Customer Reviews for

Winterkill (Joe Pickett Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Heartbreaking yet exciting thriller

There are only fifty-five Game Wardens to cover the state of Wyoming. Joe Picket¿s district consists of 1,500 square miles, but he spots a hunter illegally kill a bunch of elks. When he apprehends the suspect he is shocked to discover it is Lamar Gardiner, the Distric...
There are only fifty-five Game Wardens to cover the state of Wyoming. Joe Picket¿s district consists of 1,500 square miles, but he spots a hunter illegally kill a bunch of elks. When he apprehends the suspect he is shocked to discover it is Lamar Gardiner, the District Supervisor for the Twelve-Sleep National Forest. Lamar escapes, but when the game warden finds him again, he is dead, stuck to a tree by the arrows that killed him............................ His death brings to town Melinda Strickland, a high-ranking Forest Service official heading a task force to keep anti-government groups off federal land. The Sovereigns, dissenters from Waco, Ruby Ridge and the Montana Freemen, stake out a piece of land on Battle Mountain, which they rename the Sovereign Citizen Compound. Among them is the mother of Joe¿s foster daughter who has a court order to take custody of April. She legally takes April to the compound. The situation is volatile because Srickland and the FBI plan to oust the Sovereigns from the compound, using force if necessary, and Joe fears that his beloved foster child will become caught in the crossfire...................... In WINTERKILL there is a paradigm switch because the supposed good guys act like criminals while the radicals act like peace loving citizens in need of refuge. The protagonist is constantly torn between law and justice making him willing to try anything to prevent the crisis from reaching a boiling point. Though one sided, C.J. Box takes aim at rogue agents in the Federal government by showing the damage they can do if they are not fired at the first hint of wrong doing. This is an exciting take of modern western justice................... Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I enjoyed the plots and action in the first two books in the Joe

I enjoyed the plots and action in the first two books in the Joe Pickett series. I liked the idea of following the life of a game warden who seems to be a good man. However, the third book was unrealistic to me and there was too much gratuitous animal killing even bey...
I enjoyed the plots and action in the first two books in the Joe Pickett series. I liked the idea of following the life of a game warden who seems to be a good man. However, the third book was unrealistic to me and there was too much gratuitous animal killing even beyond the initial elk killing - not necessary for a good plot. He could have accomplished the story line in other ways that would have worked better. I understand that Wyoming has a strong culture of game hunting, but it went even beyond that. Not going to be my cup of tea.

posted by LucyLu2 on March 8, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Heartbreaking yet exciting thriller

    There are only fifty-five Game Wardens to cover the state of Wyoming. Joe Picket¿s district consists of 1,500 square miles, but he spots a hunter illegally kill a bunch of elks. When he apprehends the suspect he is shocked to discover it is Lamar Gardiner, the District Supervisor for the Twelve-Sleep National Forest. Lamar escapes, but when the game warden finds him again, he is dead, stuck to a tree by the arrows that killed him............................ His death brings to town Melinda Strickland, a high-ranking Forest Service official heading a task force to keep anti-government groups off federal land. The Sovereigns, dissenters from Waco, Ruby Ridge and the Montana Freemen, stake out a piece of land on Battle Mountain, which they rename the Sovereign Citizen Compound. Among them is the mother of Joe¿s foster daughter who has a court order to take custody of April. She legally takes April to the compound. The situation is volatile because Srickland and the FBI plan to oust the Sovereigns from the compound, using force if necessary, and Joe fears that his beloved foster child will become caught in the crossfire...................... In WINTERKILL there is a paradigm switch because the supposed good guys act like criminals while the radicals act like peace loving citizens in need of refuge. The protagonist is constantly torn between law and justice making him willing to try anything to prevent the crisis from reaching a boiling point. Though one sided, C.J. Box takes aim at rogue agents in the Federal government by showing the damage they can do if they are not fired at the first hint of wrong doing. This is an exciting take of modern western justice................... Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2009

    extreme suspense

    the way C.J. Box keeps you at the edge of you're seat with the suspense and guessing is awesome, I introduced the first 7 books in this series to my dad and he agrees with me once you start reading them you don't want to stop.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2004

    fantastic!!! patti steelman , csr

    this is a great read,,,couldn't put it down,,loved the characters ,,,,

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Winter kill

    Good book disappointed in bn said the book was 5.99 charged me 7.99.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Totally worth it

