BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Winter's Tale (Movie Tie-In Edition)

Average Rating 3.5
( 174 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

61 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

Lovely story, inferior e book

The story is ethereal. I found it difficult to believe that this was written in the early eighties, because in some places Helprin's descriptions of things - a workplace that sounds a lot like Google, for example - are just spot on. The language is almost Baroque at t...
The story is ethereal. I found it difficult to believe that this was written in the early eighties, because in some places Helprin's descriptions of things - a workplace that sounds a lot like Google, for example - are just spot on. The language is almost Baroque at times, and there are clunkers here and there, but the overall effect is magical and timeless.

It's a shame that the ebook version is so poorly rendered though. It seems clear to me that somebody just scanned in the text and never cleaned it up. There seem to be NO apostrophes at all, so that we're appears as were and the possessive appears as the plural. Sometimes random numbers or symbols appear in the text where presumably the scanner failed to recognize the character. This sort of sloppiness is insulting to both author and reader, and if you're going to charge me for a book I expect it to be in better shape than this, B&N.

posted by JenLubinski on November 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Winters tale

This book was a 600 page sleeping pill.

posted by 6265603 on November 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Lovely story, inferior e book

    The story is ethereal. I found it difficult to believe that this was written in the early eighties, because in some places Helprin's descriptions of things - a workplace that sounds a lot like Google, for example - are just spot on. The language is almost Baroque at times, and there are clunkers here and there, but the overall effect is magical and timeless.

    It's a shame that the ebook version is so poorly rendered though. It seems clear to me that somebody just scanned in the text and never cleaned it up. There seem to be NO apostrophes at all, so that we're appears as were and the possessive appears as the plural. Sometimes random numbers or symbols appear in the text where presumably the scanner failed to recognize the character. This sort of sloppiness is insulting to both author and reader, and if you're going to charge me for a book I expect it to be in better shape than this, B&N.

    61 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Helprin's Winter's Tale defies description.

    Helprin's incredibly layered historical fantasy is a feast for the imagination. The reader is caught up in a whirlwind of imagery that makes a valiant attempt to describe the indescribable city--New York. Characters of fire roam a city of ice and the reader is in awe of the place and it's people. From the first chapter it becomes impossible to look away from the beauty, the horror and the banality of life in the city. The density of Halprin's gorgeous poetic prose makes for a slow read. And don't expect such a complex web of time and space to be neatly tied up in the final chapter. But Winter's Tale is much like a first-time visit to Manhattan--the senses are overwhelmed, time stands still and you know you must return some day for a closer look.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2002

    An enchanting history of NYC!

    Although the descriptions were tedious at times I really enjoyed this book. I liked the magic in the story and I really enjoyed the history of NYC. The story continually called me back to find out what would happen!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2000

    Incredible imagery

    One of the most beautiful books I have ever read. Helprin's style of writing flows so easily and is very poetic.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Prince Skyler & Princess Arya

    Princ&epsilon Skyler stepped in, followed by Ary&alpha. They bowed. "I see this rp will be starting again." Skyler said. Ary&alpha nodded and through mind links, Skyler told her something. She nodded and ran out, only t&somicron com&epsilon bac&kappa in with tw&omicron things following. Tw&omicron dragons, each about four feet tall stepped in. The&gamma coul&delta not breath&epsilon fir&epsilon yet.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    Great Story!

    This is a really great story! I'm really anxious to see the movie!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    A Good Book

    Good for last second book reports.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    Wonderful descriptions of early New York

    This unusual trip through time held my interest throughout.There was quite a bit of information about the city in this fantasy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2