Customer Reviews for

Wish Upon a Star

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 16, 2013

    Ceri is going to a meeting with her ex husband over custody f th

    Ceri is going to a meeting with her ex husband over custody f their daughter Skye. The last person she thinks to run into is Jason her ex fiance who left her days before their wedding. She has never quite got over him. Now he needs her help to get his brother's body back from her ex husband Russell. Russell has other plans for all of them. Plans that involve Zombies and seeing that they never escape. Now Ceri and Jason have to work together to save their families. Both also realize their love has never died.




    Let me just say for a short story this one sure does pack a lot of action. Something is always going on to keep you turning the pages. Ceri will do anything to keep her daughter and mom safe. She will also do anything to help an old love/friend out. She knows her ex husband is a bad guy she just doesn't know how bad he is. I really liked how she is willing to fight and not just wait for someone to save her. Jason is a sweet guy who shouldn't have walked away years ago. He now wants to help his family and to try and get Ceri back. Faced with horror he has to make some hard decisions. Russell the ex deserves the award for biggest jerk and an evil villain award. He is truly a crazy person. He will go t any lengths to get what he wants. I love how the author adds the zombies in. Always a nice touch for a zombie fan like me. If you want a great story with action, zombies, an evil man and more I am not going to spoil anything pick this one up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    ***Received from Entangled Publishing for an honest review*** (T

    ***Received from Entangled Publishing for an honest review***
    (This is a short story/novella. This review is not based on story length but story content as length has very little to do with how much I enjoy a book.)

    An interesting, twisted tale about zombies, their creation, their uprising, and a couple's desperation to survive it to save what remains of their family.

    This isn't a story about the first zombie apocalypse; it's about the second. And told in first person, I was given front row seats to watch this disaster unfold.

    The attraction between Ceri (the story teller) and Jason (her ex-fiance) is beautifully woven into this short story without detracting from the main event: survive the zombies so they can find Ceri's daughter and mother, then make it back to a safe room before the military wipes out the building to stop the infected from leaving. And while I was on the edge of the seat with every page I turned, while I cheered as they got closer to Ceri's family, while I sighed when Jason and Ceri reconciled their past, I wept inside for the loss of Jason's brother (already infected) and his father (infected during the chaos).

    This story didn't miss a thing. Ms. McLean's writing is thorough. No question goes unanswered, no problem goes unresolved. She creates a world that's amazing to be a part of, tells about a horror I would dread experiencing, and writes a happy-ending that only a near-disaster could produce.

    Well done, Ms. McLean!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was a somewhat normal scenario that quickly spiraled out of

    This was a somewhat normal scenario that quickly spiraled out of control.... Oh who am I kidding - this was not a normal scenario.  Ex-wife, Ceri, going to see ex-husband, Russell,  about his visitation with their daughter Skye.  Runs into ex-fiance, Jason, and his father, Max, who also wants to see her ex-husband - to try to get the body of his brother Peter back. Peter was hurt on the night of Jason's bachelor party - only Jason had opted to spend the evening with Ceri.  He feels that Peter's accident would not have happened if he hadn't stayed with Ceri.  




    Russell had used some experimental procedures on Peter and had saved his life but made him a cyborg in the process.  His cyborg half-life had been snuffed out during an attempted robbery in which he was shot and killed.  Or so everyone thought. As Ceri, Jason and Max soon learn, Russell has reanimated Peter and turned him into a zombie - one with a chip in his head to do Russell's bidding. 




    The situation goes from bad to worse.  Peter infects the secretary, who starts a zombie outbreak. Russell is killed by none other than Peter, and Ceri and Jason find themselves locked into Russell's safe room. At least from there they can get out the word about the outbreak and get them some help. That help turns out to be the military planning to bomb the establishment in two hours.  This would be okay except that Ceri has seen her mother and daughter huddled under a desk in Russell's office on the top floor.  The true story starts here as Jason and Ceri set off to rescue them through a zombie infested building.