    Had a great time reading this book. I plan to buy the next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2014

    I enjoyed the plots and action in the first two books in the Joe

    I enjoyed the plots and action in the first two books in the Joe Pickett series. I liked the idea of following the life of a game warden who seems to be a good man. However, the third book was unrealistic to me and there was too much gratuitous animal killing even beyond the initial elk killing - not necessary for a good plot. He could have accomplished the story line in other ways that would have worked better. I understand that Wyoming has a strong culture of game hunting, but it went even beyond that. Not going to be my cup of tea.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Highly recommend this series

    Intriguing kept me interested and wanting more great boo

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    Highly Recommonended

    I learned of this author through a golfing friend. So far I have read the first 3 of his Joe Pickett Series. When I was about a hundred pages into the first of this series, I questioned my friend's tastes. However, as I continued the book I realized this author is a treasure. He takes with him on great adventures and paints word pictures that are unrivaled.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    289 pages

    I really enjoyed the first two books even though they were quite intense and gory. At the beginning of this book a man has a nervous breakdown and goes on a massacure, killing a herd of elk. The descriptions were so graphic, I was sickened. Then needless death of a yorkshire terrier, who had already suffered a life without love, devasted me. This did not add a thing to the plot or the book. About 3/4 of the way through a child was burned to death in order to fulfill the whims of an insane, enraged woman and I felt my heart break and had to fight nausea. These are well edited and do not contain cursing, romance or sex or religion. The mystery is well thought out. There is a great flow and I love learning about Wyoming. The family and kids are delightful. I can handle the violence against people. I can handle the hunting for food. The blood, guts and gore, I can tolerate. I simply can not handle the abuse of children, pets and other animals in details such as Box describes. I will no longer be buying anymore of his books. I think this series is intended more for male readers. For adults.

    AD

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Metal

    Woah! Hey guys! I was searching for bios, well ima leave, bai!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Deathheart

    My nook is about to die. I wanted to tell you that there was a post about me and panther. Read it at 'sex' res one,post two. I am going to have to stay in camp alot plus i am on the catnap list at erin hunter res.one

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    jaggedstar

    Okay let me read it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    Love

    LOVE them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    Great reading

    I recently started reading this series after seeing the advertiselment for the most recent installment. I started with #1 and have now worked my way through the entire series. I will be waiting for the next installment. The author does a great job weaving outdoors, law enforcement and family considerations into his novels. Keep up the good work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Surprising ending. As usual, enjoyable reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    His best so far. Why someone hasn't offered him a movie or TV deal is beyond me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Very much recommend reading.

    I am up to #8 of Joe Pickett series and they have all been excellent reading. If you haven't read his series I would recommend you start with #1 and continue on. This way you get the history of the people and surroundings that come up in his books. I guarentee, you won't be disappointed. They grab you from the git-go.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another great Pickett Novel

    C.J. Box keeps turning out great thrillers with this character. Joe Pickett is someone any reader can root for - he's a good guy, family man, true to what is right and has his own personal failings and soft spots. I am so glad I recently started the Pickett series and plan to read them all.

    In this third novel, there are at least three different stories going on, all believed (by me anyway) to be directly related. It is not until well into the book that one learns one of these paths is off on a separate route, while the others remain closely linked. Box will keep you reading this one to a point where you truly will have a hard time putting it down. When it ends, you'll want the next novel immediately.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    oh oh!!! Has Joe crossed a line...?

    I can't wait to read Trophy Hunt...in Winterkill we added a very good pal for Joe...Nate, but in the process...did Joe become someone else...?
    I still like Joe..he is just more human and I can relate to his actions here..."What would I do....?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    Loved the book

    I am from Wyoming, so I could relate to the area and the weather.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3