BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Wish List

Average Rating 4.5
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This book will rule like Artemis Fowl !!!¢¾

This book is gonna be awesome£! I cannot wait!

posted by Anonymous on September 25, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A good book by a good author!!!

hello im ben irwin this author is good i have read the whole artemis fowl series and i haven't read the wish list but i think it'll be good like artemis fowl i can;t wait to read it!!!

posted by Anonymous on July 5, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    The Wish List

    Great book, lot of action, and well written. A creative idea. In the begining, it may seem a little confusing, but you'll catch on write away. I liked the characters, and the conclusion. Others will too. It is about a girl who commited crime, and when she dies she is in between heaven and hell. The girl, Meg, must help and old man complete his Wish List, but its not as simple as it seems..........

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    Great Book

    Eion Colfer, The Wish List is a bittersweet book about doing the right thing for people that like fantasy.

    The wish list takes place in a town called Dublin. The main character is Meg Finn in Eion Colfer's, The Wish List. Meg Finn is a ghost after a gas tank explosion. She wasn't good enough to go to heaven but wasn't bad enough to go to hell. Meg goes back to the real world as a ghost and tries to make herself a better person. Meg helps an old guy named Lowrie McCall that she tried to rob when she was alive. Will Meg make it to heaven or will she go to hell or maybe she will do absolutely nothing and stay in the middle?
    Eion Colfer's readers from all around will love the wish list because of its amazing parts about respect, love, and life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Bookhead

    Great book a little confusing at some parts. Grade leavle 6 and up

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    To the response under this....

    Then what is your first favorite book if this is you second favorite?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2007

    It was actually pretty good.... I was surprised

    It was very very good i liked the ending but at times it got confusing but besides that its suspensful and ingenious so read it its pretty good oh oh oh oh and i like their preception of heaven and hell

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2006

    The Wish List review

    The Wish List At the start of this book, a teen-aged girl named Meg had done many bad things in her life, not just little things, but big things. When she and a kid named Belch brake into the old man Lowrie¿s house, they both get killed in an explosion Belch accidentally made. As a soul Meg goes to neither heaven nor hell, but takes the road in-between to fix her last and final mistake. Lowrie's life was also a disaster, but not because he was bad, but because he made some bad choices. On a list he writes these things down and circles 3 that can be done still. These are: Kissing a girl named Sissy who eventually became a star. Kicking a ball over soccer net, because he didn¿t take the chance that he could. Punching a man named Brendan Ball, who humiliated him terribly. Lastly, spitting over the cliffs of Moher, since his dad used to sing a lullaby, and it was one of his dreams to do it. After all of the twists and turns, and even a wish being replaced, this was a good book. I think this book was a good book it was exciting to read because there was action and a tiny bit of mystery. There were exciting flashbacks that told stories I was waiting to hear. Also, Meg seemed like she had the personality of a person her age, though the things she did seem a little unreal. Lowrie was pretty cranky like most seniors are, but not too much. I do think the main conflict was strange to me though the tasks on the wish list weren¿t too much of disasters. The ending was a pure page-turner, I couldn¿t wait to finish. I kept wondering what the outcome of the last task, spitting over the cliffs of Moher, would be. I ended up enjoying this book, though some of it was weird. The author, Eoin Colfer, has an interesting voice most of the character talk a little like sarcastic teen-agers. Older people are also called ¿Old fossils.¿ I¿m not used to books like this, but it was still a thriller. Also, he used many forms of characterization, and this book isn¿t just paragraph after paragraph of description either. Though this book doesn¿t have a big vocabulary, it still had words I didn¿t know. I would rate this book an 8/10! Though there are strange parts, I enjoyed the humor, and the plotline. Not every book can get that 10/10, but this comes pretty close. Finally, this book is high on my charts. I think you should read this book, and other Eoin Colfer books because the books have a kid flare to them and the plotlines fit together well. Anything can happen in The Wish List¿s magical spirit world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2006