    This one had a lot of suspense and was an interesting take on the outbreak of zombies.  Enjoyed reading it and turns out according to my spreadsheet, it is the 100th book I have read this year!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2013

    This is the first book that I have read by Michelle McLean. I do

    This is the first book that I have read by Michelle McLean. I do not read anything that sounds like it may lean toward horror, but since this is also a romance story I wanted to see what it was about. I’m so glad I read this. It’s a really good action packed story that kept me reading until the end because I could not wait to find out what would happen next. 

    Ceri McKinley is in the process of visiting the offices of her ex-husband to discuss a legal matter when Jason, her ex-fiancée shows up asking for her help. She has never stopped loving Jason and would love to have him in her life again, but she has no idea what she can do to help him. Once she hears his request she finally agrees to help him even though she feels like her involvement will not make a difference in Russell decision.

    Jason Crickett’s brother was killed in a robbery gone bad, so Jason only wants to purchase Peter’s body from Russell, the man who now owns him after keeping him alive years ago by the use of mechanical body parts. After all, he’s dead, so there is no reason that the man needs him now, and if he wants the body parts he put in Peter he can have them. But Jason’s plans are not going as easy as he thought. When Ceri gets him into Russell’s office neither one of them expected to see what was in front of their eyes. Zombies start taken over the building they are in, and now Jason and Ceri are fighting for their lives. Jason also plans to prove to Ceri that he regrets leaving her because he has never stopped loving her, and he will spend the rest of their lives proving it to her. That’s if they even make it out of the building alive! 

    I received an e-ARC of this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    OMG this book was great from start to finish. Great plot, great

    OMG this book was great from start to finish. Great plot, great character's amazing ending. Everyone has what we would call out "crazy" ex but man does this one take the cake! You have a megalomaniac with a HUGE God complex, the ex wife who just wants to take care of her daughter and be left alone and the man who gave her up long ago and has never stopped wanting her back. You just have to read it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    Ceri is trying to work out custody of her daughter with her evil

    Ceri is trying to work out custody of her daughter with her evil ex husband. While she is going to see him she runs into her ex fiance, Jason, and his father. They convince her to help them try and get back his brothers body who had been involved in scientific experimentation. After confronting her ex husband they learn he is basically creating zombies. It all goes to chaos from there. There is a Zombi uprising where Jason and Ceri struggle to save her daughter and her mother. Great read, and definitely keeps you interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The action scenes in this novella read like a crazy rollercoaste

    The action scenes in this novella read like a crazy rollercoaster ride. Human cyborgs, zombies, bitter exes with armed lackeys--this story has them all, complete with the threat of total destruction via military bombing--and the clock is ticking! To say it keeps you on the edge of your seat is an understatement.




    I like couples-with-a-history stories, and given the space limitations in a novella, couples with a prior relationship often feature prominently in them. Bring on the angst and drama! This story definitely delivers on it, though a bit too much of it is revealed through Ceri's internal dialogue, which definitely leans toward the melodramatic. Between it and the long stretches of bordering-on-soliloquy internal and external dialogue, readers are left with a bit of a "feast or famine" feeling. Over-the-top action! Long internal monologue. More action! Scene where Ceri reveals every single detail of her past eight years to Jason in a few short pages. More balance was definitely needed.




    For all that was going on here--or maybe because of it--parts of the resolution feel rushed. Larger-than-life antagonists are quickly dispatched. (I kept waiting for one of them in particular to show up later on, surviving against all odds much like the Twinkies in the Chevy Silverado Superbowl commercial. It didn't happen.) Seemingly insurmountable relationship hurdles suddenly smooth out. Ceri and Jason go from haven't-spoken-in-years to HEA in less than twenty-four hours; even during a possible zombie apocalypse, it's a bit much.




    In a nutshell: an entertaining read, but too uneven to be altogether satisfying. C.




