BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Wisdom Hunter

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 6, 2009

    Wisdom Hunter Book Review

    "Wisdom Hunter" by Randall Arthur was quite an interesting book. If you have had any dealings with legalism in your faith or have wondered what legalism is, this is a fiction book that opens the factual truth of legalism.

    I really enjoyed reading the front "From the Author" page. Randall Arthur states:
    "When 'Wisdom Hunter' became a bestseller upon its release in 1991, I thought the success of the book was a fluke. To my further surprise, the book was nominated shortly thereafter for the CBA 'Book of the Year' award. I learned quickly that the subjects of legalism and spiritual dictatorship were provocative topics worldwide, transcending all denominational and cultural borders.

    Almost two decades ago, 'Wisdom Hunter' was born, not out of a long-held ambition to write a best-selling novel, but from a personal need to write the things I learned and experienced as a young, legalistic missionary in Europe. The story was developed out of great anguish and written with an unquenchable passion. I am not an authority on the local church or the Christian life. I am simply a wisdom hunter - one who was hungry enough to rip the mask off my 'American Christianity' and delve into truth.

    After the first release of the book, I eventually worked up the courage to present a copy of 'Wisdom Hunter' to the president of the mission agency under whose administration I had served for seventeen years. He read it that day, and he fired me that evening. Over the following three months, eighty-five percent of the churches that supported my missionary efforts severed their relationship with me. I knew the book would be controversial. Still, its message was worth the pain of losing my job and most of my income.

    Would I do it over again? Yes, without hesitation.

    Through the years, I have received thousands of letters form readers around the world who have been touched by the book's timeless message and unconventional ability to transform hearts and minds. The book lives on primarily because people read it and then vigorously promote it from pulpits and stages: in magazines, newsletter, Websites, conferences, camps, classrooms, discussion groups, and Internet forums; on television and radio; and especially one-on-one. Today, many people are aware of the problems caused by legalism in the church, and some changes have occurred. However, there remains a need to address these issues that render us ineffective as Christians. It is my desire that this edition of 'Wisdom Hunter' will do just that.

    To those who have read the book and are fans, I say thank you. I am humbled and honored. May we always be students that dare to question. And may we never lose our heart for God.

    If you are reading 'Wisdom Hunter' for the first time, I hope it will be a refreshing and thought-provoking experience. May it stir an unquenchable thirst for truth in your soul.

    From my heart to yours,
    Randall Arthur"

    Now don't you really want to read this book?!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Wonderful Read!

    This book draws you in takes you around the world and doesn't let go until the very last page. I may have found a new favorite author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great story about questioning faith and gaining a new perspective

    I've read so many books lately that they've all seemed to kind of run into one. Shortly after reading one I loose some of the intricacies of the story. This book, was definitely not one of those. I was completely blown away by this story. I wish I would've heard about this one years ago, when it originally came out. But I'm glad that I was given the chance to read it, even if it was 18 years late.

    While there is alot going on in this story I felt that the main idea was that Jason, a pastor, questions his faith when his life is thrown into a chaotic string of events. So many things that Jason questioned about his faith are things that I have too questioned. This one just really resonated with me as I could relate on almost every level with Jason.

    The story not only has a great premise, but there are some pretty action intense scenes, as well as some very emotional scenes. I was literally drawn into this story from the opening line and was hooked till the end. I didn't want to put this book down. It was a fast read, but it really made me think. Character development was great, dialog was realistic, descriptions were perfect.

    I have already recommended this, and will be recommending it many many times in the future. I normally will lend my books out to people, however I think this one will not leave my possession. I can see myself reading this many times over.

    I think this is one that just about anyone can read. It does deal with a few difficult subjects, but the struggling with religion was (at least in my opinion) the basis of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wisdom and lots of enjoyment as well

    I found this book very enjoyable. As a pastor, it's always a challenge to read a fictional account of other pastors, good or bad. The plot of Wisdom Hunter drew me in right from the start and held me through to the tearful ending (happy or sad? You'll have to read it and find out). Pastor Faircloth's search for answers and meaning after the opening tragedies seems very real and genuine. There might be some settings he gets into which I simply can't imagine ever happening, but the bring him to a breaking point - a breaking point at which God can finally speak and he'll listen.

