading. I would have liked to see more action, but I am not a writer and unable to spin a good yarn like Brian Ruckley has done. Overall, the book is definitely worth reading and enjoyable to fans of the George RR Martin genre.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2008

    Great Book

    Read the book. If you like Martin and that type of fantasy you will like this book. Sure it is not exactly up to George but close enough.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Winterbirth by Brian Ruckley

    Long and drawn out... but not boring! Lots of death, destruction, misfortune, deception, betrayal, fighting, manhunting, and war. You'll come to respect certain characters and love others. I can't even (honestly) disrespect the bad guys in this book, because their cause seems so righteous! I'm glad I stumbled into this series, can't wait to read "Fall of Thanes" which is book number three.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT BOOK

    I truly do not know what book the reader was reading when he gave this a negative review. I love george martin, My favorite author. Ruckley makes his own world and characters. An awesome read. Any true fantasy reader would love this book, especially those NOT interested in childish fantasy.
    I would call this book a must read..

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Loved it!

    The story is incredibly detailed, difficult to predict what will happen next at some points. Although the story is generally dark, once you read this one, you'll have to read the other two.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Fantastic!

    One of the best written books that I have read in a long time! Great character background and world history. Can not wait to read Bloodheir! Highly recommend this to other fantasy lovers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    Great debut!

    A very good debut book in the series. The characters were dynamic and the story was very original. Loved the dark mood throughout. Highly recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Derp...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    ehh it was allright

    ehh
    it was allright

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Fantasy

    After the failure of the one race during the First Age, the Gods created five races when they rebuilt the world in the Second Age. Everyone prospered until the Huanin and Kyrinin attacked the brutal wolven Whreinin the Gods are upset and concluding that their creation is flawed abandoned their children ending the Second Age in chaos and beginning the Third Age of the Godless World where after years of open hostilities, a truce exists between the High Thanes of the True Bloods though their direct report Thanes still somewhat fight.---------------- However, in the Third Age, war explodes when irate High Thane Ragnor oc Gyre the Thane of Thanes of The Bloods of the Black Road, still outraged over the exile in 942 for heresy, sends his Gyre forces to conquer the lands of the Haig True Bloods south of the Vale of Stones. The war expands beyond Anlane as the Dargannan Haig Blood revolt against the Haig High Thane. All sides in the complex dispute believe they have a noble cause, but for most of the Godless World honor or not means simply their death. By 1102 the Godless World has become a hellhole with death everywhere. In this maelstrom on the southern side of the Veil of Stones Orisian nan Lannis-Haig begins an odyssey filled with bleak hope and plenty of blood.------------- This epic fantasy is grim with no magical last second heroics as Brian Ruckley paints quite a dark realm. The story line is fast-paced and filled with non stop action that traverses much of the Godless World. Yet the key to this excellent fantasy is the cast as the leaders of the various armies seem genuine in a Machiavellian way for instance some see terrific personal profit in the war. Orisian and his accompanying warriors are not your typical heroes as they understand war is hell and act accordingly. Readers who enjoy a powerful enthralling thriller will appreciate Brian Ruckley¿s aptly named WINTERBIRTH.--------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2