Customer Reviews for

Wise Men: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    This book took me quite a while to finish, but I don't think tha

    This book took me quite a while to finish, but I don't think that's to its discredit. It's not a page-turner, but once you finish it stays with you (the ending is a kicker!). Its a thoughtful book, and a carefully written one. I've described it to friends as what To Kill a Mockingbird would be if Atticus was a jerk instead of a hero.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Boring

    Kept waiting for there to be a purpose to the story and was completely disappointed. Ridiculous how he follows one person around all his life and for what reason. Main character was very boring.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    I checked out this book from the library after reading the many

    I checked out this book from the library after reading the many favorable reviews from well established authors and newspapers. I could spend the next hour writing about how utterly disappointed I am in this book but instead I'll try to sum in up a few paragraphs. 

    "Wise Men"  takes place over a fifty-plus year period and weakly studies the race relations between a Nouvea Riche family and their black caretaker's family. Hilly, the narrator of the book is at odds with his racist Jewish father (Arthur) as to how he has acquired their newfound wealth as well as how Arthur treats their caretaker, Lem. The cliches begin with Hilly falling for Lem's lovely sixteen-year-old niece, Savannah. Now this is in Cape Cod in 1952 and all is forbidden. Despite Hilly trying to prove to everyone that he is not like his father, he causes a series of events to unfold that sets into motion tragedy for the African-American family. But since Hilly really is "a good guy" -the writer tries hard to sell us on this-he decides to leave his life of privilege and after college slums for a newspaper, writing about race-relations. Hilly, who has never gotten over Savannah, finally tracks her down and of course more tragedy ensues. I found this part of the plot to be completely unbelievable since Hilly never took responsibility for the the tragedy he caused in his youth.  Savannah not holding any kind of grudge upon seeing Hilly for the first time in twenty years, acts like his is just a long-lost friend who reconnected with her via Facebook. Of course their lives are complicated because they both have life partners, but that doesn't stop Hilly from hoping until he is forced to return to the wealth he abandoned when he and his parents learn that his long-suffering girlfriend, Jenny is pregnant. Of course Hilly decides to use his family wealth and become a philanthropist, helping many people throughout his life and raising a family with Jenny. 

    This book is far from the love story it is being billed as. There are so many plot holes and such poor character development that I can't believe it ever got the green light to be published. The plot is preposterous and simply too silly to be believable. The characters feel like caricatures from "Mandingo", "Gone with the Wind" and "Driving Miss Daisy." I won't be reading any of Mr. Nadler's future novels. His debut novel was a telltale sign of the lack of new talent in the publishing world but who still manage to get published for reasons that are beyond me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    The majority of the story is about Hilly Wise, the son of obnoxi

    The majority of the story is about Hilly Wise, the son of obnoxious nouveau riche Jewish attorney, Arthur Wise. Hilly has a near-stalking obsession with Savannah, a poor local black girl he knew briefly when they were teenagers. His odyssey of trying to contact her through the convening years is two-fold. He wants to rekindle what he perceives as a love interest between them, of which she seems to be indifferent, but also because he feels responsible for sending Savannah's Uncle Lem, Arthur Wise's handyman, to prison for stealing some papers from Arthur's briefcase. These papers play a part in a big family secret that is revealed on the last page of which, I might add, I just assumed during the course of reading the book. The stories I really enjoy are ones that leave me satisfied as I close the book for the last time. Satisfied in that, I'm glad I took the time to read it and also a feeling of sadness that the story is over. I never got that with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    I,too kept waiting for this book to get better. The father is no

    I,too kept waiting for this book to get better. The father is not just flawed he's a dyed in the wool bigot who NEVER changes. At the beginning he's just a so so lawyer who "gets lucky" [if you can call it that] By the end the author makes him out to be a genius.
    I would NOT call this a family saga...not enough detail about any of the other female characters except Savanna. The main lead is Hilly who hates his Dad's money [and how it was made] but takes it in the end and gives some away through philanthropy.
    I don't have to believe all the books I read but this one didn't even come close. Save your $$$$$$

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I adored this book. It reminded me of The Help in that it observ

    I adored this book. It reminded me of The Help in that it observes race relations and
    the struggles of African Americans. I like Stuart Nadler's writing style and found the story compelling.
    I was quite surprised when I learned it was a first novel. I just bought his collection of short stories
    and eagerly await Mr. Nadler's future novels. I read a lot of fiction and this was my favorite book in a long while.
    Highly recommended for readers of serious fiction and family sagas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    Good Read

    I enjoyed reading this novel. The journey of Hilly, the narrator, is compelling. His father, Robert, is an interesting but flawed human being. Hilly's recollections of his father are powerful. I hated the dad at the beginning of the novel and loved him by the end. Perhaps like his son, I forgave him for his many sins. Stuart Nadler has a writing style that is lean and beautiful. Wise Men features complex characters and a memorable plot. I would recommend Wise Men to readers who enjoy love stories and family dramas. I look forward to the author's next novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1