Customer Reviews for

Wise Blood

Average Rating 3.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Uncomfortable

I read this book for school and it was hard but it really is a great book. The way she writes is completley different from the structure you are use to seeing in a novel and she wants to make you uncomfortable to draw in your attention. For anyone who has the patience...
I read this book for school and it was hard but it really is a great book. The way she writes is completley different from the structure you are use to seeing in a novel and she wants to make you uncomfortable to draw in your attention. For anyone who has the patience to really get a reward out of what they read, I recomend this book

posted by Anonymous on September 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wouldn't recommend it...

I just read it for school and it took me a month to take each word in. The way she writes is grotesque and something that I would not want to read again. It was ok, but the language and spiritual context made me quite uneasy.

posted by Anonymous on June 25, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2008

    Uncomfortable

    I read this book for school and it was hard but it really is a great book. The way she writes is completley different from the structure you are use to seeing in a novel and she wants to make you uncomfortable to draw in your attention. For anyone who has the patience to really get a reward out of what they read, I recomend this book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2003

    redeemed

    this is a brilliant piece written by an extremely gifted lady who passed through this life far too soon.i have seen a movie approx. 20 years ago on showtime about this book.it was truly a classic as well.she was able to capture the rural south in her work.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2003

    Wouldn't recommend it...

    I just read it for school and it took me a month to take each word in. The way she writes is grotesque and something that I would not want to read again. It was ok, but the language and spiritual context made me quite uneasy.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    Phenomenal

    O'Connor puts up a dark view of life, and she did not even have the experience of dealing with a recalcitrant and fraudulent Barnes and Noble. It took less time to read this carefully honed novel than to get it delivered.
    The writing is tight and you want to believe every word counts. But don't bet on it, as the insights into the minds of the deranged are realistic: lots of what a crazy person says doesn't amount to anything, but hands over a compelling nutcracker for your own mind.
    A great book, not for entertainment but for cracking open new channels in your own mind. Wonderful use of language, simply crafted.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    great writing & something different

    if you are like me & always looking for interesting but great writers, do yourself a favor & get this one. i don't like regular stories where the end is going to work out fine & i enjoy the psychogical whirrings of people's mind a bit off the beaten path. if this sounds like what you like get this. she's a great writer and i couldn't put it down. i alread ordered another of O'Connor's books. i'd rather review it like this, as you can read from anywhere what it's about. enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    Recommended - a rare work of literature

    Flannery O'Connor's style of writing is very precise and purposeful. This is not a book for easy pleasure reading or uplifting encouragement. It is, however, beautiful with its hidden truths and extremely metaphorical. Her fictional world of gorilla suits, lying preachers, and a Church Without Christ accurately reflects the modern religious world. O'Connor's perception is grotesquely eerie and stimulating in its challenge: what constitutes faith.
    Religion in this novel is either associated with immorality or meeting "needs in Life" - which is so true today and also portrayed in Stephen Crane's beliefs of selling patterns of God to others.
    Highly recommended to those interested in a slightly different, perhaps even cynical, perspective of religion - does not matter whether you are Christian, Catholic, anything, as her convictions are universally applicable in its strangeness.
    Warning: may seem extremely strange and despairing, but in actuality ends with inward justification and satisfaction.
    Definitely a classic and a keeper.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2009

    Wierd

    I keep reading that Flannery O'Connor is one of the best writers of her time. Must have been given that honor based on some other book. I never met such an unlikeable cast of characters. Yes, they were well portrayed, and created a definite image in my mind, but I still wanted to kick all their butts. I kept waiting for them to do something useful and interesting, but they just wandered around this low-life town annoying one another. But if you like Andy Warhol and the kind of paintings where most people scratch their heads and say "what's it supposed to be?", this book is for you.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Must read

    This has always been a favorite book of mine. Growing up in the South - this is a must-have for the shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2006

    confusing

    it is a very confusing book ,i didnt like it i was interested the first 7 min only.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2004

    excellent

    I read this novel for class, because the idea of a Church Without Christ struck my fancy. O'Connor's grotesque style was quite humorous and sadly, truthful of the American South. A terrific novel about how the quest for freedom from religion/conscience becomes a study in the futility of self-will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2003

    Really not even one star

    I found the book appalling. It's supposedly widely aclaimed and an incredible piece, but that's also what they say about catcher in the rye, which I also found to be a terrible book. Wise Blood isn't something I would EVER recommend to anyone (well maybe if they are certifiable). It really had no point and was so scrambled I could barely keep interested for more than 20 minutes at a time.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2003

    Strange but Interesting

    I liked this book. It wasn't that great, but I really loved the characters because they were so different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1