Customer Reviews for

Wish

Average Rating 4
( 412 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(170)

4 Star

(121)

3 Star

(76)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

I don't mean to make a bad pun, but I "wish" this book never ended.

I was given this book by a friend who is a fan of young adult fiction and told me this is the best book she read all year. I am not usually a fan of this genre and was hesitant to read it, but then...I spent the next four hours lost in the world of the book in what was...
I was given this book by a friend who is a fan of young adult fiction and told me this is the best book she read all year. I am not usually a fan of this genre and was hesitant to read it, but then...I spent the next four hours lost in the world of the book in what was a moving magical story of love and loss and coming of age that actually made me laugh out loud several times, and I am sad to admit, cried at least twice. I highly recommend this book to any one who likes young adult novels, magical realism, romance or stories about families coming back together. I have never written a review for a book before, and this one was the first to ever compel me to do so. Enjoy it.

posted by whiskeywonder on November 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good book

Ijust wanted to know two things when i was done with bookhow did the sister die and why is not with Miles. Ita good book as long a us dont look @ thoes two facts. And thank u my lend me friend

posted by so_death_bye on January 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 414 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted November 29, 2009

    I don't mean to make a bad pun, but I "wish" this book never ended.

    I was given this book by a friend who is a fan of young adult fiction and told me this is the best book she read all year. I am not usually a fan of this genre and was hesitant to read it, but then...I spent the next four hours lost in the world of the book in what was a moving magical story of love and loss and coming of age that actually made me laugh out loud several times, and I am sad to admit, cried at least twice. I highly recommend this book to any one who likes young adult novels, magical realism, romance or stories about families coming back together. I have never written a review for a book before, and this one was the first to ever compel me to do so. Enjoy it.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Good book

    Ijust wanted to know two things when i was done with bookhow did the sister die and why is not with Miles. Ita good book as long a us dont look @ thoes two facts. And thank u my lend me friend

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Really really good

    Ive had this book for awhile and for some reason just kept over looking it. Got it as a free book when i first got my nook. After reading it i cant believe i waited so long. Really a great read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    FAB debut novel!

    This is a story that transcends reality and makes the reader feel as if they are personally involved with the characters. We are not separated by pages and words in a book. We are engaged and vested in the fate of our character. This is the book that you stay in bed to read a bit longer, and this is the book that you clear your schedule to treat yourself to a quiet afternoon.

    I am giving this book 5 stars because Bullen's writing is clear and articulate, and it is a story well-told. I think that she could have written sappier, but she didn't. She respects her readers enough to make this a real story with a magical element. Bonus: I was pleasantly surprised to find out this was set in San Francisco, with the ability to make this book a travelogue for a newbie in town.

    Regarding the teen drinking in the story, I thought Bullen hit the nail on the head with her description of the children of wealthy parents who attend an exclusive school in a very open city. Teenagers experiment and when they have their own cars, keys to the summer home, and free reign, they are going to emulate adult behavior. It's what they've seen, and it's what they know. These are cues teens pick up from the adults in their lives. Does that mean Bullen is encouraging underage drinking? No. She is simply an observer who is writing about teen behavior. That's what makes this a real story. There is no sugar-coating here. Teens who want to experiment are going to do so.

    Onto the story itself:

    As the story unfolds, we learn that Olivia has been uprooted from all that she knows to find herself in a new school, in a new state, and without her fearless twin sister to help navigate the social mores. Her parents are distant. Her first friend at school exists only because their two moms work together, and - worse than that - he wears squishy mushroom-colored loafers. And then she sees a boy. One who meets her eyes and smiles like he knows her. But, of course, he is dating the prettiest and most popular girl at school.

    In her complete and utter loss, Olivia does the very best she can with what she has. She finds a tailor, Posey, who can fix dresses to suit the wearer in a way that is unexpected. In fact, Olivia has no idea that her bad night had a purpose, and her wish to see her sister again is about to come true. It is only in re-tracing steps and asking questions that Olivia realizes what a gift she has been given.

    So, if you had just one wish.what would you wish for?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If you could have anything in the world, what would you wish for?

    This is a good book about grief, love, magic, sisterly affection, and many other things. The main character Olivia has recently gone through the loss of her twin sister Violet when she comes across a dress shop and receives a dress that will grant her one wish, and she wishes for her sister back. Throughout the book Olivia and Violet have many adventures while using Olivia's remaining two wishes. And all this time she has a huge crush on the skater boy Soren. This is a very god book and deals with a lot of real problems one might go through in their life, though i don't think anyone will ever have magical wish granting dresses. :) I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Best book ever!

    Ive just finished this book and i must sat....AWESOME!!! I love how Olivia is finally moving on without her sister Voilet to help her. This book has even me to look for shooting stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    A must read

    Awesome!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    More than 5 stars

    You cannot find a book simlar to this one because Wish is so unique. You can try to predict what happens but you are probably incorrect. It is filled with many wonderful twists and turns. I totally recommend this book to anyone with a love for adventure and romance!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Amazing

    This was the best book ive read all year! It is full of excitment and fun! And now that theres a second book, i need to read it. Keep up the good work Alexandra Bullen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Great

    I read this book A long time back. I lent itas paperback and the person nver gave it back. But i remeber being hooked. I love it and think anyone should read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Jhjhjj

    Simply amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Good read

    Enjoyed the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    I wonder...

    Is this book worth it?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Lost

    I lost my identical twin in april...we were both 22.... im hoping this book is just what i need!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    LOVED IT!!!

    Great! Fun! FunnY! Sad! and so much more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    LOVE

    AMAZING BOOK. i loved every second of it!! You have to read it, you won't be sorry.... :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Not bad

    It wasnt exactly what i expected when i read the summary about this book, but it turned out to be a really good book. Im not usually the type to read books about magic but im glad i kept reading because it had a great message and a good ending. Well worth the price......FREE lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    Good book- read now!

    I thought this book was great. The romance issues, being able to see the growth of the character in your head while reading is amazing! Once you read this book you will most likely want to read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    recommend for different age

    I did not finish this book...athough I think It was well written, it really was written for a teenager or young adult due to the setting of the book. I would recommend it certainly for that age group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Beautiful

    This book made me want to cry , but in a good way. I wish that she hadnt gave everything that was her sisters. She should have kept something that her sister loved very much ..like the red dress. I wonder what happened to the girl who bought violets dress.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 414 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21