BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Wish You Well

Average Rating 4.5
( 210 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    powerful character-driven historical novel

    In 1940s New York City, twelve years old Louisa Mae ¿Lou¿ Cardinal hero-worships her father, a Pulitzer Prize winning writer. Lou¿s dream is to become as highly regarded as he is, but she is unaware of how little money her dad Jack earns. Considered by critics one of the best authors of his generation, Jack is considering Hollywood in order to feed his family of four. <P>Lou¿s idyllic world crashes when her beloved father dies in a car accident. With her mother in shock, Lou and her younger brother Oz are displaced and move to their great-grandmother¿s remote Virginia farm. The two siblings begin to heal, but a new fight to save their new home is on the horizon. <P>WISH YOU WELL is a powerful character-driven historical novel that provides the audience a look at the bone marrow of emotions of the key players during tragedy. Readers will take to heart Lou, Oz, their mom, and their great-grandmother. The support cast augments the tale with even deeper glimpses of the Cardinals. Although David Baldacci overdoes the melodrama and reverts to a well-written courtroom climax, WISH YOU WELL is a great look at daily survival during a period of intense grief and displacement. <P>Harriet Klausner

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    WOW!

    I have had this book for awhile and just got around to reading it. I certainly wasn't expecting to find that it was the best book I have read this entire year. In fact, I am going to buy it for 2 family members for Christmas. It is rare that a book is so well written that you see, feel and even smell the characters and their surroundings. I hope Baldacci will someday give us more of this kind of story. All books should be this entertaining.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2007

    bane

    Baldacci is writing what? That waspish question buzzed around publishing circles when Warner announced that the bestselling author of The Simple Truth, Absolute Power and other turbo-thrillers--an author generally esteemed more for his plots than for his characters or prose--was trying his hand at mainstream fiction, with a mid-century period novel set in the rural South, no less. Shades of John Grisham and A Painted House. But guess what? Clearly inspired by his subject--his maternal ancestors, he reveals in a foreword, hail from the mountain area he writes about here with such strength--Baldacci triumphs with his best novel yet, an utterly captivating drama centered on the difficult adjustment to rural life faced by two children when their New York City existence shatters in an auto accident. That tragedy, which opens the book with a flourish, sees acclaimed but impecunious riter Jack Cardinal dead, his wife in a coma and their daughter, Lou, 12, and son, Oz, seven, forced to move to the southwestern Virginia farm of their aged great-grandmother, Louisa. Several questions propel the subsequent story with vigor. Will the siblings learn to accept, even to love, their new life? Will their mother regain consciousness? And--in a development that takes the narrative into familiar Baldacci territory for a gripping legal showdown--will Louisa lose her land to industrial interests? Baldacci exults in high melodrama here, and it doesn't always work: the death of one major character will wring tears from the stoniest eyes, but the reappearance of another, though equally hanky-friendly, is outright manipulative. Even so, what the novel offers above all is bone-deep emotional truth, as its myriad characters--each, except for one cartoonish villain, as real as readers' own kin--grapple not just with issues of life and death but with the sufferings and joys of daily existence in a setting detailed with finely attuned attention and a warm sense of wonder. This novel has a huge heart--and millions of readers are going to love it.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    I just finished this wonderful book. It takes me back to my Grandmother's house with the smell of sugar cookies in the old oven. All I can say, it's a wonderful book and will tear at your heart strings.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2005

    Excellent

    I have enjoyed Mr. Baldacci's other works, but I can tell this one was special and came straight from his heart. A wonderful story.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    A most enjoyable read. Highly recommend!

    One of the most enjoyable books I have read in a long time. I felt like I really got to know the characters for all of their good, and bad.

    A very pleasant read and hard to put down once I started reading it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    Surprising & Wonderful!

    Don't read the synopis or any of the overly detailed reviews. Let the characters and story reveal themselves to you. You will feel it in your heart and soul. I am a big Baldacci fan and have read many of his books. I was going out of town for a few days and found myself bookless - Yikes! I went on-line just before hitting the road, typed in Baldacci as he always is good to read. I looked for a book with lots of star ratings and just cliked and purchased. I am so glad that I didn't know what to expect. The book is a marvel. It flows over, under, around and through you with a palpable and physical draw. The characters are strong and the the plot engrossing. I laughed, I cried and I loved every moment.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2000

    Surprising Opinion

    I can sum up my opinion of Wish You Well in 1 word, but since I am long-winded, I will elaborate. I was furious when I found out that Mr. Baldacci had a new book coming out that was not his usual blood-pumping, nail-biting style of writing. I vowed I would not read this book. Well, I was bookless, which all book lovers know is a fate worse than death, so I broke my vow and bought the book; a decision I do not regret. One word is all it takes to sum up my opinion. EXTRAORDINARY--extraordinary characters, extraordinary setting, extraordinary circumstances, and I repeat extraordinary characters. While it will always be my preference to read books that get my blood flowing, Wish You Well, was a nice change of pace. I would have given it 5 stars, but why risk Mr. Baldacci never again writing another thriller. This book is a keeper!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2000

    Captivating

    This book is full of honesty, integrity and values told very gently and with depth. It is captivating. It has real life drama. I bought it on audiotape and will listen to it again and again. I highly recommend the tape. It is very well read. I also plan to read the book. Initially I was surprised that it did not follow his previous books' storylines, but it is equally well written-- and it keeps you on the edge of your seat waiting for the next shoe to drop.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Wonderful

    Not at all what I expected. Very heartwarming. Wonderful book. Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    After reading several of David Baldacci's spy thrillers, I was skeptical about this book, in that it was such a change in direction for the author.
    Although it has been available for many years, I finally thought I would buy it. Baldacci is a great writer even if he steps out of his genre, how bad could it be?
    I'm glad I overcame my skepticism to finally read it because Wishing You Well is a treasure to be read by young and old alike.

    Strong characters, with a plot to match; it is one of those books you hate to see end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    From what i've heard...

    O need to read this book for my advanced english class for a quiz after the summer. I wondering if someone could give me some more info,
    Thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Loved it

    Would make a great movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Not my co Not my cup of tea-------however Up Not my cup of tea

    I really like baldacci's books, but this was slow and hard to stay with for me, but it is stated to be a departure from his usual style, so i think if you like this type of story it is probably a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    CLICK ON ME

    Almost he best book ever read this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Exciting

    This is a very suspenseful and exciting book. It is really hard to put down once you start reading it. As always the order process from B&N is outstanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Really Wonderful!

    This book was such a wonder to read.It is truly amazing to read about a time that is almost no longer known to most of us. Thank you David B for this GREAT book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Loved it

    Heartwarming

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Fantastic!

    This is a great read. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    BEST BOOK EVER

    This is the first book i have ever read by Mr. Baldacci. It it is no one of my favorite reads. I will defiantly read more of his books. I will deciantly reccomend this to ANY of my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11