Customer Reviews for

Winter's Tale (Movie Tie-In Edition)

Average Rating 3.5
( 172 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

Lovely story, inferior e book

The story is ethereal. I found it difficult to believe that this was written in the early eighties, because in some places Helprin's descriptions of things - a workplace that sounds a lot like Google, for example - are just spot on. The language is almost Baroque at t...
The story is ethereal. I found it difficult to believe that this was written in the early eighties, because in some places Helprin's descriptions of things - a workplace that sounds a lot like Google, for example - are just spot on. The language is almost Baroque at times, and there are clunkers here and there, but the overall effect is magical and timeless.

It's a shame that the ebook version is so poorly rendered though. It seems clear to me that somebody just scanned in the text and never cleaned it up. There seem to be NO apostrophes at all, so that we're appears as were and the possessive appears as the plural. Sometimes random numbers or symbols appear in the text where presumably the scanner failed to recognize the character. This sort of sloppiness is insulting to both author and reader, and if you're going to charge me for a book I expect it to be in better shape than this, B&N.

posted by JenLubinski on November 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Winters tale

This book was a 600 page sleeping pill.

posted by 6265603 on November 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Winters tale

    This book was a 600 page sleeping pill.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Anonymous

    I love reading and am interested in a wide variety of books, including time travel stories. I was excited to read this book and see the movie (until I read the book). Unfortunately all the way through the 600 plus pages, I kept hoping I would get it. I didn't get it. About halfway through I thought it was strange that I did not know what the story was about. I now finished the book and I still do not know what the story was about.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    I would really like my money back

    It is extremely rare for me to dislike a book so much. But this is the second time I feel taken and cheated by this book; I bought it when it was first published and had apparently cleansed it from my mind bc I recently bought it again for my nook! I am extremely generous with authors - I want them to entertain me! I will try and try to find something worthwhile in almost every book I pick up. I am willing to believe the author put sincere effort in to their art. But I find nothing but arrogance in this work. That is the only explanation I can find for the excruciating, semi-poetic waste of language on a story that goes nowhere for and for no seeming purpose.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    disappointed

    the author was very wordy. He could have cut the book by 200 pages and still got the plot across. The plot was very confusing and didn't know who the different characters were as they were reintroduced. I can't imagine this being a successful movie if it was cast as the as the plot was played out.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Sadly disappointed

    This is by far one of the hardest reads I have ever had to endure. The reviews of this book had me clinging to the hope of redemption to the bitter end as I was so excited about reading this book after seeing movie previews. My excitement was soon replaced by dread. The pages of descriptions and delay in revealing the storyline made me want to skim and skip constantly. It simply drags on and does not have a plot or climax worth the pain of getting through 600 pages. Disappointed:(

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Had potential

    Great descriptive writing, but takes you to a place of erratic timeline and incoherent plot. Only a fraction of the story is a love story. The descriptions of old New York are intriguing but not enough to carry a pointless story. I hear they are making a movie...I imagine it will be 5 hours long and released on dvd after two failed weeks at select, limited theatres.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    I love to read. I like love stories, and mysteries and books th

    I love to read. I like love stories, and mysteries and books that make you think, fantasies and science fiction. I HATED this book. The flowery writing is confusing and I couldn't follow
    a lot of what was going on. I made myself finish it, and the ending was not worth it. I was left going "Huh?" I didn't get the symbolism (if that's even what it was) and it leaves a key character's ending hanging with,
    "That is a question you must answer within your own heart." 750 pages and I didn't get an ending? I have thrown 3 books in my life across the room I was so mad at the end, and this was #3.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Torture

    It is a tedious and ridiculous book and I regret the whole experience!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Oh, good...glad to know I'm not the only one. I really should've

    Oh, good...glad to know I'm not the only one. I really should've read reviews prior to purchasing this book. I've been reading this book for over 3 weeks and am not half way through. It's wordy, boring and I just want it to end. Now that I know the stories won't come together, I may give up. I can't find passion for any of the characters and don't like them. I was excited to read the book and see the movie, not any longer.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Zzzzzzzzz..........

    I read the reviews for this book and hoped I'd be in the half that loved it. Sadly, that was not to be. I gave it 166 pages--about a third of the book-- and it just went nowhere. It starts out ok about the man and the horse he finds. Then it totally leaves them and it's like a whole new story was beginning. I kept waiting for some kind of connection but it never came. Reading is supposed to be a pleasure not a chore. This was definitely too much work . Maybe the movie will make more sense.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    I suffered through thee whole thing..!

    Terrible-confusing...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    I don't recommend it!

    I found this book to be slow and tedious. I got to a point where I didn't even care what happened to the characters. It was way too long. I didn't bother to finish it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    I wish I could give this no stars. I should have stopped readin

    I wish I could give this no stars. I should have stopped reading after the first hundred pages but I kept with it. There were a few good moments but not many.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    disappointed the book was not what I expected

    I have tried reading this book. I stopped after 100 pages. Very hard to get into. After seeing the previews for the movie, I was excited to read the book. Maybe, I will try reading it again in the future.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    I give up...

    I was so excited to read this after seeing the movie previews. I suffered through 200 pages and then gave myself permission to put in down. It's weird and boring.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Disappointing

    I saw this through to the end hoping the multiple threads would eventually weave together. They unfortunately did not.....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Anonymous

    I want my time back-this was a waste!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Tried desperately to get into this book--struggled. Gave up at

    Tried desperately to get into this book--struggled. Gave up at page 300. Fast forwarded to end and was still confused and disappointed. Not any kind of love story I'm used to reading! A total waste of time!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Don't get it

    Way too descriptive ! You get lost in that, and just wish he would get back to the tale first part is a good story, then chaos of fantasy that makes no sence

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    Boring

    Started reading this last year because it had excellent reviews and the movie was coming out. I always read books before seeing movies so I can form my ownimpression of the story. Kept falling asleep on it and eventually lost interest after 200 pages of 700+. Rented the movie a couple weeks ago and definitely glad I stopped where I did because the ending is predictable and I was not engaged throughout the movie. Wish I could get my money back.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2