    There were two flaws I found this book, however. First was Jason Faircloth's "wisdom journal." This is essentially his journal/diary of discoveries he makes along the journey. The observations have everything to do with the legalistic background which Jason comes out of. These moments, while probably true in real life, not just in a fictional novel, get very preachy. It's almost as if the author has made these discoveries himself and just has to have an avenue to get them out to the world. Perhaps, if he would have simply summarized these discoveries in one or two sentences, they might have been bearable.

    The second weakness I found was in the International Community Church Jason discovers in Norway. If this were real life, I would rejoice that Faircloth finds his way back to a true church of loving believers. However, since the author got a bit preachy with his critique of the legalistic church from the beginning of the story, why does he not then allow the true, loving church to "preach" the Word into Pastor Faircloth's life. There is much wisdom shared, experiences referred to and love shown, but very little of the Word shared to bring Jason back to God, back to the church and back even to pastoring.

    Despite these two weaknesses, I found this book very readable, very enjoyable and I can highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This story just might change your life

    Pastor Jason Faircloth thought he had God all figured out. He knew the rules, and he made sure his congregation knew them too. There was no excuse for failure. He expected the same at home, but his teenage daughter could not abide by such standards and ran away. Jason prays faithfully that God will send his daughter home, and he is certain that God will grant his request in time.

    Jason is visited out of the blue by a lawyer who brings horrible news: his daughter died giving birth to her daughter. Her husband is shipping her body back to Jason and his wife, but he has declared that the Faircloths will never see their granddaughter.

    Jason didn't even know his daughter had married, let alone was expecting a child. He cannot understand how God could allow such tragedy to happen to him, a man who has given God everything. Jason is suddenly lost in his faith. He no longer knows what to believe, except that he cannot go on as he had been. He leaves his congregation and sets out in search of the one thing he hopes will bring meaning to his shattered life: his granddaughter.

    This book was amazing. Jason's journey for new faith reached out and grabbed my soul. I've never read a story where the character experienced such a life change as a result of tragedy. It was inspiring, though-provoking, deep, and a wonderful look into Christ's heart. This book gives new insight to 1 Corinthians 10:23: "`Everything is permissible'--but not everything is beneficial. `Everything is permissible'--but not everything is constructive." Jason's journey to understanding humanity, love, and forgiveness changed the way I will look at it forever. It also changed the way I teach faith to my children. This book was heartbreaking and touching. I highly recommend it for readers looking for a gripping story that just might change their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2001

    Very Insightful

    I read this book at a time when I was questioning a lot of what I'd witnessed in the church. I had grown tired of spiritually abusive pastors, shallow people, and mindless followers. This book shows the struggle a former pastor experiences after he is confronted with the result of his legalistic attitude. I found it to be a great read and very helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2001

    A must reading for all Pastors, Associate Pastors, Music Ministers and Youth Ministers

    This book is absolutely rivating. Wish everyone could see that our wonderful Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ cannot fit in the pre-molded, pre-fab box that we try to stuff him into. Once Faircloth got over on the other side of the world, he discovered that God was over there too working in ways he had not thought of. Unfortunately, too many pastors don't believe that God can work outside of that pastor's realm. Maybe we need to take another look. In some ways, been there, done that. But God is faithful, and regardless of how we find Him and where we find Him, His Word stands fast. In this book, Jason Faircloth discovers that. He discovers that all he is ever been taught, believed and preached has been challenged...though mistakes were made and his faith was shaken, in the end he comes to the conclusion that God's Word is truth. I read this book...all some 300 pages of it in less than 24 hours. I just couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2000

    Lord have mercy, You can run but can't hide!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The book wisdom hunter is a good book for all Christian, it deal with ethics and moral which is lacking today in our society. We need to get right with God, you can run but you can't hide from his presence. Rev Jason get it made but he did not get it right with the Lord, He laid his foundation on a weak soil, i.e his ego and not on God who called him, when you are call to serve, your service to God and humanity should start from your home which is the basic of all sound moral society. Please read this book, you will learn from Rev. Jason's mistake. The end result for him is good, you can be conservative but pay attention because the devil is looking to grab you anytime you made mistake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1