    I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    My first zombie read and I am hooked! I loved this novella! It m

    My first zombie read and I am hooked! I loved this novella! It may be short but by the time I was finished I felt as if I had read a full book. There was so much action packed into this story that there was no way I could set it down, even for a minute. The characters were great together and an ex gets what's coming to him. What's not to like? Will definitely be looking for more books from Michelle! A must read!!!! I received an ARC from the publisher for an honest review. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Why is everyone so surprised that Zombies live in Vegas? Well V

    Why is everyone so surprised that Zombies live in Vegas? Well Vegas is the place for second chance at romance so it was a great back drop for a book setting. The title really didn't match what the book was about or what the readers would expect out of it. This was an entertaining read, action paced for such a short book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    Interesting story, star crossed lovers...a shot at a second chan

    Interesting story, star crossed lovers...a shot at a second chance and forgiveness. Satisfying ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2013

    Wish Upon a Star by Michelle McLean A zombie outbreak in Vegas.

    Wish Upon a Star by Michelle McLean

    A zombie outbreak in Vegas. Fun. Aka contagious and spreading. :)

    Ceri Saxton is on Paradise Island to deal with her monster of an ex-husband on custody issues over their daughter. And wow, what a mad monster he is. He has a crazy scheme to create and control zombies!
    Jason Crickett walked away from Ceri right before their wedding, feeling guilty about an accident his brother Peter was in. Now he needs to ask Ceri for help from her ex-husband.

    Ceri and Jason are fighting for their lives against a zombie outbreak.
    This 100 page story is fast moving, and wacky. It includes the typical gun shooting, flame throwing, zombie flesh seeking and obstacles to be overcome.
    With a little romance thrown in to wrap it all together. I enjoyed the running, shooting and zombie destroying. It moved quickly if a little predictable.I received a copy of this book from the publisher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was a good quick read. I read it straight through in less

    This was a good quick read. I read it straight through in less than 2 hours. The title was misleading because what I got wasn't what I expected based on the title. All in all it was a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    In Wish Upon a Star by Michelle McLean, Ceri was not looking for

    In Wish Upon a Star by Michelle McLean, Ceri was not looking forward to meeting with her controlling ex-husband about their custody agreement. But when she walked into his office, she certainly wasn't expecting a chain of events that would set into motion the potential for a second zombie apocalypse.

    'It was like some twisted game of Spin-the-Bottle, only instead of a kiss the winner got their face eaten off.'

    Ceri's ex-fiance Jason and his father spot her there before everything goes awry, and plead with her to help them find a family member so they can put things to rest. Unfortunately, her ex-husband has other plans. Before they have time to process what's happening, they are fighting for their lives and in a mad dash to make it to safety.

    'Maybe one of these days I'd get it through my thick skull that wishes hardly ever came true. Even when they did, they usually didn't turn out the way you wanted.'

    Wish Upon a Star is an action-packed zombie romance (yep, you heard me right) that is full of danger, sarcasm and regrets. Released just in time for the Halloween season, this is the perfect addition to your TBR list. It is definitely not for the weak-of-stomach as there are some gruesome details...I mean, it is about zombies! But there is also a wonderful thread of longing and love between Ceri and Jason woven into the plot.

    I really enjoyed Michelle's writing style. The descriptions of the situations and characters were spot on and made it every bit as interesting to me as an actual zombie movie would be. There was even a touch of humor mixed in to balance everything out. Even though it is a short novel, there is still a lot of depth to Ceri and Jason's history and feelings. My only gripe is that I wish it was a longer story! I'd love to get more of the backstory that brought them to where they are now and to see what the future holds for them.

