Customer Reviews for

Winter's Thaw (Compass Girls Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Loved It!!

I absolutely loved the Compass Brothers and have been anxiously awaiting to see what their daughters got up to. I was not disappointed. This was a great read and I cannot wait to see what the next one brings!!

posted by Joni78 on February 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not happy

I was dissappointed with the first Compass Girls book. I loved the Compass Brothers so much and each of their books had twists and turns, joy and tears and all that made me root for them and their girl. The brothers had depth and life to them.

The story of Sienna just ...
I was dissappointed with the first Compass Girls book. I loved the Compass Brothers so much and each of their books had twists and turns, joy and tears and all that made me root for them and their girl. The brothers had depth and life to them.

The story of Sienna just fell flat. There was no drama. She was a girl that got bored, had an affair and stayed with the guy. There was no point when i wondered if Sienna was going to stay with Josh. The end was yawn worthy. I at least expected a fight scene between Josh and Daniel. Josh's exit made him seem pathetic.

I feel let down but i will check out Hope's book on the chance it will be better. I have read the Compass Brothers over and over and loved them each time. I don't see myself reading this book again.

posted by 5156964 on February 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Not happy

    I was dissappointed with the first Compass Girls book. I loved the Compass Brothers so much and each of their books had twists and turns, joy and tears and all that made me root for them and their girl. The brothers had depth and life to them.

    The story of Sienna just fell flat. There was no drama. She was a girl that got bored, had an affair and stayed with the guy. There was no point when i wondered if Sienna was going to stay with Josh. The end was yawn worthy. I at least expected a fight scene between Josh and Daniel. Josh's exit made him seem pathetic.

    I feel let down but i will check out Hope's book on the chance it will be better. I have read the Compass Brothers over and over and loved them each time. I don't see myself reading this book again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Great Read!

    I love everything from Mari Carr....and I really enjoyed the Compass series so this being the spinoff of that series I had to take the chance. As always...I was not disappointed. I already have the second one pre-ordered. I love how she writes the characters that make it so the reader becomes so involved. The story of how the romance begins and ends up is always enjoyable. Highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Good!

    The book was good and I really liked it. But, I feel you need to read the Compass Brothers 4 books first. I feel like all four of these girls are gonna be just like their respective daddy. And tho I did enjoy the book, it wasn't quite as good as the original 4. Hopefully the next one will be a little better. Worth the money anyway.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Just ok

    ## This book was a disappointment. I truly loved the Compass Brothers books and was so looking forward to this one. However, it was boring to me. I didn't feel the chemistry between Sienna an Daniel. Sure, they had tons of sex, but no spark. And I didn't like the way we, the readers, didn't get to see them getting to know each other. It was always: Two weeks later....or by the time Christmas came....a month later...then it was Valentine's Day. Not enough dialogue and face to face time for me to connect with these characters. Did the authors ever describe Daniel? Because the guy on the cover, albeit hot, doesn't look like I pictured him. Not great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2013

    I loved the Compass Brothers series, so when I heard the Compton

    I loved the Compass Brothers series, so when I heard the Compton daughters would get their stories told I was excited. In this book we meet Sienna, Seth's daughter. She is a planner and has always known what she wanted from life. She had it all planned out and then in walks Daniel. Sienna's plans go up in smoke and she is left to find a new path. This was such a great story. It was wonderful to be reunited with the fabulous Compton Brothers and Vicky. We get to see Vicky and where her life has brought her. The sex scenes are of course well written and very hot but it is the relatonship between Sienna and Daniel that make this book such a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Loved It!!

    I absolutely loved the Compass Brothers and have been anxiously awaiting to see what their daughters got up to. I was not disappointed. This was a great read and I cannot wait to see what the next one brings!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    Could have been way better....

    I have to agree with most of the reviewers in saying that I was very disappointed with this first book of the Compass Girls. I read their predecessors books and they were fabulous, all four books were full of love, energy, adventure, action, laughter, loss...etc. I thought this new installment would follow the same route but it didn't.

    I enjoyed 'meeting' all four daughters, they seem intriguing and unique in their own way. I found Sienna's character to be just 'blah'. There was nothing really exciting or distinguishable about her except her stupid loyalty to her boyfriend. There just wasn't any drama at all in this book, there was nothing! The sex was super hot, but I wanted so much more. When you first begin reading about Sienna and Josh's relationship and then Daniel enters the picture, you start thinking all of this good stuff is going to happen. Someone's going to cheat or fight or both, but nothing happens.

    I mistakenly bought the other two books that follow this one thinking this book was going to be fabulous, didn't count on being so bummed out about it, so I hope the next one falls into line...

    SR

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Great story

    Loved the characters and they were put into the perfect story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    You will love this series. Just a great read. Different read for me.

    I like the unexpected outcome of this book. Good story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Love it

    This series is going to be just as epic as the last!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    App den

    App den

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    This is the drama den

    This is the place for all the drama

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Loved it!

    I enjoyed the Compass Brothers books, and enjoyed this, too. The difference is having the main character as female rather than male as the other books in the series.
    I agree that Daniel's background and family could have been better developed
    I look forward to reading about the next Compass girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Excellent

    Awesome addition to the Compass series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Enjoyable

    Great Book 1 in this new series. Interesting characters, good story. I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Great

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Great Book

    I have read all the Compton books, I can't wait for the next book to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    This book takes over from the Compass Brothers series that follo

    This book takes over from the Compass Brothers series that follows the lives and loves of 4 brothers.  Let me say unequivocally that if
    you have not read that series, drop everything and start!!!  The series is phenomenal!!   That said, this book lacks the depth and heart of
    the first series.  It tells the story of the daughter of one of the brothers and how she learns to let go of her preconceived notions of what
    her life should be and finds real love.  Because I feel so strongly about the original four brothers, I will read the rest of the series with
    the hope that I can capture that same feeling of ‘wow’!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Wonderful! I loved the Compass Brothers and the Compass girls st

    Wonderful! I loved the Compass Brothers and the Compass girls start didn't disappoint!! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    In the dead of winter, life turns to living

    The second generation of Compton’s Pass may not be as rowdy as the first…on first glance. You’ll fall in love with the daughters of the Compass boys from the original series. While you don’t need that series to follow this book, it will go a long way to help you understand Vicki (Vivi), the grandmother, who plays a crucial role in the girls’ lives. This book is explicit and contains basic bondage and anal, in addition to the extremely sensual scenes, but it’s not just sex. There were times I laughed, times I wanted to kick a few characters, and yes, another Compton Pass book may make you cry. As someone who desperately desired a way to extend the Compass Brothers series, I felt Carr and Rylon did the legacy justice. JD would be proud. I look forward to my renewed friendships at Compton Ranch. The next book is foreshadowed perfectly, and only in the epilogue.

    Summary: Sierra (See) has had her life mapped since 16: career, husband, kids. Too bad her boyfriend since that time has changed his plans and wants to put things on hold. Daniel is the new ranch hang and his sole goal in life is to “be happy”. While they are attracted to each other, can two people with such different aspirations be good for each other for the long haul?

    - Alicia Devereaux Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3