Customer Reviews for

The Wish

Average Rating 4
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Neat! Cool! Funny! & Weird??

This Book was cool and Funny. I couldn't put it down. Some parts of the book were sort of odd though. If you like teen fantasy and romance. Then this book is definetly yours.

posted by Anonymous on November 17, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Um... Huh?

This book was really weird. She had really mean friends, and it was kind of a cliffhanger, like will her friends like her anymore? I mean, I was kind of hoping for one of Gail Carson Levine's instant classics, like Ella Enchanted or her princess books, but this one was ...
This book was really weird. She had really mean friends, and it was kind of a cliffhanger, like will her friends like her anymore? I mean, I was kind of hoping for one of Gail Carson Levine's instant classics, like Ella Enchanted or her princess books, but this one was really disappointing. It had a good idea, but the story was not great.

posted by Anonymous on August 21, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2008

    awesomee.

    I read this book this past summer and it was great. I kept wanting to turn the page and I could hardly put it down. 'The Wish' is about a teenage girl who wishes that she was the most popular girl in school but eventually learns that the people who matter in her life will like her for who she is.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2007

    Neat! Cool! Funny! & Weird??

    This Book was cool and Funny. I couldn't put it down. Some parts of the book were sort of odd though. If you like teen fantasy and romance. Then this book is definetly yours.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2007

    Um... Huh?

    This book was really weird. She had really mean friends, and it was kind of a cliffhanger, like will her friends like her anymore? I mean, I was kind of hoping for one of Gail Carson Levine's instant classics, like Ella Enchanted or her princess books, but this one was really disappointing. It had a good idea, but the story was not great.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2007

    A modern Fairy Tale

    What a intresting book I liked it a lot! Wilma's persanality is so much like mine! I Recommend it,thumbs up!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    this book is so lifelike because so many people try to fit in bu

    this book is so lifelike because so many people try to fit in but can't so..... you know but in the end she should be happy because she got to know her "friends" personally(fears, life before popularity and more) as a kid (now I'm thirteen) I didn't fit in and people always made fun of me, but when I got to seventh grade people would talk about me but not as much and now in the eight grade I got a whole lot of friends, so this book means so much to me because I see it from my own personal view.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    this is a awesome book!!!

    In the beginning a girl named Wilma was going to school and then she let and old lady have her seat and the old lady offered her a wish and then she asked to be the most popular person at her school. and when she was at school e bunch of people started throwing notes at her and she thought tnhat some of them were wierd.
    I really liked this book it was awesome I hope you like it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What happened to sweet?

    This story was a huge letdown. I read Ella Enchanted first and loved it! I followed it up with Fairest and enjoyed it as well. But this book... I mean really what happened to the sweet fairytale? The girl this story is about is in 8th grade and of course wants to be popular! She is a relatable character but her whole story is so strange. It is set in our time- which makes it even more weird. While on a bus ride our main character gives her seat to an elderly lady and in thanks the ederly lady tells her that she will grant one wish. Willima (the main character) wishes to be popular...and here begins the story. This book was nothing like Ella Enchanted so if you are looking for a similar story look elsewhere. There were quite a few things to watch out for in this book - In 8th grade this girl had no problem agreeing to meet a guy she likes for a kissing sesion. Her friends were a bit boy obsessed and each had boyfriends. I did NOT think it sounded right at all. For one because of the setting -moderen- and the whole wish thing... it just didn't work out for me. I know that middle schools are very much like the one featured in this story but is was just so silly to think of 8th graders being in love, going to dances, partying, and just generally acting inmature by trying to act mature and fit in. I hope I don't scare anyone away from this story. I read a few reviews before hand and others seemed to really enjoy it. Maybe the reason I didn't like this book is because I loved Ella Enchanted's sweet story and I like old fairy-tale settings to go along with a... well, a fairy-tale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    The Wish By: Gail Carson Levine

    Wilma Sturtz is invisible and miserable at school. One day she meets an old lady on the Subway in New York. The old lady offers her a wish, Wilma immediately asks for popularity, she asks to be the most popular kid at school. Wilma an eight grader forgets that she will graduate in three weeks and her popularity will vanish. When her wish came true she has more friends that she can keep track of, forty dates to the Grad Night Dance, and a secret admirer writing her love poems. Everything was great, until she realizes that there's a loophole in her wish, and her time in the spotlight has almost run out. Wilma's wish has ended after they graduated. I like this Book, The Wish because it was very good because it talks about popularity and romance. I think everybody has the wish to be popular specially when you go to a new school and you don't know anybody and nobody wants to talk to you. Be Careful what you wish for.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    It's Very Fun to Read

    I find it very fun to read, from the beginning to the very end. Very page turning. Recommended

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2009

    don't jugde a book by it's cover

    I read this and I thought it was pretty good. But if you're truly a good reader than you should be able to comprehend what she was going through. She had no friends and no one wanted to be friends with her. The only reason she wished to be popular is because she thought the lady was joking. But anyway this is a truly a good book that teaches you being popular isn't all it's cracked up to be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Doesn't sound good.

    Gail Levine 's books like Farirest and Ella Enchanted are really good. They were both thrilling, filled with romance, fun , and suspense, but I was kinda disappointed with this one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2006

    Mystacal and Magical+wonderful

    The Wish is an amazing book. I think anyone who likes funny and romantic book this is the one you want!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2006

    The Wish

    The book I am reviewing is The Wish by Gail Carson Levine. I would rate this book five stars. It was outstanding because it is an interesting book and it made me not want to put the book down. This book is about a girl named Wilma Sturtz who meets a witch and the witch grants her a wish. Wilma¿s wish is to be the most popular girl. A problem that occurs in this story is Wilma¿s wish is only temporary. It will only last for a few weeks. I would recommend this book to girls who like fantasy stories. Another book by this author is Ella Enchanted. Read this book to find out if Wilma¿s popular friends will stay her friends when she is unpopular.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2005

    The wish is great!

    The wish is an awesome book about wilma Sturtz and it relates to a kids everyday life! It is like a true book. (except for the witch) But i recomend this book to anyone who likes to read! Thanks ! ~!Books Rule!~

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2004

    AWWWESOME!!!!!!

    The Wish is a heartstopper. I wanted to keep reading every page. If you enjoy fantasies, a little love, and big decisons we all must make, then you'll love this book. It was everything I was looking for in a book. GREAT!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2004

    This book is number 1111111111111111111111

    i think it was awesome this is one of those books that you can read over and over it makes me really really happy she is like my best friend i love this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2000

    Wonderful!

    This was a wonderful book...Gail Carson Levine certainly has a gift for telling the truth and putting it beautifully...This particular book tells about friendships: discovering them, losing them, fighting for them. Again, this was a wonderful book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2000

    Gail Carson Levine Has Enchanted Again

    A great book to tell realistic feelings toward popular and ordinary people. This book has to be read by anyone who has experienced these kinds of thoughts, which is everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2000

    IT WAS A GOOD BOOK *****

    THIS WAS A GOOD BOOK

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2014

    I need help

    What does hashtag mean and awesone book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5