    Second Chance

    ¿The rusted metal collapsed under the minuscule onslaught, allowing the white-hot sphere access to highly flammable gas ¿ BOOM! Meg Finn¿s soul was knocked clean out of her skin.¿ If you knew the horrible things Meg Finn had done in her lifetime, you might think that she deserves this atrocious fate. In Eoin Colfer¿s The Wish List, an acrimonious yet witty tale of an errant teenager, Meg Finn is on her way to hell ¿ literally. At the onset of the story, Meg Finn is helping a neighborhood delinquent, Belch Brennan, break into a grumpy, old man¿s apartment. We see, however, that there might be another side to the wayward Meg Finn. At the last minute, she has second thoughts and attempts to help the old man and escape. Belch, however, would die rather than let Meg get away ¿ and he does. The next thing Meg remembers is speeding along a vast tunnel that splits in two directions ¿ one heading up to an exceptionally pearly gateway, and the other down to fiery damnation. Can Meg save her soul from the demonic creatures of hell? Colfer has combined an interesting plot, black humor, and fast-paced action to mold this gritty yet thirst-quenching read. He offers a cynically funny view of the afterlife without being offensively profane, and his wisecracks get you chuckling out loud. Despite the fact that it is a quick read, the story has a deep message of morality engraved into its pages. The Wish List is a tale of the divine and devilish that is perfect for anyone who takes pleasure in a few wisecracks and enjoys reading for fun rather than for a challenge. This book is mostly recommended for teenagers although, some good-humored adults might also appreciate it. Colfer emphasizes the dilemmas that are involved in being a teenager and explores the regrets and feelings of loneliness and despair that are related to growing old. Special bonds form between and connect these feelings, despite the fact that they belong to different ages, and it is these qualities that make The Wish List one story that you won¿t regret reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2005

    My Wish List? The Supernaturalists should have been like this!

    There was something special and very nice about this one. and it is that despite havign dark humor and very funny moments, it is also heartwarming fun for everyone. Ovi D.L.P.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2005

    Cute n' Quick

    The Wish List is a good, quick read for someone who enjoys children¿s fantasy literature. Written for a 10-12 year old, it is a little less developed than Colfer¿s Artemis Fowl series. The story, although not entirely new, provides several good laughs and a warm fuzzy feeling at the end. This book is recommended for children or adults who have a few extra chuckles to spare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2005

    Very Good

    The Wish List was so good. The charaters are so wonderful and some what loveable. I was so sad when I finished it because it was a great book and hard to put down and also because the book's ending was sad and truely remarkable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2005

    Colfer's at His Worst is Still Awesome

    The Wish List is Eoin Colfer at his very worst. The Artemis Fowl files, the Artemis Fowl series, and the Supernaturalist far surpass the novel in suspense and characterization. Yet, even so, The Wish List provides a surprisingly new, different perspective to the afterworld. I found the characters, despite not being superbly developed, to be very wry and funny. At times, when I was reading, I just totally cracked up because of some of the hilarious comments. I recommend this book to anyone who would not get angry if the book provides a different view to the normal way of looking at the afterlife. It's different - I found it to be creative and imaginative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2005

    Very, very good!

    This is a very touching story. It's funny, sometimes, but doesn't go overboard. I would definatly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2005

    Disappointed

    Actually, this was not really a bad book. I think the only reason I was disappointed was because it didn't live up to the standards of the Artemis Fowl books. But It was still worth four stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2005

    I personally liked it

    A very touching story with humor mixed in. I liked it maybe you will. So check it out you never know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2005

    The Wish list =#1

    This is a great book!! this book is about a girl who dies(yeah i know that is like a bad beggining) and is equaly balanced between hell and heaven. to go to heaven she has to help her last victam; a old guy with a huge wish list. she has to face many challenges and get past a horrable creature from hell.i don wanna give any more away!! this is a great book!!1 i reccomend it to every one!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2004

    Wish List

    I thought this was great book. I would recommend this book to all my friends. We read it in class together and I immediately loved it! If you haven't read this book you need to! I would read this book over again but I don't have time. I'm glad I read this book. It was very interisting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2004

    Wish List

    I like this book very much. It's like once you start reading, you can't put the book down. This book is very suspenseful because every chapter you read, it leaves you hanging because you can't wait to see what happens next. This book is so sequential. When I was reading this book, i really didn;t pay attention to it because I was finding it boring. But once you start getting into the good part of the book, you start to like it,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2004

    'Just Great'

    Meg Finn is 14 years old. She helps a guy named Belch rob this old man named Lowrie Mcall. But both die. But Meg is too bad for Heaven and too bad for hell. So she is sent back to help him finish his wish list. But Belch is sent back to stop her. He and Meg at first hate each other but in the end as always they become partners. You will have to read the book to figure out the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2004

    Wish List

    It was really good. I liked it because you sort of did not know what was oing to happen next. It was exiting expecially because at the end of the chapters it left you very excited to find out what would happen next. I recommended it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2004

    great book

    great book!!! comedy realistic and sci-fi cleverly combined. loved it. i lend it to all of my friends. hard to put down. combines most of the aspects of a perfect book. really a 4.5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2