Customer Reviews for

Wise Guy

Average Rating 4.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    Great Book!

    WiseGuy is one of the best books I have ever read. The book is a biography of Henry Hill¿s life in the mafia, but can almost be passed a guide book on how to survive in the mafia. I love how this book is set up where the author, Nicholas Pileggi, gives his 3rd person view on the events that occur in Henry¿s life, then Henry himself tells his side of the story, and sometimes his wife, Karen, tells what she witnessed, and at one point Henry¿s girlfriend, Linda, tells what she had seen. You need all of these points of view to completely understand how Henry and the mafia operated their business.<BR/> To love this book, you have to love the mafia. Otherwise, you will not be interested in the story at all. It can be hard to follow everything that is going on if you are not interested and believe me, there is a lot going on. Not only that, you can become confused on whose talking in the story, though Pileggi clearly states on who is narrating with big bold names. Out of all the narrators, Henry speaks about 80% of the time. Then Karen probably speaks about 10% of the time while Pileggi and Linda have narrated 5% of the time each. <BR/> Another reason I love this book is the actual story. The story is crazy, violent, romantic, smart, and exciting all wrapped up into 308 pages. There are a few curse words (as made famous by Joe Pesci great performances) and violent scenes, but I do not think it is as bad as most people would think. If you have seen the movie Goodfellas (the movie that is based off the book), you have a good understanding about what the story is about, but there are little things that you do not normally see in movies but read in the books. For instance, do you remember in the movie the part where you see a young Henry Hill break car windows and blow them up? Do you know why he was doing that? I do. To find out, you have to read WiseGuy. Most people think ¿Oh, I have already watched the movie. Why do I need to read the book?¿ Well, I can honestly say I do not enjoy reading, but I couldn¿t put the book down! I loved it and I know you will love it too, even if you don¿t read very often, or don¿t like mafia books. Nicholas Pileggi is a great author, and is now one of my favorites. I completely recommend this book.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2009

    A reader fascinated with the Mafia

    "Goodfellas" is a great movie and is perfectly cast. I have enjoyed watching it many times. While digging in my attic this week, I found an old tattered copy of "Wise Guy" that I didn't even know I had. I read it in a 1 day. It is true to the movie (or vice versa) and a book that I could not put down. It offers great insight into the workings of the Mafia and what that life is really like. Great read and highly recommended!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2003

    Fantastically Written Book!!

    This is one of the most engrossing books I've ever read. The writing was action-packed and forward moving. I couldn't put the book down and was sorry when I finished it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2000

    Magnificent Storytelling!

    After becoming a fan of the Martin Scorsese film GoodFellas, I was inspired to read the book on which it is based. The book is Wise Guy, and as soon as I started reading it, I couldn't stop. The inside life of Henry Hill is ten times as exciting as any other, and makes for a fun, fast, and great read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Did not want this book to end!

    I have seen Goodfellas many times and it was amazing how closely the movie followed the book. I could not put my Nook down. The writing was so masterful that I felt I was folloing Henry around. Outstanding read that I would recommend to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2005

    Outstanding Wiseguys; Mafia

    if you enjoy reading mafia books, I would really recommend you to read this outstanding book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2004

    Gangsta

    ¿Wise Guy¿ by Nicholas Pileggi was based on a true story about a man named Henry Hill. He was a punk kid, who grew up poor in The Bronx dreaming of being a ¿Wise Guy¿in the mob. He began working at the age of twelve at a cab stand which led him to a job offer in the mob. It was a dream come true for Henry but it wasn¿t all it cracked up to be. This book is like a day to day documentary in the life of a mobster. I loved the book because it gave me a true insight into the life of somebody else. Nicholas Pileggi did very well on giving the exact details to this true story. Its an action packed book with many hard core characters. There is also a movie about this book called ¿Good Fellas¿ and you should definitely check it out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2004

    Best Mob Book I've read!

    Great mafia book, it is like the day to day journal of a mobster. Mr. Pileggi does a great job of telling the story of a low level hood who was not afraid to get into anything. From his days of parking Cadillacs to him eating mushroom and sausage pizza and drinking Orange Fanta before testifying against Jimmy Burke, this book has it all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Badass

    Hated that i finished it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    The best

    A fast and furious read. You can hear Liotta talking to you as you read each word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Just great

    This book rocks plain and simple

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Simply devine!

    Goodfellas is tied with The Shawshank Redemption as my favorite movie. I watch it at least 5 times a year. This book, for me, was nearly impossible to put down. The author has done a jam-up job at telling the story both in third-person summaries and first-person quotes. Thank you for such an awesome read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    SO GOOD!!

    I literally could not put this book down! I knew it was the inspiration for the movie Goodfellas, but I certainly didn't think that the movie would stick so closely to the book. Incredible to think that this was someone's real life. Amazing!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Great book

    $12.99 is the most ive ever paid for a nook book but this was completely worth it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    Awesome

    I loved this book. I would compare it to the Godfather.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    Wise Guy- BEST BOOK EVER!

    Wise Guy was a phenomenal story of a man named Hanry Hill. This book is the best book i have read in my entire life. It is definitely amazing.
    The first time i read this book i fell in love with so many genres. This book is very goood one and after you read this book you should see the major motion picture Goodfellas. Anyone except for animal lovers should read this because it contains all kinds of genres.

    ***WARNING***
    This book contains MATURE CONTENT.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This Is One hell of a story

    This is one true story that is hard to forget. From bookmaking to loan sharking, to extortion and even murder. This guys were so well connected and got away with so many things including the Lufthansa robbery ( for a while anyways) it will boggle your mind. The story also tells the true inner workings of the mob and how they were successful for so many years.

    However greed, being power hungry and betrayal is what did this mob family in. This really is a great book don't want to spoil too much of the book and it's even better than the Godfather Imo. Plus it's a true story and you wouldn't regret reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Book on the Mafia

    Great indepth telling of the Mafia legend. Better than the movie and worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2003

    wiseguys and goodfellas

    wiseguy life in a mafia family is the most remarable book that anyone could read . the book is also based on the hit movie called goodfellas the book and the movie are exactly alike no difference read the book or watch the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2003

    I loved this book it was just as good as the movie or better!!!

    I loved this book i thought the movie was just as good or maybe better. Pileggi's book is a masterpiece! I loved how the book decribed everyhting that happned in the true story. I'd definately love to read another of Pileggi's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2