    I'd definitely recommend this for horror lovers who want to try something with a different twist to it, or even for romance lovers who want to try out a new genre. I look forward to more thrilling stories by Michelle McLean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Ceri McKinley needs to settle some issues with her ex-husband, R

    Ceri McKinley needs to settle some issues with her ex-husband, Russell Saxton. She comes to Las Vegas with her daughter, Skye, and her mother, but Pleasure Island doesn't live up to its name. First she sees her former fiancée, Jason Crickett. He called off their wedding just three days before the ceremony. He needs her help get his brother's body back from Russell. This is just the beginning. Her day is going to get much worse. Russell is doing some dangerous experiments. Now because of him there is a major zombie attack as well as a deadly cyborg roaming Pleasure Island. Ceri and Jason are in so much danger. Can they escape without being infected or killed? Michelle McLean has crafted a thrilling story that keeps you on the edge of your seat. Ceri and Jason are still in love and will do whatever is necessary to protect the other. Their love and sacrifice increase the romantic tension and their fight to survive is riveting. I found this novella to be an action packed drama that can be read in one sitting. It's perfect for now when ghost and ghouls are everywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Now Wish Upon a Star I did really like. I don't normally go for

    Now Wish Upon a Star I did really like. I don't normally go for reunited lovers, but hey this story worked for me. Ceri McKinley always dreamed her ex-fiancé, Jason Crickett, would always return. Even though he broke her heart by dumping her right before their wedding. Jason needs a favor and Ceri is the only one to really help him. So, they go talk to Ceri crazy ex-husband to see if he would give Jason and his father his brother so they can give him a proper burial. Little did they know that they would be walking into the unexpected. 

    I'm not kidding, Ceri's ex-husband is crazy. I'm surprise they are able to come out alive out of the zombie invasion. Yes, this zombie romance did have a happier ending and I am a sap for happy endings. 

    Copy provided by publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This a story about zombies with lots of action and romance. The

    This a story about zombies with lots of action and romance.
    The characters in the story immediately catch the reader’s attention engaging them in the story until the very end.  On a visit to her ex-husband, Ceri is asked to help the man who jilted her, Jason.  What they discover in the office of her ex is a truly diabolical plot of greed and power using zombies.
    The action is well written and the author describes it vivid detail making it easy for the reader to picture the Jason and Ceri’s race for their lives as they try to save Ceri’s daughter and mother.
    The suspense builds as the reader wonders whether Ceri and Jason will be able to overcome their past and have a future.
    This would be a great story to share around a camp fire with friends, especially on Halloween.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    I really enjoyed this Halloween novel.  It was fun to read about

    I really enjoyed this Halloween novel.  It was fun to read about the couple, and I liked reading about it and wanted to know more about them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    I was enjoying the read and then it got interesting and took me

    I was enjoying the read and then it got interesting and took me off guard. I loved it! The writing was great and the characters were interesting. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    You ever read one of those books that shocks you? Like you go ba

    You ever read one of those books that shocks you? Like you go back to read the summary to make sure you’re reading the same thing being advertised? This was one for me. I expected zombies…I expected an old-flame reunion with perhaps a little romance. What Wish Upon A Star surprised me with, though, was an action-packed adventure that kept me flipping pages until the very end.

    Wish Upon A Star is written from Ceri’s point-of-view. Years after having gotten dumped days from her wedding to Jason, she’s at her ex-husband’s business to deal with a few visitation issues. That’s where Jason finds her…and where her life almost ends more times than I can count.

    While Ceri needs to talk to the evil ex-husband about their daughter, Jason and his father need to speak with him about the death of his brother. What happens next is a thrill-ride of action, suspense and multiple cliff-hanging chapters in a row. Zombies…fire…bombs…non-functioning elevators…and one really big marionette come into play as Ceri and Jason rush to save her daughter.

    And then…AND THEN! Romance, a lovely sense of UST building throughout the adventure until finally…FINALLY…

    I’m going to leave that there. Trust me, you’d rather read it than have me summarize it.

    I give this novella 3.5 stars. Drama, romance and a bit of a creep factor due to the zombie invasion all make this a perfect book for a Fall evening. It’s a quick read with a strong plot and well-written characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    This was a great, quick read to set the mood for Halloween. Swee

    This was a great, quick read to set the mood for Halloween. Sweet romance, lots of action, and of course the zombies. What's not to love? 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2